Rate Carlton player behaviour

In quite a few threads this off-season, there have been a few posters who claim to hold the majority view when it comes to the behaviour of the Carlton players. I thought that it would be an interesting exercise to find out exactly what the majority position actually is.

We have over 40,000 paid up members, but only 300 saw fit to send complaints to the club over the latest incident. Some claim that's just a small portion of the true number, while others claim it's the vocal minority.

I honestly don't know which way most people feel, but I am curious. So I thought a poll was the best way to find out and perhaps end the debate once and for all. There are 2 options for each position with varying severity.

This is the first time I've started a thread (let alone tried to create a poll) so be gentle if I'm totally out of line. And no, I don't want to open up a whole new debate about it, I just want to know how the majority of Carlton BF members actually feel.

In quite a few threads this off-season, there have been a few posters who claim to hold the majority view when it comes to the behaviour of the Carlton players. I thought that it would be an interesting exercise to find out exactly what the majority position actually is.

We have over 40,000 paid up members, but only 300 saw fit to send complaints to the club over the latest incident. Some claim that's just a small portion of the true number, while others claim it's the vocal minority.

I honestly don't know which way most people feel, but I am curious. So I thought a poll was the best way to find out and perhaps end the debate once and for all. There are 2 options for each position with varying severity.

This is the first time I've started a thread (let alone tryied to create a poll) so be gentle if I'm totally out of line. And no, I don't want to open up a whole new debate about it, I just want to know how the majority of Carlton BF members actually feel.

There's no poll thingy to vote with. :o

There is now ... dumb system didn't tell me that options had to be less than 50 characters. Took a while to trim the options :)

Damn, and even then I screwed the last option. It should read

Nothing wrong with it, only in-season/on-field counts

Nothing personal OldBlueFan, but I feel this is an unnecessary thread and poll.

The cockroaches will read this thread and look at the poll result which can be skewed by opposition supporters.

From what I've seen in other parts of this forum, opposition supporters don't need any help with their skewing. I thought about making the poll private so that Carlton supporters could vote without fear of ridicule, but then the opposition troll factor occurred to me, so I set it to public.

But now I can't see who's voted, so I don't know what happened there.

I voted unacceptable but I need to clarify as the question had limitations. My answer of unacceptable was more directed at a small section of the playing group, some of which are repeat offenders, not the majority who appear to be above board. It is not that hard to have a good time and keep your nose clean, more AFL players do it than not.

Between normal and above average compared to the non-Carlton part of the AFL. A couple of our players got drunk at an end of year celebration, that's about it. It's not even close to the way way more serious cases of violence, drug, and sexual assault issues rampant at many non-Carlton clubs.

The latest anti-Carlton tabloid media campaign, is one of the biggest beat-ups I've ever seen. The HUN just reconfirmed their junk tabloid status.

:)

Of course we all wish that what happened didn't happen, but I think the club have handled it the right way, and the punishment certainly fits the crime. It's what the club does now to try and curb this sort of behaviour is the most pressing need out of this whole issue.

:thumbsu: this has the 30year seal of approval :D voted second option also.

+1 :thumbsu:

I agree to an extent. Clearly Kernahan and the other powers that be have drawn a line in the sand and said enough is enough.

Personally, i couldn't care less so long as nothing illegal is going on. First training session back Walker smashed everyone in the time trial, so clearly a boozy night with Houlihan didn't affect him too much. That's all i care about. Betts finished well back in the pack, which tells me he both needs to get off the booze and train more.

The players are NOT role models. I don't care what anyone says. Footy idols - YES, role models - NO. Only 2nd rate parents call them "role models" as the only true role models for kids are their parents.

I grew up in the 1980's, when our side was full of loose crazy drug and alcohol addicts who partied like madmen. Yet, i only ever wanted to emulate a big Kernahan mark or Johnston goal.

A huge factor in all of this is that AFL media accreditation levels have risen about ten fold in the past 20 years. More journo's = more dirt digging and more exposure to minor incidents which in the past would have gone unnoticed.

This is the first time I've started a thread (let alone tried to create a poll) so be gentle if I'm totally out of line. And no, I don't want to open up a whole new debate about it, I just want to know how the majority of Carlton BF members actually feel.

Perhaps it is a bit vain of me to assume that some of my comments have influenced your decision to run this poll. And perhaps it is early days yet for the result, but I cant help having a dig: hows that majority of mine workin out? Old lawyerin trick son, never ask a question you dont already know the answer to.

