Rate our players

On the main board some nuff-nuff has posted all about some hawthorn fans meeting with list manager Chris Pelchen. In it Pelchen has a system to rate players, and when you look at past premiership teams, the overall ratings are all similar.
How would you rate our players according to this system, bear in mind with a new coach things could change quickly
1 - Elite player (outstanding player of the AFL)
2 - Highly talented (very good player)
3 - Core player (likely to play mostly senior footy)
4 A - improving player but not yet at AFL standard eg a well performed 1st yr draftee that hasn't played senior footy
4 B - A below std player or declining or aging player.
5 - developing player eg rookie

Bartram - 3
Bate - 3
Bell - 2
Bode - 4A
Bruce - 2
Buckley - 4A
Carroll - 3
Davey - 2
Dunn - 3 (Just)
Ferguson - 4B
Frawley - 4A
Garland - 5
Green - 2
Holland - 4B
Hughes - 5
Jamar - 4B
C. Johnson - 4B (could become a 3 easily)
P. Johnson - 4A (could be a 3 or 4B)
Johnstone - 2
Jones - 2
McDonald - 2
McLean - 1
Miller - 4B
Moloney - 3 (could be 2 if fit)
Neitz - 2 (could be a 4B half way through the year)
Newton - 4A (could get to 3 very quickly)
Petterd - 4A
Rivers - 2
Robertson - 2
Sylvia - 3 (massive potential)
Warnock - 4B
Weetra - 5
Wheatley - 3
Whelan - 3 (2 at his best)
White - 3
Yze - 3 (very close to a 4B - gets in because he should still get a gig in the team if fit)

Totals 1 2 3 4A 4B 5
1 9 10 6 6 3
Plus Pickett, Bizzell, Ward, Godfrey and Brown (all 4B)
Neville, Neaves, Hayes (all 5's)
1 9 10 6 11 6
Pelchen rated Geelong's list as follows
5 6 20 4 1 3
So if the strength of a list wins you a flag (which it may or may not do) we need to get some of the players in the 2 category up to one (Green, Jones, Bell, Rivers etc), convert the 4A level players such as Frawley and Petterd into 3's or better. Ditch several more of the 4B players such as Ferg and Jamar or convert them to 3's and draft more quality kids to eventually become 1-2's. Another major issue is the lack of quality talls, I might have been a bit harsh but Rivers and Neitz were the only big guys who rated a 2.

I agree with most of your rankings, with the exception of Mclean. He's not elite purely because he is yet to prove himself consistantly. We don't have an elite player on our list at the moment which was why we went so hard after Judd.

I'm not saying he won't be, but I think we are all biased in how we rate Mclean. Give him an injury-free year where he is not the sole target from opposition clubs and we'll see how he fares.

Here u go master just put a few comments next to mine.....nice post mate

Bartram - 3
Bate - 3
Bell - 3 (u had 2)(still has some shockers need a bit more consistancy but i do rate him)
Bode - 5 (u had 4b)(still developing)
Bruce - 2
Buckley - 4b
Carroll - 3
Davey - 2
Dunn - 3 (u said just)(i say by the end of the year nearly a 2)
Ferguson - 4B
Frawley - 4A
Garland - 5(how raw is he!!!)
Green - 3 ( u said 2)(softness hurts him from being very good)
Holland - 4B
Hughes - 5(i want danny boy to be given a run sometime this year has a lil bit of steve johnson about him)
Jamar - 4B
C. Johnson - 4B (could become a 3 easily)(think hes no good)
P. Johnson - 4A (could be a 3 or 4B)(doesnt know if he a foward or ruckman)
Johnstone - 2
Jones - 3 (u said 2) (i dont think hes quite there yet till he stops with the clangers)
McDonald - 2
McLean - 2 (u said 1) has potenial to be a 1)
Miller - 4B
Moloney - 3 (could be 2 if fit) (agreed)
Neitz - 3 (u said 2 with a tendency for 4b) (i still say he will be very valuable)
Newton - 4A (could get to 3 very quickly)(agree cant jump to 3 yet)
Petterd - 4A (could be a 3 as well)
Rivers - 2
Robertson - 2 (could be a 3 like neitz soon than we think but still very important)
Sylvia - 3 (massive potential)(that bloody word potential!!)
Warnock - 5 (u said 4b)(shouldnt be on the list)
Weetra - 5(wana see some of him this year)
Wheatley - 4b(usaid 3) (I think he is below par even though he can kick like a mule)
Whelan - 3 (2 at his best)(agree if fit 2)
White - 3(will nearly be a 4b soon really struggling to jump now days)
yze-3(Just by the skin of his teeth should play permanant fower pocket this year)

as u can see no ones on my list yet.......brock just needs to have a great year and he will be.........no injuries would help, it shows me that we really need top liners like u said and some of the kids to really step up like we all hope they will

