RDFL Thread

VT#23 said:
Kangaroos over Riddell just, other scores/winners??

diggers rest 26.21.177 vs rockbank8.3

woodend hesket 10.10.70 vs romsey 10.6
lancefield 5.18.48 vs kilmore 20.15.
melton 13.12.90 vs macedon 6.17
riddell 12.14.86 vs sunbury kangs 14.7.91

if ((!document.images && navigator.userAgent.indexOf('Mozilla/2.') >= 0)|| navigator.userAgent.indexOf("WebTV") >= 0) {document.write('<a href="http://ad.au.doubleclick.net/jump/sportingpulse/SPULSE_3351;sz=468x60;ord=123456789?"

thepurplepassion said:
All of those Kangaroos fans who think that they are a show against Riddell are kidding themselves. While Sunbury have shown plenty in the past fortnight, they have played uninspired opposition and will get a wake up call this Saturday. No offence to Sunbury Kangaroos supporters, I admire the way the club is going. But they are long way off premiership material at the moment.

I will admit I was wrong. Full marks to Sunbury. Although Riddell minus Lee James is about a 6 goal + difference, it must have been a great game by Sunbury. Let's hope they can keep up their progress and make a serious contention to join Riddell, Romsey, Woodend-Hesket and Diggers Rest for a grand final berth.

Also can anyone shed some light on the Woodend-Hesket v Romsey match? I heard the Hawks were up by 33 points at half time and Romsey came home with a wet sail. Someone had a shot after the siren to win the game for the Redbacks but a goal umpire made a mistake and awarded the kick a point rather than a behind? Thats what I heard. I was unable to play due to a hamstring injury.

Diggers flogged Rockbank with the Fox Footy crew filming the umpires.Chris Payne kicked 10 for Diggers.

thepurplepassion said:
I will admit I was wrong. Full marks to Sunbury. Although Riddell minus Lee James is about a 6 goal + difference, it must have been a great game by Sunbury. Let's hope they can keep up their progress and make a serious contention to join Riddell, Romsey, Woodend-Hesket and Diggers Rest for a grand final berth.

Also can anyone shed some light on the Woodend-Hesket v Romsey match? I heard the Hawks were up by 33 points at half time and Romsey came home with a wet sail. Someone had a shot after the siren to win the game for the Redbacks but a goal umpire made a mistake and awarded the kick a point rather than a behind? Thats what I heard. I was unable to play due to a hamstring injury.

Dont think the Kangaroos played that well on the weekend against Riddell, but were still able to win the game, you are right though, James would have made a difference, but they have been winning games without him... You can only beat the opposition on the field against you and the Kangaroos did that... But, it was a great win for the Roos...

thepurplepassion said:

Had a great possy when the ball sailed through for a behind. Faded late. Romsey players were celebrating too early and half of the players didn't see end result of kick. If it was a goal i'd be happy to say it was, we stole the game and take the four points (this however was not the case). Romsey were terrific in the last quarter (we know how good a running side they are when they get on top). In all fairness, the Hawks dominated the game for three quarters and had a couple of easy shots in the last quarter that they missed, that would of sealed the game without the controversy. I'd say even the Romsey boys would agree that Hawks were the better team on the day (overall), but as for the controversial last score-It was definitely a point (just) gutsy but correct decision by goal umpire. I'd hate to have a week of Romsey boys saying it was a goal and Woodened boys saying it was a point-The game has been decided and it was a fantastic game and time to move onto the next round!

What is going on with Romsey?? They have a great list and yet have not done justice to themselves yet... They are struggling, should have easily accounted for Woodend...

The Sunbury Kangaroos are crap, they cant go anywhere, James House, Bobby Johnson and James McGrath suck..

Sorry, its been a bit empty of Kangaroos baggers since Rupo were flogged by the bottom side on Saturday, just thought i'd help em out a bit...:thumbsu:

Thats_Special said:
The Sunbury Kangaroos are crap, they cant go anywhere, James House, Bobby Johnson and James McGrath suck..

Sorry, its been a bit empty of Kangaroos baggers since Rupo were flogged by the bottom side on Saturday, just thought i'd help em out a bit...:thumbsu:

Haha, good one Thats_Special.

Will Rupo supporters ever get over the fact that they play in fourth division of the VAFL?

They can bag the quality of the RDFL all they like but they need to understand that most clubs come from towns with less than 4000 people.

