I've never heard anyone been describe as "too midfield". Maybe Micheal Voss was "too midfield" because he struggled to play anywhere else
But if you mean will he goto the midfield, he has alot of competition. Alot more then at the start of last year, when he and Newman were our only rebounding flankers.
Now we have McMohan, Newman, Raines, King, Bowden as well as youngsters like Conners and Casserly. All these players are pretty much playing for 3 or 4 places in the team.
Mark Bowden in their first because he is the most versitile and I imagine McMohan will play as the loose man back like Polak this year so that he will look like a "Terry star recruit". Newman's spot in the side is also one of the first marked in everyweek. This means that King, Raines and the youngsters are probably competing for 2 or maybe even the one spot in the
You missed a few (underlined)...If your going to criticise someones spelling best to get it right yourself or look like a total tool.
When did we get Mark Bowden and McMohan?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichosGuns![]()
I've never heard anyone been describe as "too midfield". Maybe Micheal Voss was "too midfield" because he struggled to play anywhere else
But if you mean will he goto the midfield, he has alot of competition. Alot more then at the start of last year, when he and Newman were our only rebounding flankers.
Now we have McMohan, Newman, Raines, King, Bowden as well as youngsters like Conners and Casserly. All these players are pretty much playing for 3 or 4 places in the team.
Mark Bowden in their first because he is the most versitile and I imagine McMohan will play as the loose man back like Polak this year so that he will look like a "Terry star recruit". Newman's spot in the side is also one of the first marked in everyweek. This means that King, Raines and the youngsters are probably competing for 2 or maybe even the one spot in the
You missed a few (underlined)...

Do you mean he should be working on the stuff he was meant to be working on in juniors?If he works his arse off to rectify the serious deficiencies in his game such as decision making and disposal, he could make a handy mid (most likely a defensive mid) only because of his work ethic and his attitude..ie sticking to a task, never say die etc because he displays these traits. Raines biggest problem is that when there is not an obvious first option once he gets the pill, he often makes a mess of it
Unfortunately turning a 'dumb' footballer into a smart footballer is not easily achieved.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichosGuns![]()
You missed a few (underlined)...
didnt want to come across as anal![]()
....well done fellasDon't worry mate, I got it. But there's f.all chance of Bowden playing midfield.....well done fellas
Just with the Bowden thing, "Mark" was not used as a noun in that context, it reads "Mark Joel Bowden in..."
Rainsey would be good in the midfield...........he isnt accountable enough in the back line,also runs himself into trouble when the pressure is on,once in the mid he would be like tucky,once he gets the ball slam it on the boot.....
I highly doubt Raines is good enough for midfield and any role for him in defense has all but vanished.
If he kicked a footy like his father there'd be no problem. Geoff had penetration in his kicking, Andrew tries to make up for his lack of it by kicking horrible patented Wayne Campbell sky punts. Campbell got away with it because he was a very competitive footballer in his hard ball gets and relatively clever with his handball and short kicking (when he wasn't going backwards and wide - slowly). I don't see Raines having enough talent in other areas which can make up for the fact that every time he kicks the ball long there's a high possibility of a teammate being stuck under the ball waiting for it to come down from the moon - giving everyone within 30m every chance to create a mismatch and a turnover. That's before we get to his poor decision making.
Unless he begins to excel in an area he previously hasn't, I expect he'll struggle to cement a spot in the seniors this year and will find himself at the crossroads either at the end of this year or the next.
He was one of our more accountable defenders last year. Got some huge jobs and it was generally in the air where he was beaten because he was often playing on much taller opponents.. Otherwise in the one-on-ones he did fairly well.Rainsey would be good in the midfield...........he isnt accountable enough in the back line,also runs himself into trouble when the pressure is on,once in the mid he would be like tucky,once he gets the ball slam it on the boot.....
Rayzor, I'm starting to change my mind about Raines in the midfield. I don't mean the centre square but on the right wing as an outside midfielder.
I am older than some here and remember watching his dad Geoff play, streaming through the middle and kicking long, 55 - 60 M to Roach (he he) at the top of the goal square. Footy was different back then & I am not sure if Geoff would have been as comfortable in heavy traffic either.
Re Andrew's kicking, I reckon he also has a penetrating 55 - 60 M kick, it is just with his shorter chip kicking in tight that he has no finesse.
I watched Raines "tag" Goodes up here this season & I know that Goodes got plenty of it, (but he does have 2 Charlies) but Raines looked far more comfortable with more space around him in the middle and not feeling backed up against our own defensive goal line.
Anyway, I agree that others have taken his HBF spot now but if Howatt & Hyde got a game in the middle last year then I think Raines has more to offer than them.
This time last year everyone was talking him up to be captain...

I'd agree he has more to offer than Howat and probably Hyde Roachy, but there is a massive difference between the two Raines' kicking. Geoff could kick the ball long and flat, Andrew has a flawed technique which means he can't kick a ball 50m without kicking it 30m in the air. I don't think it has anything at all to do with traffic because he also does it when he's in a lot of space, I also don't think it has anything to do with leg power...it's just a flawed technique.
Only time will tell whether or not he can overcome it by either improving that technique (unlikely at this stage IMO), or making other aspects of his game good enough for it not to matter when he's compared to other players who do kick well (slightly more likely, but still unlikely IMO).
I like the kid, I hope he does overcome it. I hope all our players end up as good as they can be.
Lol....A long kick beyond that player creates a true 1 on 1 contest & at the moment anyway, we have one of the best contested marks in the AFL over the past 10 years at FF. (Richo) He either grabs it or brings it to ground and the crumbers (Edwards, Tambling, Browny etc) swoop & create pressure.