RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 1)

I spoke with the RDFL recently about fixture moves, and the impression I got was that the fixture as it stands now is final. My comment was that given the AGM was delayed, maybe we could re-jig some games. So my understanding is that the latest revision of the fixture will be final and approved Monday.

We can never host Sunday games given the juniors are overflowing with teams. They always have teams playing home and away, so there's never a week our ground is free.

We're keen to play Broadford at their groundon a Sunday, and have asked the RDFL if they can list it in the actual fixture for a Sunday of its agreed. (Save last seasons issues).

So I take it that the Anzac Day fixture between Kilmore and the Kangaroos has fallen by the wayside after just 2 years.. How unfortunate, for both sides, an absolute shame and I hope that a couple of other sides take the initiative and try to lock this day in, it can only be a successful windfall for the two clubs that do so..

A lot come back though! Blade, Mick Allen, Climas this year. Lee James has come back before. Petran would have but made it in a higher comp so will play there for a while. Maybe it is playing at a great club, maybe it is playing with some good mates, maybe it is for cash. End of the day they are doing something right and will be there again at the end of the year.

And you little sook about sportsmanship against Woodend - it was one players mistake.

Once again omni you let yourself down with false truths. Stop professing to know it all when it is clear you actually know very little why bladey left the cats. In fact just to put you in the know, why dont you call one of the hardworking committee men/women down at the cats and ask them for their version of events. Oh thats right you have burnt all your bridges down there and are still bitter that you are no longer welcome at the club.

Hey Impotent – don’t leave this statement half baked, gives the details!

And some correction for you – Bladey left Riddell for Sunbury and then went to Macedon. I suppose Riddell wouldn’t have complained because the Power boys had already worked out the deals!!

Also, Riddell would have ‘failedto retain the services of more very very useful & highly decorated players’ in the last 3 years than the rest of the RDFL clubs combined.

I also suppose Bladey would be used to the red and black treatment been sent his way, we can’t forget the wonderful examples of sportsmanship they displayed against Woodend in the grand final a few years ago!

Before I go, the picture under your name, what’s that all about?

Mix up your Log-ins did we pal ?????
At least have the guts to come on here & reply with your original one please !

Now I could choose to play the “Man” rather than the “Ball” & start name calling & make up a large steaming pile of excrement like you have,….. But that then would make me no better than you, - small minded & purile !
And..
Whilst I do relish & encourage robust debate on here champ, just try & refrain from the personal shit eh ?…… & also, try and stick to the purpose of what this thread is all about – topical…….football…….. discussion.

Otherwise your contributions on here will last about as long as you do at the “Knock Shop”…….. &… then…. you will have to put up with the inconvenience of having to think up & register another witty alias to log-in with………. & then I will close that one down after a while also .…. Then we will just keep going round & round in circles…… pointless really !

BTW – FYI – WIAAI –

I get all my "FACTS" straight from the horses mouth pal so that way my credibility & integrity can stay intact & I dont end up looking as stupid as you do !
You would know that by spending half a minute & looking at my profile visitors !

Oh & just because you asked,……. The picture is - Graham Chapman –playing the role of “Brian” in the Monty Python movie called - The Life of Brian.
Really good flick too, do yourself a favor & give it a look – Who knows, all may be revealed !!!!

Top 5 full forwards going on what i saw last year and recruits into league:
1. James - kil
2. Knox- hawks
3. Laurie - drest
4. Meacham - roos
5. Lancefield FF forgot his name.
6. Mcarthur/waters - mac (whichever plays out of square)

Waters if injury free is easily better then the equal 6th best full forward in the comp....what do you reckon Doona???

And Meachem at 4 after winning the goal kicking last year is interesting

Waters if injury free is easily better then the equal 6th best full forward in the comp....what do you reckon Doona???

And Meachem at 4 after winning the goal kicking last year is interesting

Knox is a CHF forward anyway.

The best FFs are:

1. Aaron James (Kilmore)
2. Matt Waters (Macedon)
3. Chris Meacham (Kangaroos)
4. Brian Ruffell (Lancefield)
5. James McArthur (Macedon)
6. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest)

Yeh I reckon you're right, but Slimmer has been battling his body the past few years from all reports. A fwd pocket role next to the strong McCarthur lad could help both blokes and the Cats have a better year not forgetting both will be additions to their fwd set-up from the 2nd half of 2009.

James obviously #1
then Ruffell/Meacham, was impressed with Knox, Waters (if fit) and McCarthur was hard to stop early when we met em.

