Crumden
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Other Teams
- Richmond
I understand what you are saying Id, but I was working with what we've got. You can't do much list rebuilding mid-season, other than discard someone like Gaspar and push a bit of youth through who might have some of those qualities. Leadership is one thing, and comes in many forms. Teamwork and putting your body on the line for your mates is another. I think we are lacking a bit of that team coherency and urgency to help out a mate at the moment. Admittedly, this is largely because of lack of leadership, and the older group may be a bit of a lost cause. But younger blokes can be turned around one way or the other pretty quickly and we need to get them working together as a group better.One of the few times i will ever disagree with you Crummer
Leadership is something that you are born with ... it is an instinct ... its inherent ... it rubs off from those before you ... it`s not tangible like a f..king beep test or skin fold or verticle leap test ... greatness is not something that can be measured at a draft camp . Year after year we keep stuffing up ... Recruiting for me has to be based a lot on insticnt instead of mathematical equations ... X + Y just does not automatically equate to a premiership
Its my one true criticism of Terry Wallace and i am starting to think it is something he just does not understand ... there are introverts and extroverts in all walks of life , from the office water cooler to the whitehouse .... we consistently draft the introverts .
Buddy Franklin was considered a "risk" at the top end due to his smart @rsed attitude .... i now (with the benefit of that much hated term hindsight) rate his attitude as cockiness and confidence which currently sees him as the hottest property in footy
How much would we give to see even a hint of that at our club at the minute ....
We keep looking for the "Kane Johnson" types being bought into PuntRd. ... great .... But if you really want to look back into premiership history ... Premiership sides are made up of characters ... personalities ... extroverts ... blokes who have a downside here and there but were larger than life characters ..
Dermott ... Ryhs-Jones...Millane....Carey....Jon Brown....i even go back to the mid 80`s and a bloke like Leon Baker at Essendon ... won a premiership and was on a plane to south America 7 o`clock that night...
Who was the last player with ant sort of "character" we had at the club ?
I reckon the players should all get out on the piss together, at the same pub another teams players are at (preferably someone they played recently so there's some pent up aggro already) and start a big all-in brawl in the pub. The club may not go for it in these pc days and there would be some negative fall-out, but you can't get a better team bonding experience.