RDFL Thread 2010 (Part 2)

Message just in from my Woodend source - " Romsey by 9 points & Shannon Green is a w***er" !........... Then another message - "Gaaaaaaary reported" !

I Guess this game must have had a bit in it ! :thumbsu:
Stay tuned I guess ???

Heard this morning that Romsey have made an official complaint regarding the comments directed at Gaz by the umpire that reported him, as previously posted it was something to do with coin. Can an umpire be reported?? Someone from Romsey know anything??

Wow... Didn't this thread explode over the weekend, new users, controversy, the return of serial trollers... Its good to see healthy discussion and debate is still alive in the RDFL... :thumbsu:

Was lucky enough to check out the first half of the Kangaroos/Centrals contest and then most of the 2nd half of the Lancefield/Kilmore contest on Saturday and was very impressed with some of the performances at both games.
The Roos/Centrals game, although it looked to be all done and dusted when I was leaving, was a relatively spirited and hard fought contest. Centrals really lacked a ruckman that could be competitive with Fischendon, he was clearly dominant early. But Centrals midfielders led the way in reading the ruck contests Bamford and Wheels were excellent around the stoppages. While Leigh McInerney and Ryan Hatty were great for the Roos. It was really encouraging to see some of the signs that young Matt Welsh showed too, alot of people know what this young guy is capable of, but in the discussion I had on the weekend, the topic of conversation was spot on, Matt is at a point where he can become "that kid could be anything" it is a dangerous position to be in, but his game on the weekend could be a coming of age for Matt, hopefully he can continue his good form after the break.... Listened to Paul Sproule at quarter time, I was very impressed with his direction and delivery of message to his troops, Centrals are headed in the right direction with him.
Got to Lancefield with the Tigers under considerable pressure against the Blues. Kilmore had total control of the play and were peppering the goals, but they just couldn't put goals on the board, they went into 3 quarter time with a 10 point lead and you could just sense that it might not have been enough. Early goals in the last term to Todd Keenan and a ripper from the pocket on his left from Matt Robertson either side of a goal to the Tigers and it looked like the Blues might have just had too much for the Tigers, but Waters stepped it up in the middle along with Collins and Travis Smith, the Tigers took over the game, Glen Caton DOMINATED the last quarter like no other, his overhead marking for a smaller type player was a feature, while John Baker, when he has the ball in his hands within 40m of goal looks like he will never miss, maybe he should go and help out at some AFL clubs with goal kicking, very solid. In the end, it was a reasonably comfortable win for the Tigers, but Kilmore were not disgraced. But the result probably proved that the Blues are still a little bit away from the top sides on most days.

What I learned from Round 9
  • Riddell are screaming for the break, they had a few out on Saturday including Cam McCabe with a reported broken ankle??? Can anyone confirm this report?
  • The Cats might be finally hitting their straps, that was a powerful performance in poor conditions away from home.
  • Lancefield just keep getting enough out of their players to win these important games.
  • The second half of the year is going to be as entertaining as any previous years.. Get ready for an excitement packed run to the finals.
Performance Ladder - Round 9
Macedon
Lancefield
Diggers Rest
Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddell
Kilmore

Romsey
Woodend/Hesket
Broadford
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Wallan

Half year report card - Coming up.....

Thought the umpire's did a great job in the Wallan V Macedon game. Garrrry should get no more than one week!

Bwahahaha... One week at least sly :p:thumbsu:

Funny isn’t it? Several weeks ago the umpire and everybody else saw Moorcroft strike an opposition player. Goes to tribunal and the opposition player said it didn’t happen and Moorcroft gets off. Tribunal does not back umpire, who obviously saw the hit like the rest of the 100s there, (I am also lead to believe the umpires are not happy after the lack of tribunal support during last year’s final series). Romsey say report was not warranted. This week everybody but the umpire see Moorcroft hit high, Romsey wants report!!

Every time I have seen Romsey play in the last two seasons Moorcroft and Green have done a lot more hitting than they have received. Mind you the Romsey faithful may not have seen that!!!

Want their cake and eat it too??????

RDFL 2010 Season - Mid Year Report Card

Well we have made it to the half way mark of season 2010 and what a season it has been so far, the top six is as hotly contested as we all predicted and hoped, with 8 sides still in the mix, of the remaining sides, they have all proven that on any given day they are capable of mixing it with any side in the competition.

I will post in groups of 3...

*Predicted wins underlined...

