Rate the Richmond backline

I think Rance will improve.

The rationale for this is:

1) improved game plan
2) players being more accountable
3) team focus

Any player can have poor disposal if players further up the field are not prepared to lead/offer options.

If players are prepared to shepard and support the ball carrier then Rance's confidence will improve as well as his situational awareness.

Rance's disposal issues are more related to his decision making and the lack of options up the field. Anybody who's seen him play knows he's aggressive - and that aggression translates into his rebounding too. He will try and damage his opponent by running off and really trying for that hurt factor (look at some of his games in the U18s for examples), but when you look up the ground, and all the players are either standing still or running around in circles like headless chooks, you've got nobody to kick it to - suddenly a turnover is born.

Correct. There's nothing wrong with his kicking at all. He's a reasonable kick. I've never noticed him missing easy targets so it's not like he's a terrible kick. Someone said deplorable kick lol. That says alot about the poster :cool:. Kicking to a 50-50 contest is not usually the kickers fault

What a load of rubbish!

So, Rances' kicking problems are caused by ...what for it..his teammates
What a total cop out. Recruiters have always had isues with his kicking and his pace.

IT got to the farcial situation of him trying not to kick in the end last year, such was his poor disposal.

He can't kick...full stop. Brave but can't kick

What a load of rubbish!

What a total cop out. Recruiters have always had isues with his kicking and his pace.

IT got to the farcial situation of him trying not to kick in the end last year, such was his poor disposal.

Snag, have you ever got anything right?

What a load of rubbish!

you're just making this up in your head as usual :cool:

Snag, have you ever got anything right?

Yeh plenty. Refer Morton's golf ban.

Stick to the issue...I notice you haven't nothing more to say there.

Blaming his temamates is farcial, so does that mean Delidio couldn't kick last year because he had poor players around him?

What a farcial argument you are trying to out forward and not face tha fact that Rance can't kick.

In a word, terrible.

Edwards I can see having a promising future as a running half back flanker, he's about the only bloke I rate in the back 6.

Thursfield is too soft, plays from behind and just isnt big enough, if he were going to bulk about he would have already.

Mcgaune is the major problem, if he's the bloke you're hoping will hold down CHB for the next 5 years then you really are screwed. Beaten too easily on the lead and doesnt have the strength the beat an opponent one on one. Ideally he'd be suited to a third tall post.

Rance is an honest tryer, he's tough as nails but has suspect disposal and is a tad slow off the mark. His decison making is also pretty poor. Bit of a panic merchant.

Newman is solid without being anything special.

Tambling is average, noticed alot of people creaming themselves over hs increased stats last year, that's a positive but what I saw was a poor decison maker with the ball in his hands more. I've never seen an indigenous player with such terrible evasive skills and decison making.

In a word, terrible.

Edwards I can see having a promising future as a running half back flanker, he's about the only bloke I rate in the back 6.

Thursfield is too soft, plays from behind and just isnt big enough, if he were going to bulk about he would have already.

Mcgaune is the major problem, if he's the bloke you're hoping will hold down CHB for the next 5 years then you really are screwed. Beaten too easily on the lead and doesnt have the strength the beat an opponent one on one. Ideally he'd be suited to a third tall post.

Rance is an honest tryer, he's tough as nails but has suspect disposal and is a tad slow off the mark. His decison making is also pretty poor. Bit of a panic merchant.

Tambling is average, noticed alot of people creaming themselves over hs increased stats last year, that's a positive but what I saw was a poor decison maker with the ball in his hands more. I've never seen an indigenous player with such terrible evasive skills and decison making.

I reckon your summary is spot on!

Well done.

It was all going well then I saw it......alot as one word.

Why do people on here think this is one word?? Why???

In a word, terrible.

Who's rating Tambling on stats? :cool:
You saw first hand at Subi last year Tambling smashing you guys off half back. Not sure how you rate Mcguane and Thursfield so low after seeing them about 3 times each from Subi. ;)

Thusfield is far from soft, i dont know how you came up with that. 2-3cm doesnt add alot so how can you call him to small. and he is slowly adding bulk.

Do you think he is spelling it as one word just to annoy me?

Surely, there can't be that many people in society who think "alot" is one word??

We all make typos, stuff up harder words but....a lot? Please!

