tigertiger

I heard commentators saying on saturday we should move Raines into the middle then I caught something on wide world of sports he said that he has been building up his endurance or something like that didnt catch it all.

What do people think about his future in the team?

His skill level this year dropped right off, think that was his major concern, he did start to turn it around in the last few weeks though. King played alot like raines did last year, hopefully next season we'll have both of them firing on all cylinders, there's alot of drive out of our backline these days.

yer agree but i think he still had a really good year, i would love to see him in the midfield which i think he has been gearing up for!!

I think this year he was down on form because opposition coaches had worked him out. He gets the ball deep in defence and tries to run it out.

Opposition B and HB players were told just to stand off him afew metres and wait for him to try and run it. Exactly what he did and he was caught alot as a result.

A move into the midfield should suit him. He seems to get his own ball, there's abit more room to move and he should be able to use his pace to his advantage. He does need to improve his kicking abit and get abit more tackle-breaking strength, but I think he'll end up being a very good player if he gets the coaching/development required to play in the guts.

Yeah, he's not ready for it yet, but if he can up his endurance and get those kicking boots honed, he's got the right style of play for a roving midfielder. He generally knows when he can take the pill and go and he generally does. He's been caught a few times this year, but nowhere near as many times as he was last. Only difficulty with this I reckon would be his pace and while he's not Deledio, he's no tortoise either.

I think he's been down this season because of the same thing Foley has received late in the season - closer attention. For a 2nd year bloke on the half-back flank to average 20 disposals a game is phenomenal, particularly when you consider how much better we all reckon he can play!

I was very frustrated with Raines by mid-year and he seemed to have lost all confidence & skill. For the second half though I reckon he improved again. The best couple of games he played were when he was playing a run-with role on a midfielder rather than being a half-back rebounder.
He looks like he panics in defence with the boundary or goal line behind him... it sort of crowds him into poor decisions.
When he gets the ball more in the middle or towards half forward he looks more comfortable.
I reckon he should play on the right wing. (not a great left side) He then would be able to bust through/around his first opponent, take perhaps just one bounce and deliver long into the forward line like his dad used to.
Not sure if I would like him in at centre bounces.

I know its not a popular view point but i think he is rated far too highly by the tiger faithful and if his last name wasn't Raines he would of played plenty more games at Coburg this season. His decision making skills could be the worst at the club.

I liked his season last year but he is a shadow of his former self now that opposition know how to quell him. I'm not sure he's either cluey or skillful enough to play in the guts and King has definitely surpassed him in the role down back this season. He is playing the wrong code in my opinion, could have been a gun league player.

I feel that his time as a backman is up and he needs to bust his gut over summer to make sure he gets a spot perhaps on the wing where he has a bit more freedom to run and carry.

I actually thought his last 6 weeks were quite good and found some of the form he showed last year. Midfield beckons though. Perhaps even a stint up forward to see if he likes kicking a goal or two.

yeah I'm not sold on him in the middle either, he's not an in-and-under player and while he can find the ball, he probably doesnt have the acceleration to avoid/break tackles in the congestion of the centre. he's got a good top-speed though, once he gets the legs going he's hard to stop (ask brodie holland, was it?), so play him on the wing for mine.

Right now not sure i want him in the side. But we wait another year with this guy. I am tipping that if we see the same comical, nonsensical stuff that he conjured up this year, will be doing a Thomas Roach at Coburg before the half way mark of next season. ;)

yeah I'm not sold on him in the middle either, he's not an in-and-under player and while he can find the ball, he probably doesnt have the acceleration to avoid/break tackles in the congestion of the centre. he's got a good top-speed though, once he gets the legs going he's hard to stop (ask brodie holland, was it?), so play him on the wing for mine.

no good getting the legs going when the brain isnt steering them dude. ;)

nope thats very flattering, it was a third gamer in pendlebury and he probably weighed 69 kg at the time.

He has the turning circle of a Mack Truck. Better off in a position where he can run in straight lines.....like where is now.

