Rate Carlton player behaviour

Have a good mate who is also good friends with Gibbs (I went to School with them both) who was at his 21st on the weekend. Both he and Kreuzer were there (not sure if any other players were), and from all accounts had quiet a bit to drink.
You may have meant well and to be honest you probably did well.
Not for the image but to show just how easy it is for our guys or any guys for that matter to be shown up in the most unassuming of settings.

Here we have (seemingly have) Gibbs at his Birthday Party with a few friends.
Someone takes a photo (presumably a friend) and before you know it, it is in a public domain.
To be totally honest, who gives a flying ****.

Quite a scummy thing to do, is report second hand information in such a manner. Why not write that he just enjoyed himself as any 21 year old would on their birthday?

"From all accounts" - which is simply just the one account you were given from a 'friend' of Bryce's

I don't know if you meant well, Magpie, but it certainly didn't come across like that. Photos taken at his birthday should similarly be kept for those whom he wants to see them.

What I find very sad is that Gibbs has had a private party, away from the focus of the media/general public, yet some loser feels the need to share the goings on, of a private party, with others & then a poster comes on here & tries to make something of it./quote]

It is a sad indictment of what some sections of our society are like.

I think most of us have seen AFL players (& other high-profiles sportspeople) having a drink, whether it be at post-match functions, at the Casino or various nightspots. Fortunately the majority of us don't see this as an opportunity to place such behaviour on public record. Those that do, are quite pathetic human beings.

In principle I concur with your sentiments MSR, but the point is that we will continue to foster these pathetic human beings (as you call them) until such a time we collectively say "No more" and frankly I don't see that time coming around any time soon.

It will get a lot worse before it gets better.
As much as we are happy to see great photo reports on our boys training here, we will see the opposite side of the spectrum also.

I am in no way endorsing people with anything camera, setting up situations where they can show individuals in an unfair light but I am also not naive enough to know this won't continue to happen at what will be an alarming rate.

What did we see here: A high profile player with what may be his mum for all I know, about to blow candles on a cake.
Harmless enough, but maybe not so harmless to that individual who wanted a private setting with mates, but to be, what I would classify as being betrayed by one of them.
One picture then links this poster to the scene only to announce that Gibbs and Kreuzer indulged a little further then they should have, albeit by second hand reports and using what level of assumption as to how much they may have had to drink?

It doesn't really matter for many, but some will just let a bit of mud stick.
Throw in something new the next week and it starts becoming a problem.

This is nothing new as our thirst for garbage has escalated much faster than even I would have gauged 10 years ago, and it won't go away in any time soon.

To be totally honest, who gives a flying ****.

Quite a scummy thing to do, is report second hand information in such a manner. Why not write that he just enjoyed himself as any 21 year old would on their birthday?

"From all accounts" - which is simply just the one account you were given from a 'friend' of Bryce's

Because that doesn't make for a story.
Coming in as a wolf in sheep's clothing is so much more fun. Not moral, but fun.

I cant believe this story even has legs.

Even the usual moral crusaders around here have kept quiet on this one.

If anything, this just serves to highlight my point about the media (and public) sensationalizing players having a drink... and then people allowing themselves to get dragged along with the hype.

I mean does anyone have a problem with a bloke having a quiet beer with friends and family on his 21st?

Definitely not me.

I do although have a problem with people stepping out of their league and touting to be professors of something they are not.
Sadly there are way too many of them for my liking.

I'll take on face value TSW's naive approach to the matter but we will have at least another 10 years of confused stories floating around the place.

Look no further than Tiger Woods just to see how easily we can get drawn into any reports that fall our way.

Sorry guys,

Definately wasnt the right thing posting the picture, let alone the original comments.

Removed the photo, and happy to remove the comments if you guys see fit. Having a think about it, of course he should be allowed to have a few on his 21st. Not really sure what led me to post it here, just thought it may have been of interest.

Sorry fellas, Happy Australia Day, and good luck for the season.

Sorry guys,

Definately wasnt the right thing posting the picture, let alone the original comments.

Removed the photo, and happy to remove the comments if you guys see fit. Having a think about it, of course he should be allowed to have a few on his 21st. Not really sure what led me to post it here, just thought it may have been of interest.

Assuming your heart is in the right place, this is exactly what I am talking about.
The confusion is as to what is right and what is wrong?

We have so much technology at our disposal that the stream of information is hard to digest whilst trying to be objective about it.
No different to the paparazzi in general who are feeding on the wants of the populace to see all things private.

We ask for it and we'll get it until one day we say: "No more"

p.s. Happy Aus Day back at you. ;)

Sorry guys,

Its cool mate - we're all a bit touchy here due to recent events (and the debates about AFL players having a drink that followed).

If you hadve posted the above photos 6 months ago you'd probably be getting a pat on the back!

Your club is out of control!​

Sorry about that and I don't care if we have won one premiership. Where having more on-field and off-field success than you in the past five years and a lot of tippers and jouno's are tipping us to win it this year.

Win WHAT !!!!!!! :rolleyes:

Funny to have a look over these old threads and see what was written back then, goes to show that with all these predictions footy is still a very unpredictable game and anything can happen.

I totaly agree that getting Simmonds for Fiora was a great deal. But the Ottens deal i think is more in Geelong's Favour at the moment. I mean Danny Meyer might be a star in 4 or 5 years.

It is funny to think back and remember how Ottens was criticised for poor form.

Yet all they gave up was Moloney (Meyer) and pick 16 (Adam Pattison) for their number one ruckman.

Sort of leaves me confident that sacking Fevola isn't going to really hurt us.

Fevola doesn't have the upside of players who were "Richmonded" and didn't star.

Ottens was just 24 when he left Richmond...

Yet Thompson was forced to defend his player with his great Leave him alone comment.

Bomber had the last laugh!

The media are flogs.