Riddell (1st, 8-1)
The Run Home - Sunbury Kangaroos (A), Woodend/Hesket (H), Kilmore (H), Romsey (H), Woodend/Hesket (A), Macedon (H), Sunbury Kangaroos (H), Broadford (A), Melton Centrals (A).

Predicted finish: 2nd, 16 wins - 2 losses (End of home and away season)

Key: Injuries, already the Bombers have been hit with injuries around the half way mark of the season, in previous years they have always had the depth to step up and fill the void, can they expect the same this year.

Key Players:
Brayden Allen - Has had a break out start to the season dominating in the ruck for the Bombers and giving the midfielders first use, his ability to push forward to create another option caused headaches for opposition ruckman and backman, while on the way out of defence he is often used as a link player that is hit up through the middle and then uses his long penetrating kick to give his forwards plenty of space to work with.
Jason Allen - His leadership gives his teammates drive. One of the best rebounding defenders in the competition and regularly used to fill holes where it is needed, capable of a stop job or providing the drive that gets the Bombers moving.
Mick Allen - Premier small forward in the competition, proving again he is capable of big bags to break a game apart. Probably lacks consistency over the entire 4 quarters, but is able to kick a bag in one quarter, scary if he does get 4 quarters together.
Matt Baird - The Bombers main target inside forward 50, quick on the burst and extremely strong overhead, mobility allows him to float anywhere inside the Bombers attacking half of the ground and be dangerous enough to have to have someone follow him everywhere.
James Climas - The Bombers best contested on baller, his attack on the ball frees up the other Bombers midfielders to play outside of the pack and deliver with excellent foot skills, is definitely going to be important as the weather starts to play up and the game becomes more contested.
Gerard Liddell - Ball magnet through the midfield, capable of kicking goals, always makes him a dangerous prospect for opposition sides. Been quiet since a dominating start to the season, but would expect that he will really start to wind up as finals approach.

Style: The Bombers play very much the same style that they have over a long period of time, it is why players that have left and come back are able to come in and have an impact right away. The Bombers are very good at winning contested football with Climas and Casson regularly at the bottom of the pack feeding the runners. The Bombers have always had success with bringing in younger players, such is the strength around them and this year has been no different. Grant Puxley has stepped into senior football with no worries and added to the youthful exuberance shown by Ben Sonogan as the talented youngsters continue to improve this football side. Very much a peel off and help your mate style of side, you will rarely see a Bombers player isolated in a one on one contest around the ground, unless it is their forwards, they are able to get numbers to wherever the ball is headed meaning that they usually have the numbers to clear the ball. Question marks early over the much heralded strength in midfield rotations seems to have been quashed as they once again top the league table. A big second half to the year for the Bombers as they look to place themselves in the best position for another tilt at a premiership.

Possible weakness: On the hop. In the game I saw against Kilmore, if there was enough pressure on the Bomber midfield to force a turnover, they were found out on the quick rebound. They peel and zone off better than any other side, but are prone to over attacking the situation due to their general dominance of games, they can be caught out and if opposition sides are able to catch them on the rebound and force the defenders into one on one contests they can end up a little twitchy.

Sunbury Kangaroos (2nd, 8-1)
The Run Home: Riddell (H), Macedon (A), Melton Centrals (A), Diggers Rest (A), Macedon (H), Wallan (H), Riddell (A), Woodend/Hesket (H), Rockbank (A).

Predicted finish: 3rd, 15 wins - 3 Losses

Key: Fluency. The Kangaroos have several key recruits but in the first half of the year have probably lacked fluency in their game due to injury. They have several key backman out of the side, all who will return in the latter half of the season, but will they be fit enough and have played together enough come finals?

Key Players:
Chris Meacham - Started the season on fire, pushed up the ground a bit more in recent weeks before a haul of 5 before the break. His pressure when the ball hits the ground is that of a small forward with tackling and his ability to be the first player to his feet after a marking contest, it allows the forward 50 to be broken up with players peeling off with the confidence generated that he will will contested football on the ground.
Darragh McGovern - Hard at it midfielder who has excellent skills. Easily one of the Kangaroos standouts so far this year. No fuss, just gets the job done, hard working as well as flashy, he is a jet.
Ryan Hatty - In recent weeks has been very important to the Roos, knocks up getting the football and uses it well by foot, flies under the radar yet is clearly important as the Roos season goes on.
Leigh Fischendon - The most dominant centre tap ruckman in the competition, in recent weeks has started to improve his impact around the ground, would be very dangerous if the Roos could ruck him and then push him forward.
Matt Welsh - Could be a difference maker come finals, but the dangerous "potential" word hangs over him. He has the chance in 2010 to fulfil that potential and become a star.
Joeb Ploog - In recent weeks is really getting the hang of this CHB business, has been very impressive, if he can keep his mind on continuing to win the football and using his presence rather than bringing those big elbows out, he will play a major role in the Roos finals hopes.

