RDFL Thread

gotnoskills said:
does anyone know if Yarwood and Calleya are still playng at Kangas?

how does Melton Centrals look this year??

Yarwood is playing, Calleya may not be at the moment, looking at taking a year off to rest.... Hopefully he does play though.

old saint said:
i played junior footy with scott in sunbury & also went to primary school with him at kismet park, were good mates. havent seen him for about 12 years. where is he now ?
Lives in Sunbury and now has 3 kids. 2 boys and a girl

gotnoskills said:
Hey Slugga is Timmy Mac and Simon maylor still at riddell?

you asked about barnard and boydy in the EDFL forum. what happenned was boydy was walking into the linc with John Barnes and his brother and barnard jumped out of a car and start to "Play fight with barnsey. boydy the dopey barstard though it was for real and smacked barnard who then pressed charges. It's still in the courts at the moment. boydy is 6'8" and dumb as a box of hammers!!

Yep both are training but to look at T Mac u wouldnt know, is about 100kg. Simon won't be playin all season, he is goin to WA 2 work with his dad.

SLUGGA1 said:
Yep both are training but to look at T Mac u wouldnt know, is about 100kg. Simon won't be playin all season, he is goin to WA 2 work with his dad.

I heard that he had put on a few kg's, that's why i was asking if he was still playing footy or not.

SLUGGA1 said:
Thats right hawkeye i do play and i won the bowen and kicked 125 goals and 32 points..... Guess who sweetie?

If this is the real Lee James then a i have a couple of questions for you. First of all i agree with one of the comments that you are probably one of the most valuable players in this league, but with a lack of quality full backs (no disrepect to the likes of Mick McCarthy as i rate him highly ) and a very good midfield life is made pretty easy for you at times. This being the case (being one of the most valuable players in the league) I'd like to ask why you didn't take up the offer to truly test yourself in the EDFL this year coming off year where you've won the Bowen Medal. Was there a concern that you were unable to stamp your authority at Sunbury in a lesser league. Was it purely money or at the end of the day were you simply happy to be a big fish in a small pond. Before Toad nuts comes out with a captain obvious call like 'WHAT HAVE YOU EVER DONE IN FOOTY" i'd like to say Lee James is a better player than i ever was (retired a few years ago). And i would like Lee (if it is really you) to honestly answer these questions.
I'd also like to add knowing Darren Rowsell that he would be delighted to know that one of his leaders is talking up the chances of team this year while hanging ******** on a team the'yre set to play in round one. In the words of the one and only Lee' My ponds getting smaller by the minute' James Bring on round one!!!!

woody07 said:
If this is the real Lee James then a i have a couple of questions for you. First of all i agree with one of the comments that you are probably one of the most valuable players in this league, but with a lack of quality full backs (no disrepect to the likes of Mick McCarthy as i rate him highly ) and a very good midfield life is made pretty easy for you at times. This being the case (being one of the most valuable players in the league) I'd like to ask why you didn't take up the offer to truly test yourself in the EDFL this year coming off year where you've one the Bowen Medal. Was there a concern that you were unable to stamp your authority at Sunbury in a lesser league. Was it purely money or at the end of the day were you simply happy to be a big fish in a small pond. Before Toad nuts comes out with a captain obvious call like 'WHAT HAVE YOU EVER DONE IN FOOTY" i'd like to say Lee James is a better player than i ever was (retired a few years ago). And i would like Lee (if it is really you) to honestly answer these questions.
I'd also like to add knowing Darren Rowsell that he would be delighted to know that one of his leaders is talking up the chances of team this year while hanging ******** on a team the'yre set to play in round one. In the words of the one and only Lee' My ponds getting smaller by the minute' James Bring on round one!!!!

Little Wood, I wasn't going to say a thing and I think your questions are good. I think they way you have asked them and so forth is very well done, I wasn't going to bite back, because your not slanging anyone and they are serious questions:thumbsu:

SLUGGA1 said:
I have had some good battles with Mick Mcarthy from Romesy but i think he had a bad day GF day.
I think the Kangaroos will finish in the top 4 they were lacking up forward and in a few other areas but this year they have recruited those players they should go alright.

