RDFL 2014 Thread

It's called common sense, Sylone! No good doing a Romsey 'the thugs' Redbacks and paying big bucks on blokes who arent going to hang around for more than 3 years. You watch in another year when the money runs out Romsey will be battling! Clubs who look for short term success and dont develop local talent get hurt in the long run!:eek:

Either way a very interesting season ahead.

So Romsey is having short term success are they? Do you know how many Finals they have played in, in the last 10 years? & they will continue to play in Finals in the next 10 years, you see its a culture, a winning culture, something you know nothing about !

With respect, I don't understand how you are aiming for 5 wins, everyone aims for finals, I know you don't want to set the bar too high but who aims to win 5 games? that's mediocrity at the highest level, what coach sits there & decides, we are going to aim to win 5 games for the year? if a coach was to give that forecast to a board at an interview, he would certainly not get the job, if he did then the board should stand down.
I don't think there is anything wrong with setting goals that suit a particular club. Not all clubs can play finals so there is nothing wrong with setting a goal below that. For some clubs their goal is to win the flag so simply making the finals could be considered a failure. I doubt a committee would not appoint a coach with realistic goals. No good having someone talk rubbish and then not produce.

With respect, I don't understand how you are aiming for 5 wins, everyone aims for finals, I know you don't want to set the bar too high but who aims to win 5 games? that's mediocrity at the highest level, what coach sits there & decides, we are going to aim to win 5 games for the year? if a coach was to give that forecast to a board at an interview, he would certainly not get the job, if he did then the board should stand down.

I can understand we're u are coming from , not sure what club your from but it's obviously a successful one because could you imagine walking into a club that didn't win a game and that has the smallest budget ever and saying we will play finals next season I'm pretty sure they would think this blokes a clown , I stick by what I said 5-6 wins!!!
But don't get me wrong finals would be great

I can understand we're u are coming from , not sure what club your from but it's obviously a successful one because could you imagine walking into a club that didn't win a game and that has the smallest budget ever and saying we will play finals next season I'm pretty sure they would think this blokes a clown , I stick by what I said 5-6 wins!!!
But don't get me wrong finals would be great
If you go by this forum, half of Whittlesea is playing at Kilmore, so I thought they must be spending plenty, as I said in my first post"" with respect"'

You should no not too believe this forum, four blokes from Whitt all best mates who just wanted too play together so not on heaps and one of them they don't have to pay for half the year as he is suspended .
The other players are all there good mates from other clubs in the NFL. Pretty much all playing for less just so they could play together for the first time .

Bit harsh mate, 6-8 kids each week shoulda been playing at 10am but chose to stay and help keep the doors of the club open, as well as all bar a few weeks where guys doubled up to ensure our main goal (not forfeiting a game) of 2013 was achieved.

Can't always be rosy mate, doing it tough never hurt anyone, shows great character what these young men did for not just me, but the local community last year when others wouldn't. At least we didn't take the easy option like a few other clubs have in the past and shut up shop for a period ;)

Yes, yes I know you had your excuses Doon' & they were there for all to see. I perhaps shoulda been a little bit more specific with my comment I guess. :rolleyes: (although I thought it was pretty self explanatory)
Was purely in relation to WINS on the board. 4 premiership points ! Ladder position....& all that !
I think that's still what ALL sides set out to achieve in the H & A season ???..........Winning ???
I certainly hope so !
And the unfortunate fact is Doon' (for what EVER reason) this was non existent at Kilmore in 2013 !

Hope that clears it up for you a little mate & assuages your obviously raw sensibilities with the subject. :thumbsu:

You should no not too believe this forum, four blokes from Whitt all best mates who just wanted too play together so not on heaps and one of them they don't have to pay for half the year as he is suspended .
The other players are all there good mates from other clubs in the NFL. Pretty much all playing for less just so they could play together for the first time .

Must be some player !!!
How close is he to being sent into permanent retirement ? :cool:

So Romsey is having short term success are they? Do you know how many Finals they have played in, in the last 10 years? & they will continue to play in Finals in the next 10 years, you see its a culture, a winning culture, something you know nothing about !

Certainly is my old mate, certainly is ! :thumbsu:

Yes, yes I know you had your excuses Doon' & they were there for all to see. I perhaps shoulda been a little bit more specific with my comment I guess. :rolleyes: (although I thought it was pretty self explanatory)
Was purely in relation to WINS on the board. 4 premiership points ! Ladder position....& all that !
I think that's still what ALL sides set out to achieve in the H & A season ???..........Winning ???
I certainly hope so !
And the unfortunate fact is Doon' (for what EVER reason) this was non existent at Kilmore in 2013 !

Hope that clears it up for you a little mate & assuages your obviously raw sensibilities with the subject. :thumbsu:

Ha ha I'm fine mate, a lot of the reason starts and stops with key figures at the club, and with no one else assessing their role in it all someone had to take the "hit" .... namely me :(

Nothing sensitive on here just missing it so I gotta find a way to remain a contributor to the local footy scene ..... and plus I know you'll always respond with your honest opinion which I value.

