RDFL Thread

Footy_Idol said:
Jason Salm is an excelent footballer, but has had a lot of time on the sidelines. i think he would be better off starting in the two's and workin his way up. But with the current injuries at kangas, i think he'll after to start up, but could be too soon...

Apologies for forgetting drew wight, had a great year and is guaranteed to walk back in the side when he's fit

salmy hasn't played a game after getting injured in a practice match, guaranteed to start in the 2s, i believe the roos will not rush players from long term injury straight into the 1s that attitude is gone after last weeks efforts why would they need to.
My tip is the roos, another game by less than 2 goals Match of the round by far

OldMelburnian28 said:
Jason Salm is a sauce head with no skill!!!

I say no more.

Yeah good one :D:D:D:Der! What is it with Vafa People thought you were mean't to go to private schools! I have a suggestion OldMelburnian, go to the roos to training and tell him what you think! Salmy is a walk up to any senior side in RDFL!

Hawker28 said:
Yeah good one :D:D:D:Der! What is it with Vafa People thought you were mean't to go to private schools! I have a suggestion OldMelburnian, go to the roos to training and tell him what you think! Salmy is a walk up to any senior side in RDFL!

C'mon Hawker, lets get serious.. No one from the Ammo's would have the manhood to walk up to Roos training and say what they are saying...

Lets face it, the reason people like Salmy get a spray is because he has got talent.. Possibly a little more than the person doing the spraying... Isnt that right OldMelburnian? :thumbsu:

Looks like i've been busted, Thats_special has discovered my transparent ways and exposed me to the RDFL. But don't tell anyone, the last thing i want is for people to think im jealous of Jason Salm, aka Salmy, aka game breaker!

Footy_Idol said:
So ur saying that they were not fussed about whether or not they won, becoz basically they are guranteed to make finals? So they'd rather exercise training drills and save their best for the big games ie:Riddell & Diggers

Fair point, romsey in no way looked like the top side they're meant to be last week. But credit where it's due, kangaroos played exceptionally, i dont think can be considered a "lesser side" any more. Should have beaten melton, injury-ridden at kilmore, close match against diggers. They could easily be 5-1 or 4-2.
Kangas are definetly improving but you cant sugar coat there current win-loss ratio like that.Every team has injuries so it is no excuse against Kilmore and the roos may have been been unlucky against Melton but all that matters is who got the points.Macedon could probably mount a similar case for there game against the roos by that logic.Diggers were toying with the roos after quarter time.Hope the roos win this week as it is good for the competition.

Thats_Special said:
C'mon Hawker, lets get serious.. No one from the Ammo's would have the manhood to walk up to Roos training and say what they are saying...

Lets face it, the reason people like Salmy get a spray is because he has got talent.. Possibly a little more than the person doing the spraying... Isnt that right OldMelburnian? :thumbsu:

Just need to clear something up Thats special. Ammos is made up of 2 very distinct groups. group 1 is the battling district sides that make up much of d1-d4 . Average to crap footy but lots of good blokes, fun times and people who just want to play with their mates.

Then we have the old boys (like oldmelburnian) who think their Sh%& don't stink and are generally(not all but most) a bunch of total toss pots who's conversations are generally about how much they made on the stock market on the weekend and about how bloody great the chick pulling sports car is.

I have sat on the committee at one of the struggling clubs and you should see the ammos meetings with the a and b grade reps. What is the collective word for a bunch of wan%ers??

Wan*kers? maybe from your perspective, but just because you cant get a game with your local ammo's club, ie rupo, dont generalize the entire top half of the VAFA.

p.s. if you think d1 is average to crap footy, what do you call that game you play on saturday's in the RDFL.

I won a flag in Rupo's under 19's last flag and the grade of football rupo play on saturdays is nothin compared to any game between top 6 sides in rdfl comp. We play football the old fashioned way physical, contested football unlike the brand you play! End of discussion Old Melburnian, back to your Vafa thread!

P.S What brings you to our thread anyway? Interested with what going on! Cant be that bad of footy then can it?

BIG NEWS!

Just got a phone call from my old journo mate Matt Nicholls, he says that Woodend-Hesket's coach Bruce Gonzalves walked out after training last night after some of the players had a crack at him.

Apparantely he wont be coming back to coach and Mick Lacey will be the caretaker coach this weekend.

Can anyone confirm?

thepurplepassion said:
BIG NEWS!

Just got a phone call from my old journo mate Matt Nicholls, he says that Woodend-Hesket's coach Bruce Gonzalves walked out after training last night after some of the players had a crack at him.

Apparantely he wont be coming back to coach and Mick Lacey will be the caretaker coach this weekend.

Can anyone confirm?

Massive news if true....

thepurplepassion said:
BIG NEWS!

Can anyone confirm?
That is massive but I am assuming you have a pretty reliable source if you are willing to post it.

Would be pretty shocked.Seemed to have Woodend playing pretty well.The games I have seen them they were confusing teams by flooding there defence and then running forward into space.Had not noticed any disharmony in the team.

Thats_Special said:
Massive news if true....

can confirm . no disharmony in the team itself but no too many people saw eye to eye with the coach. From what I know it was the right was to go . From what I have hear the coach was VERY oldschool and they game has changed a hell of a lot since he last coached. Both sides agreed this was the best way to go, once again from what I know

OldMelburnian28 said:
Wan*kers? maybe from your perspective, but just because you cant get a game with your local ammo's club, ie rupo, dont generalize the entire top half of the VAFA.

p.s. if you think d1 is average to crap footy, what do you call that game you play on saturday's in the RDFL.