Have only seen Laurie the once and young Grant Wearne did a fair job on him, as Wearney did against Meacham - just that I've seen Chris play a bit more over the years.

The best FFs are:

1. Aaron James (Kilmore)
2. Matt Waters (Macedon)

Yeah not bad champ,
Mine are

1. Aaron James (Kilmore)
2. Gaaaary Moocroft (Romsey)
3. Chris Meacham (Sunbury)
4. James McArthur (Macedon)
5. Brian Ruffell (Lancefield)
6. Mick Allen (Riddell)
7. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest)

Yeah not bad champ,
Mine are

1. Aaron James (Kilmore)
2. Gaaaary Moocroft (Romsey)
3. Chris Meacham (Sunbury)
4. James McArthur (Macedon)
5. Brian Ruffell (Lancefield)
6. Mick Allen (Riddell)
7. Cole Laurie (Diggers Rest)

Seems we're all on a similar page :thumbsu:

Thought about Gaary but of the 3 times I watched him in 09 only once did he play outa the sqaure - saw Mick Allen jag 5 or 6 in the wet at Kilmore a few years back, he did some freakish things that day :thumbsu:

Seems we're all on a similar page :thumbsu:

Thought about Gaary but of the 3 times I watched him in 09 only once did he play outa the sqaure - saw Mick Allen jag 5 or 6 in the wet at Kilmore a few years back, he did some freakish things that day :thumbsu:

Yeah you just gotta love a good forward Doon'. Saw Micky kick 8 goals one in the first quarter of a game against the Kangas a couple of seasons back.... just fantastic !
The real good Forwards just seem to know where the goals are & can sometimes snag em from anywhere or get em through the big sticks with their eyes closed........... sorta reminds me of my good self in my heyday !!! :eek:

Err I mean the eyes closed bit !!! :eek:

Top 5 full forwards going on what i saw last year and recruits into league:
1. James - kil
2. Knox- hawks
3. Laurie - drest
4. Meacham - roos
5. Lancefield FF forgot his name.
6. Mcarthur/waters - mac (whichever plays out of square)

Shift big Slim Waters from 6 to #2 behind James, also Ruffell & Meacham (true full-forwards) before Knox & Lefty (more flexible, pinch-hitting forwards).....

With all this talk about full forwards. Who will be the backman in the comp to stop them. and who has had whos measure over the past years?

I know the Romsey faithful rate Kairns highly after his day on A James last time but lets not forget he should have been home in bed that day.

With all this talk about full forwards. Who will be the backman in the comp to stop them. and who has had whos measure over the past years?

I know the Romsey faithful rate Kairns highly after his day on A James last time but lets not forget he should have been home in bed that day.

- If I were a coach against Kilmore I'd bring up a tough nut from the reserves to just niggle at Aaron James all day. Pinch him, sledge him, get under his skin. When his mind is off footy he's just another footballer to worry about. Double teaming him with a quality rebounding back will also help as he doesn't chase and you know Kilmore will look for him nine times out of ten when going forward.

- Against Waters, you need to play your best defender on him who can outsprint him over 10 metres. Not sure if the chopping the arms law is in the RDFL but you need to handle him one-on-one and back your defender. A bloke like Ben Talbot would be a good match up IMO.

- Haven't seen enough of Ruffell to comment.

- Meacham is a bit of a difficult one because he has height and can play further up the ground. Ideally you want someone who can match him in the air but often that's not possible. I'd be also niggling him and trying to push him up the ground where he is less effective.

- Knox is a very mobile forward who is tall and can sprint quickly. He also relies on confidence so if you can push him deep into the pockets early in the game and he misses a couple of set shots he'll struggle to recover in the match. While he is also strong, he is young and doesn't have a lot of muscle so roughing him up could also be a good tactic.

- Mick Allen and Dave Cornish to a lesser extent can be extremely dangerous on their day. Often its basically up to the players themselves as to whether they dominate. If Allen rolls up and wants to put on a show, he will. Best tactic is to play a taller and equally quick player on him and hope he doesn't turn it on. Same with Cornish, although he is not the centre of the forward line at Wallan like he was at Kilmore a couple of seasons ago.

- While The Big Rig is a star and VERY hard to beat when on song, he does have flaws. Below his knees he can sometimes fumble and his set shot kicking isn't terrific. Try and move him out of the goal square (he'll do this anyway) and avoid one-on-one contests as he is hard to muscle out.