You have me all wrong btw. I dont have an anti alcohol agenda, I drink sometimes 3 times a week. But never, ever to excess, and I dont get paid more in a fortnight than most people earn in a year in return for little more than playing the game I love and behaving in an acceptable manner. My agenda is with people of privilege, any people of privilege, abusing the privilege they have been granted. And for an AFL footballer that extends to not getting drunk in public, ever. Period. And it is not me that sets that standard. It is the very people that give them the privilege, the majority of consumers. They are the rule setters, not the HUN, not the BF knobs me included. Mr and Mrs Suburbia that via the sponsors now decide what is and is not acceptable for an AFL player. People that want to debate whether players should be role models ignore the modern reality, they are, they became so the moment they as a collective demanded the money they now get, and the price of that is that sponsors pay that money in return for an image.

Thats all. Nothing more sinister than that. That is the new reality. I didn’t create it, I just accept it for what it is.

The other agenda I have is not settling for less than we have to. We have been better than the rest for nearly 50 years and currently equal best over the entire journey. That was no accident of fate. That was the way we were, we were better and found ways to stay better than the rest for a long long time. But that was the old Carlton, the new Carlton trains at the same venue and wears the same strip but is a pale imitation of the old Carlton. The rules changed and we didn’t, now we are not better than the rest, in fact we aren’t even near the top yet. I want us to accept the new reality, and find the way to be the best again. And I don’t mean just win a flag in the next couple of seasons. For the period from 68 to 09 we were in a GF on average every 3 years (13 GFs in 41 years) including the last 10 years where we only managed 1. That is the standard we need to attain. A GF appearance 3 out of every 10 and convert 2 of those 3 to premierships. 2 flags a decade. We did it in the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s and although we played in 3 GF in the 90’s only managed 1 flag, that’s OK that’s how the averages work, we won 3 in the 70’s and 80’s.

In this new equalized comp every miniscule of advantage counts. That includes not accepting mediocrity from players for 12 months of every year, not just the playing season on and off the field. That is the standard we need to aim for.

Anything less is beneath the Carlton we used to be.

Don't care as long as we win games of football. Have no interest in off-field stuff. 24 PBs in the time trial interests me alot more and means more than whether they're being good boys or not. West Coast won a flag with the worst culture ever. I could live with that.

You can guess I voted 4....lol!

OBF- Good on you for having a go. Though I'm not sure it will end the debate once and for all.

Btw I voted for option 2 - Unacceptable, but the club is handling it OK. Whether I like it or not, the behaviour is not acceptable by today's AFL "standards." And I think the club's response has been okay.

I could see why some voted for option 3 - Normal behaviour, I wish it didn't make headlines. Individual AFL players drinking and making headlines is not unusual and I'm sure that it won't be last alcohol related incident involving an AFL player we hear of. But I think that alcohol incidents involving a number of players from the one event will be fewer and further apart.

The players are NOT role models. I don't care what anyone says. Footy idols - YES, role models - NO. Only 2nd rate parents call them "role models" as the only true role models for kids are their parents.

I grew up in the 1980's, when our side was full of loose crazy drug and alcohol addicts who partied like madmen. Yet, i only ever wanted to emulate a big Kernahan mark or Johnston goal.

Sorry, but I think you need to accept the fact that it isn't the 1980's anymore and football is a much bigger business now then it ever was then.

Do I think footballers should be role models? - Definitely not!

What I think should be the case however is irellevant as in the wider public they are portrayed as being such.

You can't run a successful business with a joke of a brand and when you've got these players acting in a way that is anything other than what the public expects of them we become a laughing stock.

Do you think a lot of these guys who partied like madmen in the 1980s would continue to act in such a way if they had the prospect of making a hell of a lot more money? I doubt many would and those who refused to tow the line would have fallen through the cracks like a Mitch Thorp or a Laurence Angwin these days.

I don't think its too much to expect of our players to act responsibly. I'm not arguing they should be clean skins, but they shouldn't be getting arrested for public drunkenness.

Walker might be able to back up his drunken stupidity with good time trial times but he also probably has been a key contributer in costing us a 1 million dollar sponsorship with a massive corporation.

It's a double edged sword and if you want to see this club thrive with the best staff and facilities to help us succeed, then we need to become a better business.

Football isn't just played on the field anymore.

I voted option 2

Option 2, but I think the acceptance of this culture in the past I would have prefered a statement saying "Unacceptable - and the players need to be held to account for their actions.