Slugga....Chris Galea used to always trouble you at Sunbury. Wouldn't you count him as one of your toughest?? :D

hey went down to kangas training to night and called back home that kid who wore the saints jumper is from violet town scott wilcock, he looked bit rusty tonight but i watchd him in the night series and he looks to be a star recruit for the roos, can i ask y he's come down to the rdfl to play footy? he would nearly be a starter in a gvfl seniors side, i know that shepp bears talked to him early in the year and he did make the interleague team last year if im correct?... sounds like a strange step to take? does any one no the reason? could be my early tip for rdfl b and f!

Zippa said:
hey went down to kangas training to night and called back home that kid who wore the saints jumper is from violet town scott wilcock, he looked bit rusty tonight but i watchd him in the night series and he looks to be a star recruit for the roos, can i ask y he's come down to the rdfl to play footy? he would nearly be a starter in a gvfl seniors side, i know that shepp bears talked to him early in the year and he did make the interleague team last year if im correct?... sounds like a strange step to take? does any one no the reason? could be my early tip for rdfl b and f!

If he's the kide Im thinking of he's fairly tall but light on in the frame? Big call re: GVFL seniors but from memory he was playing seniors at 17 I think and going alright.

I maybe thinking of someone else though . . .

woody07 said:
If this is the real Lee James then a i have a couple of questions for you. First of all i agree with one of the comments that you are probably one of the most valuable players in this league, but with a lack of quality full backs (no disrepect to the likes of Mick McCarthy as i rate him highly ) and a very good midfield life is made pretty easy for you at times. This being the case (being one of the most valuable players in the league) I'd like to ask why you didn't take up the offer to truly test yourself in the EDFL this year coming off year where you've won the Bowen Medal. Was there a concern that you were unable to stamp your authority at Sunbury in a lesser league. Was it purely money or at the end of the day were you simply happy to be a big fish in a small pond. Before Toad nuts comes out with a captain obvious call like 'WHAT HAVE YOU EVER DONE IN FOOTY" i'd like to say Lee James is a better player than i ever was (retired a few years ago). And i would like Lee (if it is really you) to honestly answer these questions.

I love the Riddell FC, love the supporters and love the players why would i leave something like that just to prove to blokes that i can play in the EDFL. The Riddell FC has been very good to me so in turn i repay them with my loyalty. Blokes like you are unreal if i had of gone you would be saying he's chasing the $, i stay and you come up with big fish in little pond crap. I work my ass off on the ground and so does the rest of our team so don't think we get it that easy and for you to say that there are no good FB's is a slap in the face to them all. As for stamping my authority at sunbury as you put it, i virtually missed the whole of season 02 with a groin operation and in 03 done my hamstring and my shoulder and was never 100% fit. These last 2 yrs have been my first injury free season's since i started playing senior footy so i have been 100% that's why i have done ok. I think the RDFL is getting better each year and hopefully in the near future it can return to being the power house league it was in the early 90's and i still want to be playing in it when it does.

SLUGGA1 said:
I love the Riddell FC, love the supporters and love the players why would i leave something like that just to prove to blokes that i can play in the EDFL. The Riddell FC has been very good to me so in turn i repay them with my loyalty. Blokes like you are unreal if i had of gone you would be saying he's chasing the $, i stay and you come up with big fish in little pond crap. I work my ass off on the ground and so does the rest of our team so don't think we get it that easy and for you to say that there are no good FB's is a slap in the face to them all. As for stamping my authority at sunbury as you put it, i virtually missed the whole of season 02 with a groin operation and in 03 done my hamstring and my shoulder and was never 100% fit. These last 2 yrs have been my first injury free season's since i started playing senior footy so i have been 100% that's why i have done ok. I think the RDFL is getting better each year and hopefully in the near future it can return to being the power house league it was in the early 90's and i still want to be playing in it when it does.