Did they all leave in year 8?

its diffently not that bad.. i can honestly see the tigers making the 8 in a few years they have a very good list. this is not a troll either

as a richmond supporter and i have no doubt what so ever that we have one of the worst backlines in the comp especially with talls.
we lack depth size run smarts and skill in this area.
tall defenders on the list are, and this appraisal is as honest as i can get no rose coloureds.

rance - one of the few big bodied talls we have at a whopping 90kg hes the heaviest and needs a hell of a lot more.
the down side is" footskills and decision making look ordinary. if he was in this yrs draft we would have passed due to the new good footskills criteria. 50/50 prospect.

thursfield- a good negating type but in 5yrs hes still only 85kg lacks size to play kp. gives little or no run, no hurt factor with ball in hand.
atm a third tall defensive type.
imo this is his make or break yr must step up in his 6th yr and add some more strings to his bow and add some significant size to enable him to play kp or face the chop.
still only a 50/50 prospect.

mcguane - sheesh another skinny undersized player with a frame that says he will always be skinny. a below standard player, in his 6th yr lacks smarts decision making size and footskills. trade or delist what ever happens we need to do better than mcguane.

moore - while he fits the criteria of a tall hes a flanker. can pinch hit kp though and go alright at times. entering his 7th yr. mainly due to injuries most yrs he's struggled. imo we have had one good yr out of 6.
is really quick accountable reasonable kick and decent in the air. imo should be utilised as a tall running back but will be forced to play on bigger talls and probably continue to cop injuries because of it. will play on bigger talls/kp due to a lack of depth.

Post - very promising kid only in his second yr and a big order to ask him to hold down a kp all yr. will be a good size in time, good mover, good overhead, and passable kick. it could be he doesnt play back due to an even greater dearth of kpfs.

polak - sheesh below standard player before the accident and no doubt still below standard. why we delisted and then rookied this bloke is beyond me.

grimes - taken in this yrs psd. looks promising must admit have not seen a lot of him but his skill set looks fine.

thats it the entire list of our tall defenders it is not good and if younger players like rance, post, grimes, dont make it we are up the smelly creek without the paddle, if we arent already.

okay smalls/mediums.

king - sheesh below standard who ever gave him 2 yrs should be shot.

newman - senior core list player. at times lacks accountability but in the main a solid footballer,

tambling - yep he played back a bit as well as forward floating thru the middle. without a doubt for me he played his best footy coming off hb. i think he did enough in 09 to say he is an afl player hopefully will keep improving. hb with rotation thru the middle is the go.

farmer - traded player from port. has all the attributes to play hb. pace good kick reads it well hard at it plenty of run accountable fiesty.
the trouble is hes done little in two yrs at port and was only playing sanfl reserves. im inclined to thing a change will be the making of him rather than him not being up to it.

polo - below standard player was contracted otherwise probably would have got the chop.

mcmahon - sorry i cant abide him as a player and cant be objective. imo dud.

dea - third rnd pick 09 draft. dont know much about him but a basketball background would suggest he will take time. even though hes a good size already and puts himself about. has good skills.

webberley pick 67 09 draft 21 yr old mature recruit. again dont know much about him but what i have got on him he looks okay.

our footy club is very thin on big bodied established players right across the board yet alone down back.

imo the one area that will be very competitive is the mids.
martin. deledio, tambling, cousins, collins, foley, cotchin,with hopefully injury free good seasons from big bodied thomson and tuck may mean we can be competetive in games.

Edwards and Tambling aren't defensive enough for mine to be part of your back 6, much better up the ground.

Thursfield is a good prospect but needs more core strength, I remember seeing him next to Nathan Brown (Collingwood) and he was tiny.

Newman is a good solid player.

McGuane, jury is out..not sure if he will cut it for a long period.

Rance I am a big fan of.

Rance doesn't look like being a KPP. McGuane, Moore and Thursfield are the 3 mobile talls.

I think people are judging the talls in our backline way too harshly!
Our Defensive coach for the last 5 years has been David King! a bloke who was at best a HBF! a good one mind you but far from being seen as a elite Defender in his time!
This year and beyond we have Justin Leppitsch who is a 3 time AA Defender and Premiership player and from the training sessions that have been reported on and from what ive seen myself he actually works 1 on 1 with our defenders on defensive moves and positioning! only improvement can come from proper coaching!

Also just a quick note our KPD are only young! - Moore (24), Thurstfield (23), McGuane (23), Rance (20), Post (20), and too lesser notes Polak (26), Astbury (18)

The Best defenders in the comp haven't even been discussed as AA's till they were 26 (scarlett/Glass/Rutten/Bock) at the youngest!

Now in no means am i saying we have a great backline, im merely saying that we potentially have a good backline with proper coaching and natural improvement!
I agree with alot of peoples arguements about their kicking skills and decision making but once again none of them are 100+ game players and time still is on their side!

Rate the Richmond backline