Style: Probably don't have a style of play as such which makes the Roos very hard to read. Helmers has this side playing first to the ball style football which at times can be erratic, but always entertaining, yes, it can be frustrating, but it can also end up with a 10 goal quarter, the Kangaroos are dangerous, make no mistake about it. They are capable of playing a stoppage style of football as well as an open running game, while some would say that a pacy side will have their measure, I think that they have the tools to match that game as well, at times if frustration creeps in, they can lose their way in a match, if the opposition can capitilize when this happens, they may be able to put enough on the board to put them away.

Possible weakness: While it can also be a strength, the weakness is the erratic style of football that the Kangaroos play, it can lead to frustration within the playing group if things are not going their way. But the more time they spend on the ground as a unit, the more this will tighten up. The Roos have a good core of leaders that are capable of pulling the entire side back into line, as long as they are not the ones sucked into the frustration.

Lancefield (3rd, 8-1)
The Run Home: Broadford (A), Diggers Rest (A), Rockbank (H), Broadford (H), Romsey (A), Kilmore (A), Melton Centrals (H), Macedon (A), Diggers Rest (H).

Predicted Finish: 1st, 17 wins - 1 loss.

Key: Under the radar. The Tigers continue to fly under the radar against opposition sides. Does everyone else rate them, absolutely, are they everyone's biggest threat, not really. That seems to be the way people treat the Tigers and they love it. While everyone knows they are good, everyone is waiting for them to fall over.

Key Players:
Tom Waters - Outside of Jamie Cuffe and at times Brayden Allen, there is no other ruckman in the competition that can affect a game the way that Waters does. His ability to read the football and his mobility means he is always in the contest and in the way. His skills at times can let him down, but he is able to work hard to get the ball back if he makes an error, that is rare these days.
Chris Collins - He just works from the first siren till the last siren, he never stops working and he does it all for the jumper he wears, there are few high profile midfielders in the competition that have the work ethic or commitment to the cause that Collins does.
Leigh Irwin - Strong, quick, just a pure defender, the standout defender in the competition. He makes his opponent's day tough, no matter who his opponent is. Without Irwin their would be a big hole in defence that the Tigers could possibly not fill.
Brett Caton - Given the Tigers another tall defender, his foot skills are excellent and has great mobility and movement, plays the rebounding tall defenders role and gives the Tigers excellent drive.
John Baker - Inconsistent, completely inconsistent, but if he is up and going can kick a big bag of goals, if he gets the ball in his hands within 40m of goal you can almost write it down, makes a player of his standing very very important.
Travis Smith - Gives everything he has, might not be the most fashionable player of all time, but he has pace, he uses the ball very well and he is a natural leader. Has presence among his teammates and if you were picking the best RDFL side, he would be one of the first players picked IMO.

Style: Defense first, attack second. The Tigers are accountable and ferocious when the opposition has the ball, they are one of the few sides that can recognise that you must defend in order to attack. Their back six is stingy, but when they decide it is time to open up they have several options that can run and carry the football, making it very tough for opposition sides to keep the forwards in check. When momentum is against them, they are able to knuckle down, create stoppages, which they know is a strength and utilize the best ruckman in the competition with some of the best contested ball winners. They will defend first then when the opposition feels they have them on the ropes they open up and run from behind the ball, catching the opposition on the hop. They also focus on "7 point plays". Knowing that when a behind is scored they have the ball in their area, they work extra hard to get a second shot on goal effectively creating the 7 point play.. Looking at the run home, they have tough games against Macedon and Romsey but, I think they can win both of those and go undefeated for the remainder of the year.

Possible weakness: The forward line. While they have a strong midfield and arguably the best defence in the compeition, it is the forward line that looks to be the one area that can be exploited come finals. The three mobile tall forwards in Brian Ruffell, John Baker and Nathan Carroll are all capable of turning a game on its head, so they will always be a worry for opposition coaches, they tend to leave alot of the grunt work to the midfield. Regularly they tend not to work hard enough if the ball hits the ground or their opponents take off up the ground to create space, especially if they are having a bad day, opposition sides will be able to use this come finals to increase numbers coming from behind the ball, this will allow opposition sides to bypass Waters sitting a kick behind play, if they are smart enough.