Bartram - 3
Bate - 3
Bell - 2
Bode - 4A
Bruce - 1
Buckley - 4A
Carroll - 3
Davey - 2
Dunn - 3
Ferguson - 4B
Frawley - 3
Garland - 5
Green - 2
Holland - 3
Hughes - 5
Jamar - 4B
C. Johnson - 4A
P. Johnson - 3
Johnstone - 2
Jones - 2
McDonald - 1
McLean - 1
Miller - 4
Moloney - 3
Neitz - 2
Newton - 3
Petterd - 3
Rivers - 1
Robertson - 2
Sylvia - 3
Warnock - 4A
Weetra - 5
Wheatley - 3
Whelan - 2
White - 2
Yze - 3

geez mclean05......hate to see how much u would give our players if we won a premiership!!! damn so pretty much ur saying ur happy with finishing 14th?? Rivers and Mcdonald afl elite??? as much as i love them and i really do, im realistic and KNOW they are not 1's. maccas a in between a 3 and a 2 he is so gutsy and courgeous that u just about have to give him a 2, jay riv......he is a 2 through and through, until he dominates his opponents and doesnt play as a floating back (which he does very well) he can never be elite

Bartram - 4A/3
Bate - 2
Bell - 2
Bode - 4A
Bruce - 2
Buckley - 4A
Carroll - 3
Davey - 2
Dunn - 3
Ferguson - 4B
Frawley - 4A
Garland - 5
Green - 2
Holland - 4B
Hughes - 5
Jamar - 3/4B
C. Johnson - 3
P. Johnson - 4A/3
Johnstone - 2
Jones - 2
McDonald - 3
McLean - 2
Miller - 4B
Moloney - 3
Neitz - 4B
Newton - 4A
Petterd - 4A
Rivers - 2/3
Robertson - 3
Sylvia - 2/3
Warnock - 5
Weetra - 5
Wheatley - 3
Whelan - 3
White - 4B
Yze - 4B

I had Brock down for 2 but decided we needed a 1, and on the stkilda elimination final form he is a 1, and I probably overrate Bell a little, he's more a 2.5. I'm not sure this is all truthfull stuff, but the guy also says Pelchen has us down for McEvoy, which I'd be rapt for if we had pick 10, but 4 might be a bit high.

On the main board some nuff-nuff has posted all about some hawthorn fans meeting with list manager Chris Pelchen. In it Pelchen has a system to rate players, and when you look at past premiership teams, the overall ratings are all similar.
How would you rate our players according to this system, bear in mind with a new coach things could change quickly
1 - Elite player (outstanding player of the AFL)
2 - Highly talented (very good player)
3 - Core player (likely to play mostly senior footy)
4 A - improving player but not yet at AFL standard eg a well performed 1st yr draftee that hasn't played senior footy
4 B - A below std player or declining or aging player.
5 - developing player eg rookie

Bartram - 3 i think our season went down hil after he got injiured
Bate - 3
Bell - 2 close to one
Bode - 4A
Bruce - 2 (1) when were doin good
Buckley - 4A
Carroll - 3
Davey - 2
Dunn - 3 (Just) i think he is going to be 1
Ferguson - 4B
Frawley - 4A
Garland - 5
Green - 2
Holland - 4B
Hughes - 5
Jamar - 4B
C. Johnson - 4B (could become a 3 easily)
P. Johnson - 4A (could be a 3 or 4B)
Johnstone - 2
Jones - 2 will be (1)
McDonald - 2
McLean - 1
Miller - 3 i think the change of coach will help him, baily will get the best out of him
Moloney - 3 (could be 2 if fit)
Neitz - 2 (could be a 4B half way through the year)
Newton - 4A (could get to 3 very quickly)
Petterd - 4A
Rivers - 1 melbourne to go foward and be top 4 side this guy has to be fit
Robertson - 2
Sylvia - 3 (massive potential) im disapointed in this guy
Warnock - 4B
Weetra - 5
Wheatley - 3
Whelan - 3 (2 at his best)
White - 3 could be (1) if the side is doing well
Yze - 3 (very close to a 4B - gets in because he should still get a gig in the team if fit) i think he should retire

Bartram - 1
Bate - 1
Bell - 1
Bode - 1
Bruce - 1
Buckley - 1
Carroll - 1
Davey - 1
Dunn - 1
Ferguson - 1
Frawley - 1
Garland - 1
Green - 1
Holland - 1
Hughes - 1
Jamar - 1
C. Johnson - 1
P. Johnson - 1
Johnstone - 1
Jones - 1
McDonald - 1
McLean - 1
Miller - 1
Moloney -
Neitz - 1
Newton - 1
Petterd - 1
Rivers - 1
Robertson - 1
Sylvia - 1
Warnock - 1
Weetra - 1
Wheatley - 1
Whelan - 1
White - 1
Yze - 1

.....Now, where did i put my left eye?

Bartram - 1
Bate - 1
Bell - 1
Bode - 1
Bruce - 1
Buckley - 1
Carroll - 1
Davey - 1
Dunn - 1
Ferguson - 1
Frawley - 1
Garland - 1
Green - 1
Holland - 1
Hughes - 1
Jamar - 1
C. Johnson - 1
P. Johnson - 1
Johnstone - 1
Jones - 1
McDonald - 1
McLean - 1
Miller - 1
Moloney -
Neitz - 1
Newton - 1
Petterd - 1
Rivers - 1
Robertson - 1
Sylvia - 1
Warnock - 1
Weetra - 1
Wheatley - 1
Whelan - 1
White - 1
Yze - 1

.....Now, where did i put my left eye?
Agree with all of those except Miller. He is a 6.

We are a long way off having a number 1 boys but haopefully next year we might get a few of our boys stepping up. Mcleans got to do alot more before he gets my 1, l think jones will be a 1 first. We seem to have alot of blokes who are consistent which is good but need some match winners and l can only see three Davey, Robertson and Neitz.