Mate I retired from footy 3 years ago and I am happy to tell you when I did play I was a battler at best I struggled to keep my spot in the ones in d3-d4 , thats how crap I was . I said d4-d1 is average to crap . D4 being crap and d1 being average and the other 2 somewhere in between. I am fully aware that the standard of footy I played was crap and that I was crap but I loved every minute of it . I reckon I enjoyed my footy alot more than many people who played a higher standard. As I have said before this whole my league is better than your league argument that people like yourself go on with is a joke. Unless you play AFL and maybe Vfl, sanfl etc footy is all about enjoying the game , having a beer with you mates after the game etc etc. One thing I know about some of the Old school ammos teams is that when the game is over they have a shower, get back into their suits and go and work the stock market for a few hours before going to some boring black tie dinner party where they drink crap tasting expensive port, compare bank balances and smoke cigars. Not my idea of fun

OldMelburnian28 said:

If you wanna put down the league we may play in, come out of retirement and see how you go before actually knocking the league itself, then choose to knock it, but dont insult the league without actually playing in it.

Woodend/Hesket rolled by kangaroos (i'm sure there will be plenty of ammos tools bitching this week)

Riddell, minus Lee James, rolled Rockbank by 12 (shows how much they need him)

Macedon struggled to match Diggers Rest, losing by a big margin (Big tussle between Tigers and Cats for 8th spot)

Kilmore too good for Melton Central, putting them back in the finals mix. (Matt robertson 4 goals BOG)

Macedon were pretty good against Diggers I thought.Wouldn't go away for most of the day and tackled in swarms.On the right track with there kids playing.

It has been said that gonzo brought these players to the club, you just have to look at the names to know that most of them have been there before and have returned to play with their mates after a dismal year last year other players came for their mates and so on, all clubs recruit this way it is the best way to get quality without paying a fortune.
I heard it from a very reliable source that woodend did not sack the coach, he resigned, who wouldn't after being barreled and told that everybody hates your guts why would he want to stay there.

But those in the world of Big Footy that dont rate the roos you still have no reason to rate them, they beat romsey by 21 points but romsey only turned up to train.Then they come out and beat the much improved woodend by 15 points BUT this would have only have been because of the fiasco with gonzo.
Next week they play Riddell now if they win next week we still cant rate them because James wont have played and they struggled without their main man. If they lose it is because everybody knows that they are an average side riddled with injury ( 25 out i believe) that were just lucky the last 2 weeks.
I'm not sure, you guys be the judicery. I cant wait for round 8 it will be a cracker of a game and once again a massive test for the roos.You decide.

blues12 said:
But those in the world of Big Footy that dont rate the roos you still have no reason to rate them, they beat romsey by 21 points but romsey only turned up to train.Then they come out and beat the much improved woodend by 15 points BUT this would have only have been because of the fiasco with gonzo.
Next week they play Riddell now if they win next week we still cant rate them because James wont have played and they struggled without their main man. If they lose it is because everybody knows that they are an average side riddled with injury ( 25 out i believe) that were just lucky the last 2 weeks.
I'm not sure, you guys be the judicery. I cant wait for round 8 it will be a cracker of a game and once again a massive test for the roos.You decide.
They will be judged by there win-loss ratio like every other side in the rdfl.At the moment it says they are about average.

Every side has players out.

Can anyone fill me in on how sunbury are travelling this year? I hear they picked up a new young ruckman this year... S. Woolcock? does anyone know if he's been getting a kick or not?

BODZY#32 said:
Can anyone fill me in on how sunbury are travelling this year? I hear they picked up a new young ruckman this year... S. Woolcock? does anyone know if he's been getting a kick or not?

Saw him play against Kilmore Bodzy, seemed to be on a wing for a bit against a pretty handy player in Barton but did a few nice things and looks capable enough as a senior player

Doona2 said:
Saw him play against Kilmore Bodzy, seemed to be on a wing for a bit against a pretty handy player in Barton but did a few nice things and looks capable enough as a senior player

Must of caught him on a pretty quiet week doona, saw him saturday and he played mainly on the ruck, he was used sparingly during the first half, i was told he hadnt trained all week because of a niggle, wen on showed great signs and the second quarter come back was mostly his doing out of the centre giving the kanga onballers first option out of the middle, wen the game was in the balance in the last him along with watson, baddely and gilmore really took the game up a level and especially wen the mcinearny brothers went to the bench late in the game

Hawker28 said:
I won a flag in Rupo's under 19's last flag and the grade of football rupo play on saturdays is nothin compared to any game between top 6 sides in rdfl comp. We play football the old fashioned way physical, contested football unlike the brand you play! End of discussion Old Melburnian, back to your Vafa thread!

P.S What brings you to our thread anyway? Interested with what going on! Cant be that bad of footy then can it?

who are you?, obviously u can't be that good, after rupos convincing win against old carey in a top of the table clash they must be really missing your input and presence around the place. Enjoy yourself at a second rate club in a second rate league, and let the woodsmen enjoy what seems to be a solid start to the season.