- Like Doona said, Cole Laurie is a mobile FF who plays a bit like a flanker. Quick off the mark and an excellent grab on the lead, he is very hard to defend against. Try a zone defence and clog up his space. The best case scenario is a one-on-one duel. He's not hopeless in this situation but certainly not as strong as he is on the lead.

The best FFs are:

1. Aaron James (Kilmore)
2. Matt Waters (Macedon)

1.Aaron James (Kilmore)
2.Adam Fenton (Sunbury)
3.Chris Meacham Sunbury)
4.Brian Ruffell (Lancefield)
5.Matt Waters (Macedon)
6.Mick Allen (Riddell)
7.Matt Baird (Riddell)
8.Col Laurie (Diggers)
9.David Innella (Sunbury)

- If I were a coach against Kilmore I'd bring up a tough nut from the reserves to just niggle at Aaron James all day. Pinch him, sledge him, get under his skin. When his mind is off footy he's just another footballer to worry about. Double teaming him with a quality rebounding back will also help as he doesn't chase and you know Kilmore will look for him nine times out of ten when going forward.

- Against Waters, you need to play your best defender on him who can outsprint him over 10 metres. Not sure if the chopping the arms law is in the RDFL but you need to handle him one-on-one and back your defender. A bloke like Ben Talbot would be a good match up IMO.

- Haven't seen enough of Ruffell to comment.

- Meacham is a bit of a difficult one because he has height and can play further up the ground. Ideally you want someone who can match him in the air but often that's not possible. I'd be also niggling him and trying to push him up the ground where he is less effective.

- Knox is a very mobile forward who is tall and can sprint quickly. He also relies on confidence so if you can push him deep into the pockets early in the game and he misses a couple of set shots he'll struggle to recover in the match. While he is also strong, he is young and doesn't have a lot of muscle so roughing him up could also be a good tactic.

- Mick Allen and Dave Cornish to a lesser extent can be extremely dangerous on their day. Often its basically up to the players themselves as to whether they dominate. If Allen rolls up and wants to put on a show, he will. Best tactic is to play a taller and equally quick player on him and hope he doesn't turn it on. Same with Cornish, although he is not the centre of the forward line at Wallan like he was at Kilmore a couple of seasons ago.

- While The Big Rig is a star and VERY hard to beat when on song, he does have flaws. Below his knees he can sometimes fumble and his set shot kicking isn't terrific. Try and move him out of the goal square (he'll do this anyway) and avoid one-on-one contests as he is hard to muscle out.

- Like Doona said, Cole Laurie is a mobile FF who plays a bit like a flanker. Quick off the mark and an excellent grab on the lead, he is very hard to defend against. Try a zone defence and clog up his space. The best case scenario is a one-on-one duel. He's not hopeless in this situation but certainly not as strong as he is on the lead.

Dave Cornish not playing at wallan this year

1.Aaron James (Kilmore)
2.Adam Fenton (Sunbury)
3.Chris Meacham Sunbury)
4.Brian Ruffell (Lancefield)
5.Matt Waters (Macedon)
6.Mick Allen (Riddell)
7.Matt Baird (Riddell)
8.Col Laurie (Diggers)
9.David Innella (Sunbury)

Fenton was good but struggles now and won't kick 30 goals

Maybe you are giving RDFL backmen a bit too much credit. I would have thought blind freddy could kick 30 goals in that league. and with a star studded midfield and getting the 2nd or third best backman, he will probably kick 100:D

The last time Kairns played on James was when James kicked 9 in an elim final. So yeah Kairns did a great job:eek:

Sorry mate, meant last time he played in the league. your right about the last game, but the game that was played at romsey he was crook, then made up for it the next time.
A shame he couldn't do it the next week at Kilmore in the strong winds. Hopefully not too many strong winds this year :rolleyes: :D

Against Waters, you need to play your best defender on him who can outsprint him over 10 metres. Not sure if the chopping the arms law is in the RDFL but you need to handle him one-on-one and back your defender. A bloke like Ben Talbot would be a good match up IMO.

As much as Slim would pray it happens, Broady wont be playing Sambo Taylor on him. He averages truckloads against Broady from stints at Colbo & Heathcote - even to the point where Sambo re-invented himself as a forward and credited Slim with teaching him enough to win last year's comp goalkicking in the 2's

- Mick Allen and Dave Cornish to a lesser extent can be extremely dangerous on their day.

Pretty sure Dave is heading up to Thornton-Eildon to play under former Wallan ruckman Bernie Hourigan who coaches the Boners in the YVMDFL