For starters, the correct term is drivel, not dribble. Look it up clicky

Secondly, I've been posting on this website for years and all along I've said I was no good at playing footy. Just a battler. Still played over 130 odd games through juniors, U18s and reserves though. Lot of splinters but I loved it.

Also, happy to give both encouragement and criticism. I give as good as I get, don't you worry.

Leave Freo out of it. We're finally coming good after 15 and a bit long seasons.

The problem you have Matt is that you are basing your comments on information you are receiving from your local mates and we all know who they are. As long as you get your information from guys that have never coached a senior side, never played football in a decent side (and most of them were soft as sponge cakes), and have had no or very little involvement in club management, you will have no creditability. These uneducated, pump their own tyre guys are the laughing stock of the RDFL – and you get sucked in by them and use them as your information source. The things you have written about Woodend, Macedon, Romsey, Kilmore etc are bordering on farcical. If you want to comment from afar, why don’t you get on the phone and ask the coaches directly and get some FACTS!!!!

Re: RDFL 2010 Season - Mid Year Report Card

Do we share the points against Romsey in Rd 13

The problem you have Matt is that you are basing your comments on information you are receiving from your local mates and we all know who they are. As long as you get your information from guys that have never coached a senior side, never played football in a decent side (and most of them were soft as sponge cakes), and have had no or very little involvement in club management, you will have no creditability. These uneducated, pump their own tyre guys are the laughing stock of the RDFL – and you get sucked in by them and use them as your information source. The things you have written about Woodend, Macedon, Romsey, Kilmore etc are bordering on farcical. If you want to comment from afar, why don’t you get on the phone and ask the coaches directly and get some FACTS!!!!

Never let the facts get in the way of a good story.

Re: RDFL 2010 Season - Mid Year Report Card

Do we share the points against Romsey in Rd 13

Oversight fixed, 16-2 would say I figure that as a win.

Unless your Leigh Matthews pal I wouldn't start questioning anyones credentials on here or right to have an opinion. :confused:
Otherwise there wouldn't be too many of us left on here......Including YOU ! :cool:

Any news on Liddell OMNI???. or the ensuing investigation??

He is up & about. Still quite sore I believe. Missed last game obviously, & probably would've missed this week too if there was a match on.

I'm led to believe Riddell are pushing forward for an investigation to be launched by the R.D.F.L. into the disturbing incident.
I guess we will all just have to monitor the ensuing developments & hope that the powers that be, come up with the correct result & the appropriate outcome. :rolleyes:

He is up & about. Still quite sore I believe. Missed last game obviously, & probably would've missed this week too if there was a match on.

I'm led to believe Riddell are pushing forward for an investigation to be launched by the R.D.F.L. into the disturbing incident.
I guess we will all just have to monitor the ensuing developments & hope that the powers that be, come up with the correct result & the appropriate outcome. :rolleyes:
Still quite sore i believe,probably would miss this week too,led to believe riddell are pushing.Sounds to me you like you dont know anything about whats going on:thumbsdown:

what the hell is going on here. clearly there is something that happened and i isnt omni from riddell. he would know what is happening with liddell. clearly this is to defend the person that was responsible. obviously there is something behind what everyone is saying. i hope the league do investigate there is no way this stuff shoudl be happening any more. :mad:

It is being investigated.

Anything in the previous quote about AJ being let loose on unruly Lancefield fans, Oldie?

I was there but a fair way from it. AJ and the crowd were at it as normal. At the end of the game AJ headed for the Lancefield crowd but was headed off by a trainer. All part of the AJ bravado show – nothing in it.

Unless your Leigh Matthews pal I wouldn't start questioning anyones credentials on here or right to have an opinion. :confused:
Otherwise there wouldn't be too many of us left on here......Including YOU ! :cool:

Did I ever say he couldn’t have an opinion?

Remember, an opinion is a thought that a person has formed about a particular topic or issue. Any opinion is based on the information the individual receives. Obviously the quality of that information will influence the subjectiveness and quality of the formed opinion. What I am saying is, go to the source and get the quality. And you know what? If you get really good quality information it is no longer an opinion - but a fact.

Did I ever say he couldn’t have an opinion?

Remember, an opinion is a thought that a person has formed about a particular topic or issue. Any opinion is based on the information the individual receives. Obviously the quality of that information will influence the subjectiveness and quality of the formed opinion. What I am saying is, go to the source and get the quality. And you know what? If you get really good quality information it is no longer an opinion - but a fact.
Einstein!