Will the attitude and culture change, time will tell, but I would prefer that players that feel the need to go troppo do so in a secluded more private environment.

The correlation I can put with this type of behavior is when travelling throughout Europe, I'm amazed at the amount of Australians that act in a manner that makes me cringe that they feel it is acceptable to acy in a manner that does not respect other cultures, languages or normal decent behavior. The tag line "its only a bit of fun - where young and you may of done it" doesn't wash with me...

I'm not a prude and act like a goat at times, but there is time and space considerations when you act like a tosser...

AFL players (or any high profile sports man) will stand out like dogs balls (just like the bogan Australians abroad) are they entiltled to act in that manner when they are representing the Club, Sponsors, supporters....

Are some footballers percieved to be role models? Yes..Should they be? No.
This whole argument just underscores a vacuum of priorities in society. Is Paris Hilton a role model? I mean lets face it ,you dont need a whole lot of smarts to be a good footballer. Wayne Carey ,Fev the list goes on. These ppl just happen to be good footballers and if some people are stupid enough to put them on some kind of pedistal thats their own problem. Yes they are highly paid but they are elite sportsmen and should be given a slice of the monetary pie. Sportsmen ,not academics, in fact most delay furthering their education to concentrate on becoming an elite sportsman.
So herein lies a problem, has the CFC done enough in educating these young men in terms of what is acceptable behaviour off field and in planning and preventative measures when going out. Methinks there may be a few seminars put in place this year.
Oh and 30yrblue...may need a reality check on your gf appearance evry 3 years..There are salary caps and more teams now

Are some footballers percieved to be role models? Yes..Should they be? No.
This whole argument just underscores a vacuum of priorities in society. Is Paris Hilton a role model? I mean lets face it ,you dont need a whole lot of smarts to be a good footballer. Wayne Carey ,Fev the list goes on. These ppl just happen to be good footballers and if some people are stupid enough to put them on some kind of pedistal thats their own problem. Yes they are highly paid but they are elite sportsmen and should be given a slice of the monetary pie. Sportsmen ,not academics, in fact most delay furthering their education to concentrate on becoming an elite sportsman.
So herein lies a problem, has the CFC done enough in educating these young men in terms of what is acceptable behaviour off field and in planning and preventative measures when going out. Methinks there may be a few seminars put in place this year.
Oh and 30yrblue...may need a reality check on your gf appearance evry 3 years..There are salary caps and more teams now

Are ALL footballers role models? YES. Do some fans just not accept the reality of now? YES.

Dude the fact they sign the contract and take the money makes them role models. It is not the parents fault that some people are more susceptible to unwanted influence from undesirable aspects. Our whole society is based on it. Its called consumerism where the majority of the economy is generated by advertisers convincing consumers to buy stuff they dont need. Time to wake up and smell the coffee mate. If you want the funding you take the sponsorship and taking the sponsorship makes you a role model.....its not a difficult concept to grasp, I just dont understand what is so confusing about it. If a person is incapable of understanding the instruction not to into trouble or worse they understand it but dont have the discipline to carry it out how are they going to be intelligent enough or disciplined enough to implement a game plan?

And if you want to settle for mediocrity that is your choice. I dont care how many teams join the league and what rules they put in place to stop us, champion teams rise above that and prevail anyway.

There are drafts and salary caps in US baseball but the Yankees still dominate. There is a draft and salary restrictions in the NBA but a small group of teams dominate it. There is a draft and salary cap in the NFL and again a small group of teams dominate it. So dont be telling me we cant. We can, if we choose to. Words like cant are the language of losers that make excuses for why they are not successful. I prefer our club explore ways to get the job done.

I agree with what 30yb says about how footballers are preceived by the public in general, even tho I dont see them that way personnally.

I would also like to say what a @#^%ed up society we live in, I cannot believe there are people out there who would refuse to by a product from a company that sponsers a club that has guys that go out drinking and getting drunk.

Me I wouldn't stop buying products from Gillette because they are associated with Tiger, but hey thats just me, suppose I'm a misfit or something.

Maybe if more people refused to accept footballers as role models then others opinions may follow, then we can forget about talking and writing about this so called hanging event that happened at our club and go onto more serious topics like our next flag and assault charges that happen at other clubs, lol.:D

A teacher/parent/friend/guardian can't say "Hey, idiot - just cause he/she is wearing a sports uniform don't make him/her a good person to emulate. Percentage wise, just as many nongs play sport as don't - make your choice". That's too hard?