Right now not sure i want him in the side. But we wait another year with this guy. I am tipping that if we see the same comical, nonsensical stuff that he conjured up this year, will be doing a Thomas Roach at Coburg before the half way mark of next season. ;)

i still have heaps of time for Raines, has busted his gut all year despite showing indifferent form. As much as I think he can make I also think that he won't make it....so it probably comes down to how badly he wants and how much work he is willing to do in the preseason, cuz he needs to do a lot;)

Raines to a wing, Coughlan to a half back flank. Wouldn't mind seeing Raines have a go on the ball though.

Raines will play in the midfield last year,
Wallace come out a few weeks ago and said once raines gets 50 games under hes belt he will be moved to the midfield.

Will be interesting to see what they do with him next year hes only 21 and a half and has played 51 games.

Probably another 2 seasons away from his best

i still have heaps of time for Raines, has busted his gut all year despite showing indifferent form. As much as I think he can make I also think that he won't make it....so it probably comes down to how badly he wants and how much work he is willing to do in the preseason, cuz he needs to do a lot;)

me thinks he needs to understand that the faster he runs, the faster he gets to the spot where the man who wants to stop him is. He needs to work out that there are times to run fast and there are times to run a little slower, because there aint anyone chasing, which gives you time to work out an option. ;)

based on his career thus far, can anyone really see him making it as a midfielder? he's great when there's plenty of space for him to open up in off the backline but now that opposition teams have worked him out and closed the gap he's been very questionable when fenced in. midfielders are nearly always fenced in and have to have either explosive pace or the class and smarts to dish it off to a loose man (or like tuck throw it on the boot and pray). not saying it's beyond him just going from what i've seen of his game, the centre seems illogical.

In the off season Raines should not be put anywhere near the backmen unless they are practicing kick out drills. In other words get him doing fitness work with the midfielders. We have blokes like Connors & Casserly who can take up the HBF while they adjust to the pace of AFL football.

I don't get the knock on his kicking though, to me he is a decent kick but it seems that it goes wrong when he runs himself into trouble. Wallace should instruct him that when he grabs the ball, he runs his full measure and then delivers the ball long into the forward line. That would make him a 50-70m player (15m carry & 40-55m kick). Has the ability to also become an effective lock down player as well. Seems he has the concentration to be able to stick to a task of running with a player the whole game (remember he did it against the Swans playing on Goodes).

Move him into the middle where at least if he does turn the ball over with a poor kick the ball should be deep in our forward line and the backline have time to get back and find a man, rather than a poor kick from the backlline that sails straight back over their heads to a waiting forward on their own.

I say have zero tolerance for such blatant brain fades and make him figure it out at coburg, shouldnt be compensating for sh1tness at this level.

In the off season Raines should not be put anywhere near the backmen unless they are practicing kick out drills. In other words get him doing fitness work with the midfielders. We have blokes like Connors & Casserly who can take up the HBF while they adjust to the pace of AFL football.

I don't get the knock on his kicking though, to me he is a decent kick but it seems that it goes wrong when he runs himself into trouble. Wallace should instruct him that when he grabs the ball, he runs his full measure and then delivers the ball long into the forward line. That would make him a 50-70m player (15m carry & 40-55m kick). Has the ability to also become an effective lock down player as well. Seems he has the concentration to be able to stick to a task of running with a player the whole game (remember he did it against the Swans playing on Goodes).

I watched king do 2 excellent carry and kick runs into our forward line on saturday i think both resulted in goals but not to sure (beer taking effect)
both were very impresive

I say have zero tolerance for such blatant brain fades and make him figure it out at coburg, shouldnt be compensating for sh1tness at this level.
We wouldn't have a team if we sent everyone who suffers a brain fade back to Coburg to work it out. It seemed like Wallace gave players like King, Newman, Raines, Connors & Bowden a licence to run the ball out of the backline to try and break lines, the problem being some of them ran too far before getting rid of the ball meaning most times our forwards were out of position or they would end up running into on coming traffic and putting themselves under pressure. That is why I suggest that Raines should be given simple instructions get the ball run 15 and deliver it long and direct into the forward line. First option footy will catch most teams out before they can get numbers back and allow players like Richo, Brown, Pettifer, Deledio & Riewoldt the luxury of competing 1-1 instead of battling away 2/3-1.