Well said:thumbsu:

SLUGGA1 said:

You might want to read my comment a little closer next time Jamesy. I don’t recall writing there aren't any good footballers in this league but rather a shortage of quality full backs. I think you agreed with me on this point a few comments ago (on this thread) when asked the question, Who do you find it hard to play on? You only mentioned ONE fullback. Let me make it clear that I’m a big fan of this league!! (and have contributed more to this league than you have) Your overwhelming loyalty to the fans, the league and your club brings a tear to my eye (and Gisborne and Sunbury supporters for that matter) and with all this undying loyalty I have a thought-Why don’t you help your club long term by playing the next couple of years half pay or god forbid no payment at all (there are quality players in this league that still do -this believe it or not). After all it is your club that historically has paid too much money and either folded (happened twice by memory in recent history) or has the mother of all troughs. I'm suggesting this because i was touched by your comment that you want to continue playing in this league long term. You can only do this if your club is around. Oh..... unless another club pays you money for all your loyal services. The one thing i do agree with you is that the Riddell league is on the improve and hope one day it gets to the stage where we don’t have Bendigo supporters and players running down our league constantly!! After all there would be a host of players that could play Bendigo football (a league that is quickly losing its reputation as a country league powerhouse) at this point in time.

on a bright note for the RDFL kilmore had a very good showing yesterday n had a convincing win over monash uni... there were many passages of fluent football. also some very nice goals and hard footy... best players were duff,rowe,strayney (signed) goudge young fellas collis hede n saunders all showed plenty.... the signs are good for kilmore

vantheman32 said:
on a bright note for the RDFL kilmore had a very good showing yesterday n had a convincing win over monash uni... there were many passages of fluent football. also some very nice goals and hard footy... best players were duff,rowe,strayney (signed) goudge young fellas collis hede n saunders all showed plenty.... the signs are good for kilmore
i dunno about that monash uni seemed underdone and all passages i watched from hede were poorley executed and rushed and lacked composure and any talent, well see how kilmore go against an assumption team this sunday before we make any rash statements hey travy

vantheman32 said:

Did ya's have enough to field two sides yesty van? Did Cocka Bensted play, heard on the grapevine he has been a participant at times during the pre-season.

Also I reckon the annual ACK clash just might be a chance for the locals to pinch one back, not sure how strong the college lads will be in '06.

future29 said:
i dunno about that monash uni seemed underdone and all passages i watched from hede were poorley executed and rushed and lacked composure and any talent, well see how kilmore go against an assumption team this sunday before we make any rash statements hey travy

ohh maddison if only you could understand clean english, there was nothing mentioned in my post about assumption clearly just talking about kilmore and the fact is they did look good.... n of all the passages u saw of me i will just keep my mouth shut because i know ur only mucking around so i wont start on you.

n 2 Doona yeh we had enough for 2 sides n no cocka benstead didnt don the boots for the 2nds but all in all it was a very good hit out for the kilmore boys n we will just ignore what my good friend maddison has 2 say as he is just trying to pull the p i s s out of me

i found on the rdfl website that it seems as if Col Gadsen has taken BJ Nettlbeck with him to parkside. Pretty big loss for Riddel as that is where i seen the natural improvement coming in there side.

SLUGGA1 said:

great comeback slugga.
hope you stick it up this clown by kicking baggs again this year,except of course when you play diggers that is.

Toadfooty said:
Your a Diggers man, how good is Sims?

great leader.

i am glad to see the back of woosha walsh aswell
always talked about getting in an getting the ball ,but never lead by example.
always hanging out getting the easy kick.
also had his favorites and no matter how crap they were(i.e no.29) always got plenty of game time.

rioli brownlow said:
great leader.

i am glad to see the back of woosha walsh aswell
always talked about getting in an getting the ball ,but never lead by example.
always hanging out getting the easy kick.
also had his favorites and no matter how crap they were(i.e no.29) always got plenty of game time.

Thanks mate I know what your saying. It's great to have finally found someone online with good common sense on the Ridell league. You and Slugga:thumbsu:

Toadfooty said:
Thanks mate I know what your saying. It's great to have finally found someone online with good common sense on the Ridell league. You and Slugga:thumbsu:

no worries.
yes i am a diggers fan (mainly due to a family connection)
but i just like seeing the better players in full flight.

rioli brownlow said:
no worries.
yes i am a diggers fan (mainly due to a family connection)
but i just like seeing the better players in full flight.

Fair enough mate! Adam Johnstone (Woodend) how good? And who are the star Midfielders?

Toadfooty said:
Fair enough mate! Adam Johnstone (Woodend) how good? And who are the star Midfielders?

must admit there that i haven't seen to many woodend games to comment on him,

sims,heritage,(diggers)
maclellan for romsey will be one of the good ones(they still may struggle to cover the losses of morgan,edwardsand connellan though)
some of the kangaroos younger bridage will improve throughout the year
while riddells experienced players will get them through to another finals campagian.