read anything worthwhile recently?

• Thread starter Thread starter aggels

Originally posted by The Hitman

Have a look at borrowing if not buying both. And Emily, we did Macbeth last year - I didn't even read the text and passed. ;) You don't wanna change schools because of texts. :p

The Hitman

hehhha... reminds me of my HSC...
we did merchant of venice, hamlet, king lear...
gullivers travels... away... some coleridge & t.s elliot... cant remember the others..

i didnt even manage to finish one book! hahah..
thank god for those lil summary books.. hahaha... brodies notes ~~

Originally posted by aggels

A prayer for owen meany - John Irving

Legend - one of the best I've ever read!

The world according to garp - John Irving

CRAP!

Just starting on Angela's Ashes.

Excellent book!

You MUST read "True History of the Kelly Gang"! I can see how it won the Booker prize!!

Cheers

Originally posted by aggels

How to be good - Nick Hornby

I wasn't too impressed by that book. Hornby usually has some good observations, and in books like Fever Pitch and High Fidelity, there was warmth and humour. How To Be Good lacked warmth and humour.

Anyway, the last few books I've read are "Model Behaviour" and "How It Ended", both by Jay McInerney and I'm currently reading "Delta Of Venus" by Anais Nin.

Originally posted by Shinboners

I wasn't too impressed by that book. Hornby usually has some good observations, and in books like Fever Pitch and High Fidelity, there was warmth and humour. How To Be Good lacked warmth and humour.

I know what you're saying, How to be good wasn't my favourite either, but I can't say I hated it either. Some of the quirky humour grabbed me, although it was nowhere near as good as About a Boy or High Fidelity...

And Rickster, I enjoyed Garp, not to begin with, but something about Irving's style grabs me - the quirkiness (word of the day I reckon), it's funny and depressing and upbeat all at the same time. But I agree, it was nothing compared to Owen Meany which was really something of a masterpiece.

I've got three books on the go at the moment! So I rotate depending on my mood...

First one is Girls Night In (The first book) which was recommended to me by a friend and ladies it is excellent - I recommend every girl on the board reads it.

Second one is the Bumper Book of the World's Best Emails...or something to that tune. It has every forward in there that I have/or will ever receive so I can delete them all from my inbox.

Third one is Trevor Marmalade's book of footy show jokes which was a Chrissy pressie from my bro.

Next on my list of "To Read" is Memoirs of a Geisha and Brave New World and 1984 (which I -still- haven't read despite being told to read them 5 years ago when I was in Year 11) :D

Try these Authours and Suggestions:

Bryce Courtney: The Power of One, Tandia, The Potato Factory, Tommo and Hawk, Solomons Song and Jessica. All very good.

Wilbur Smith: River God, The Courtenay's, The Courtenay's of Africa. Any books by him are usually good.

Ken Follet: Pillars of the Earth. Brilliant.

**** Francis. To the Hilt. I have read a lot of his books. Usually very good.

Enjoy

Yep I'm reading a lot recently which is really strange of me. Anyway, Skipping Christmas is a great book.
I'm halfway through Paul Salmon's autobiography, pretty interesting.
Also reading Natalie Cook's and Ric Charlesworth's books.

Originally posted by Dan26
I'm currently re-reading The Lord of the Rings. There is a lot of detail you miss the first time.
Did the same thing when I first read it.

Then went back and re-read all the books.

Currently reading the current Star Wars set hust released.

Then onto the latest Grishnam novel and then onto a few other books in the hopper.