Rockbank only have a caravan park, Macedon is tiny, Diggers Rest isn't anything to write home about, Lancefield is an old fashioned country town and Woodend is just a place tourists go. Romsey and Riddell are growing rapidly and Kilmore will again grow, but in essence the league is very much a country football league.

thepurplepassion said:
Haha, good one Thats_Special.

Will Rupo supporters ever get over the fact that they play in fourth division of the VAFL?

They can bag the quality of the RDFL all they like but they need to understand that most clubs come from towns with less than 4000 people.

Rockbank only have a caravan park, Macedon is tiny, Diggers Rest isn't anything to write home about, Lancefield is an old fashioned country town and Woodend is just a place tourists go. Romsey and Riddell are growing rapidly and Kilmore will again grow, but in essence the league is very much a country football league.

And the fact that the top players in our comp would easily be top players in Fourth Div VAFL...

Haha.... crisis meeting!!!! It seems to have worked wonder's, crisis meetings are not required when you loose to good side's but they are required when its The bottom side!!!! Those upandcomers are upandstayer's!!!!

Crisis meeting...... haha that was a good one!!!!:thumbsu:

thats special and trueblueroo ever heard of the saying

"humble in victory and gracious in defeat"

i thought not, don't get to carried away down there at the kangas, word out of the riddel camp is that they were missing a handful of good players and a couple of others were carrying niggles. One hot day doesn't make a summer and a couple of wins in may doesn't win you a premiership or help to make a successful season.

Rupo were obviously complacent in the game against the bottom side and paid the ultimate price, perhaps riddel and romsey have been the same.

Can someone from the kangas elighten us the reasons behind James Houses sudden rise in ability, couldn't buy game time in the twos let alone even be in contention in the ones at rupo but all of a sudden is a star down at the kangas, is it due to the difference in standards or other reasons. Rumour has it that he is on 70-100 dollars a game can anyone confirm

footy_nerd said:
i thought not, don't get to carried away down there at the kangas, word out of the riddel camp is that they were missing a handful of good players and a couple of others were carrying niggles. One hot day doesn't make a summer and a couple of wins in may doesn't win you a premiership or help to make a successful season.
Injuries are no excuse.The roos deserve all the praise they get for beating last years premiers.The roos no doubt had there fair share of players out as well.You would hope the Riddel players are not using this as an excuse because every club has alot of players out.I know a couple of clubs are hanging out for the week off next week.

Does Romsey play Riddel this week? If Romsey win then Diggers will probably go two games clear on top.Big game for Romsey I think.At the moment the only real quality side they have beaten was Diggers Rest very early in the season at home. Roos should be in the 5 after this week.

footy_nerd said:
thats special and trueblueroo ever heard of the saying

"humble in victory and gracious in defeat"

Rupo were obviously complacent in the game against the bottom side and paid the ultimate price, perhaps riddel and romsey have been the same.

Can someone from the kangas elighten us the reasons behind James Houses sudden rise in ability, couldn't buy game time in the twos let alone even be in contention in the ones at rupo but all of a sudden is a star down at the kangas, is it due to the difference in standards or other reasons. Rumour has it that he is on 70-100 dollars a game can anyone confirm

Its a simple answer football nerd! People at the Kangaroos don't pay out on each and are extremely close as a team than what most think! People get given oppurtunities and some don't let it slip! He is an example, bit of confidence about the kid and you have a performer! Just 1 of 22 performers on a day! The answer to your money situation will remain unanswerable, becuase like most clubs things are kept quiet at the Kangaroos as well! Just not under the table though!

Standards well..... we have all had this arguement, so not going to touch on it to much but preseason comp would resolve this!

Yeah he actually got blokes round him who respect each other and aren't a bunch of tools. I wasn't on the Kangaroos band wagon before Riddell but i tell ya what, they would be almost odds on for finals berth and give it a real crack! Some would ask the same about Kev McEwan and couple boys down at Rupo gettin ones game's, dont hear much of them but when given opp they keep it. I would like to hear more form teams that have been beaten by Roos and hear there views, rather than a fools who aren't even in our league, not Vafa people. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=226382&page=30 click this to return to your OWN thread!

Big round of footy coming up, seems as though my thoughts on diggers taking out the rdfl flag this year were more valid and credible than some of the posts on here.

Hawker28 said:
Yeah he actually got blokes round him who respect each other and aren't a bunch of tools. I wasn't on the Kangaroos band wagon before Riddell but i tell ya what, they would be almost odds on for finals berth and give it a real crack! Some would ask the same about Kev McEwan and couple boys down at Rupo gettin ones game's, dont hear much of them but when given opp they keep it. I would like to hear more form teams that have been beaten by Roos and hear there views, rather than a fools who aren't even in our league, not Vafa people. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=226382&page=30 click this to return to your OWN thread!