I'm thinking I might ramp it up now I don't have any involvement, speak my mind and say what I really think ...... as I still have a footy itch that needs scratching :D

It's called common sense, Sylone! No good doing a Romsey 'the thugs' Redbacks and paying big bucks on blokes who arent going to hang around for more than 3 years. You watch in another year when the money runs out Romsey will be battling! Clubs who look for short term success and dont develop local talent get hurt in the long run!:eek:

Either way a very interesting season ahead.
And I would like to make another point about the "thugs"(don't know where that came from) it's called home grown talent, haven't seen much up your way lately except for a fine young man by the name of Jake Gallagher, who just happened to play for Romsey last year, due to Kilmore not being able to field an under 18 team, which is detrimental to the club or the town or both! Jake played some senior footy & is a real chance to play at Calder this year. Nathan Blair was unlucky not to get picked up in the draft & has just signed at Coburg VFL, so he is still a chance if he continues to improve. Angus Story is also at Coburg & at the age of 17 played on Barry Hall last year, Brandon Dimock, Ricky Wood & Connor Whellan will mature into very good senior players.

Hang on I forgot to mention one other! Jake the Snake Lever, Jake has just been announced as non playing captain of Australia with the AIS, not a bad effort for a thug from Romsey! Well done Jake everyone is very proud of you & keep up the rehab! So you look at the size of Romsey compared to Kilmore & you will see the culture breeds there!The club attracts good people, SO IF THERE IS ANY YOUNG KIDS OUT THERE, WHO WANT TO HAVE A FUTURE IN FOOTY, just start at Romsey, it will take you a long way!

And I would like to make another point about the "thugs"(don't know where that came from) it's called home grown talent, haven't seen much up your way lately except for a fine young man by the name of Jake Gallagher, who just happened to play for Romsey last year, due to Kilmore not being able to field an under 18 team, which is detrimental to the club or the town or both! Jake played some senior footy & is a real chance to play at Calder this year. Nathan Blair was unlucky not to get picked up in the draft & has just signed at Coburg VFL, so he is still a chance if he continues to improve. Angus Story is also at Coburg & at the age of 17 played on Barry Hall last year, Brandon Dimock, Ricky Wood & Connor Whellan will mature into very good senior players.

Hang on I forgot to mention one other! Jake the Snake Lever, Jake has just been announced as non playing captain of Australia with the AIS, not a bad effort for a thug from Romsey! Well done Jake everyone is very proud of you & keep up the rehab! So you look at the size of Romsey compared to Kilmore & you will see the culture breeds there!The club attracts good people, SO IF THERE IS ANY YOUNG KIDS OUT THERE, WHO WANT TO HAVE A FUTURE IN FOOTY, just start at Romsey, it will take you a long way!

Lets not forget the Mighty Bombers buddy. We've had a few kids in the past get drafted to the big time too !
One such lad, Tommy Sheridan is starting to make a name for himself over at Freo' at present. Looks like he may have a big future over there after getting picked up top 20 in the draft a couple of years ago, plus the way the Dockers seem to be traveling of late. :)

We do seem to have a pretty good culture over here too, this past decade or so !!! :rolleyes:

I don't think there is anything wrong with setting goals that suit a particular club. Not all clubs can play finals so there is nothing wrong with setting a goal below that. For some clubs their goal is to win the flag so simply making the finals could be considered a failure. I doubt a committee would not appoint a coach with realistic goals. No good having someone talk rubbish and then not produce.
I agree mate, in 2013 I just wanted the Rams to improve and be competitive against all sides and I think we achieved that. In 2014 I strongly believe we can make finals.

Lets not forget the Mighty Bombers buddy. We've had a few kids in the past get drafted to the big time too !
One such lad, Tommy Sheridan is starting to make a name for himself over at Freo' at present. Looks like he may have a big future over there after getting picked up top 20 in the draft a couple of years ago, plus the way the Dockers seem to be traveling of late. :)

We do seem to have a pretty good culture over here too, this past decade or so !!! :rolleyes:
You don't need me pumping your team up my friend, they have set the bar! Yes i agree there has been some good kids come from your little town, I just cant understand why a town the size of Kilmore cant field an under 18 team & be competitive as a senior team.

I agree mate, in 2013 I just wanted the Rams to improve and be competitive against all sides and I think we achieved that. In 2014 I strongly believe we can make finals.
Gday Leighroy, the point I was trying to get across is no one knows how good they are going to go until they see the rst of the comp, so who knows leighroy, you might make finals. You guys are playing your cards close to your chest & I know what you have picked up & you might shock a few! But mate when the question is put to you, for God sake man, tell them your aim is to make finals!

When you put it like that I do see your point mate. I guess if you look at the Rams coming out last season and stating finals would have been ambitious to say the least. I found not having pressure or a committee being results driven allowed us to just start playing some good footy. But again see your point champ :)

So how many weeks he get & what was it for ?.......if you don't mind me asking ?

He got 8 weeks for undually rough play / bump ,
It was in the grand final so not sure if it was doubled, looked bad on the day but when u see the footage not a lot in it just a fraction late

Looks like an elbow to the head when I look at it, to a bloke that didn't see it coming as his eyes were on the ball. Vision is not great, maybe it was a shoulder to the head but you can definitely see his elbow move out after contact. Head contact was made nevertheless.

Sent from my C625b using Tapatalk

Eight weeks looks very harsh. Even if it was an elbow.

Would depend on how much damage the apparent head high contact caused Matt & whether the player on the receiving end was able to continue on with the game. I agree with JB though, the contact does look to be to the head & it looks for all intents & purposes to be at the higher end of reckless to say the least.
Oh & we still don't know for a fact if Mr Harrison has a history of indiscretion. That should & would certainly compound any sanction metered out.

RDFL 2014 Thread