What are you on about, buddy you obvisously have something against McEwan because he is a fine senior player who has desrved his spot for being consistent, trying to ompare him with House isnt fair on McEwan. House was to inconsistent while McEwan a far better footballer and plays good footy week in week out has a spot in the ones, pull your head in Hawker.

Can't say i've heard of that particular player, but everyone is entitiled to their own opinion, what other players in your opinion aren't deserving of ones games down at rupo.

I never said the ex rupo blokes now playing at the kanags were s h i t, what i said was that House and Mcgrath showed nothing at rupertswood but all of a sudden are stars down at the kangas, does it show the difference between the amateurs and the riddel district league. Going by this rupo are obviously playing in a far better comp which prevents liabilites like House playing for them.

footy_nerd said:
Can't say i've heard of that particular player, but everyone is entitiled to their own opinion, what other players in your opinion aren't deserving of ones games down at rupo.

I never said the ex rupo blokes now playing at the kanags were s h i t, what i said was that House and Mcgrath showed nothing at rupertswood but all of a sudden are stars down at the kangas, does it show the difference between the amateurs and the riddel district league. Going by this rupo are obviously playing in a far better comp which prevents liabilites like House playing for them.

Where has all this 'stars' talk came from, house and mcgrath have been steady contributers to both the 1's and 2's at the roos, both played there part in the team structure, but them as good as ne 1 know that they arent 'stars' at the club. i believe thats one of the reasons the roos are traveling so good, with the exception of mark mcinerny the team is very even across the field and the roos know that..

VT#23 said:
Where has all this 'stars' talk came from, house and mcgrath have been steady contributers to both the 1's and 2's at the roos, both played there part in the team structure, but them as good as ne 1 know that they arent 'stars' at the club. i believe thats one of the reasons the roos are traveling so good, with the exception of mark mcinerny the team is very even across the field and the roos know that..

Go the towners old mate beat Yea at Yea by 40pts, things get rough down there bud ya can always come back, were 6 wins 3 losses.... Keep up the good work at the kangas though bud! JimBob#32!

footy_nerd said:

i know McGrath was never a star and never will be a star. what i can tell you is that he goes in hard for the ball and does a lot of one percenters. putting the sheppard on or the smother, sticking up for his team mates.
if i am correct though didnt he get best on ground in the losing grand final for the two's. and was a major player in the grand final win for the twos the following year?
house is also the same, he does the job he is instructed to do. everyone plays better when they are put in the right position. he is a quality player with great skill.

i can tell you now the difference between amatuers and the riddell league is not that much difference in terms of the skill. amatuers is alot quicker but harder no. the RDFL is alot harder than amatuers. you guys would get hit and go sooking to your mums.

the best way to solve this is to have a practice match next year to shut everyone up.
if you dont want a practice match then face the fact you are scared of the kangaroos actually beaten the woods.

so over all this rupo crap - its pretty clear that all you rupo losers cant seem to handle another sunbury team sitting in a nice position on the ladder - fact is the kangas deserve it and have proven that beating the big sides is no fluke as they have now knocked a couple over - maybe guys like housey are better in the RDFL cos they like playing in a harder league than all you boys who prance around in amateurs - we at kilmore played an amateurs side in Monash in a prac match this year and they are soft as butter....need i say more

goblues09 said:
so over all this rupo crap - its pretty clear that all you rupo losers cant seem to handle another sunbury team sitting in a nice position on the ladder - fact is the kangas deserve it and have proven that beating the big sides is no fluke as they have now knocked a couple over - maybe guys like housey are better in the RDFL cos they like playing in a harder league than all you boys who prance around in amateurs - we at kilmore played an amateurs side in Monash in a prac match this year and they are soft as butter....need i say more
well said:thumbsu:

goblues09 said:

Well buddy unless you can say you have worn the boots in any standard of ammos mate you cannot come up with comments like that, no player prances around. Yeah sitting in a great position hopefully you can stay there lets see how long it last when you play full strength riddel and romsey come finals. It is only june dont get ahead of yourself. Funny how players struggle to get close to a game in the ones at a d2 ammos side but then are walk up starters in RDFl....:eek: They were dud footballers who needed to go to a dud club to get a game. simple as that