• Thread starter Thread starter Papa G

Port Adelaide
Just recieved a fine for $512. Wow.

Travelling along a major road last Monday evening when I am heading towards an intersection that I know well and also know there is a red light camera at. I'm at the the second arrow along the road and the light changes to orange. The natural reaction is either to slam on the breaks or accelarate through the intersection because you know there is a speed camera there - I did the latter.

Result I get a speeding fine for doing 71 km's per hour plus I also got booked by the red light camera. Now not knowing that there was a speed camera in there also, I can accept that I was probably speeding, but being aware that there was a red light camera there I can not accept that I was also going through a red light - I know everyone probably says it, but the light was orange when I went through.

I just think you should be done for one or the other and it screams of ridiculous revenue raising. I mean seriously $512 for going 71km's in a 60 zone and travelling through an orange light seems freaking excessive. I have the ability to pay for it but I'd imagine this kind of a fine for something so relatively minor would be a major blow for a lot of people. I'm probably going to be accussed of having a whinge and the law's the law, but Jesus, does the punishment fit the crime?

Intersections here should be like the US.

The pedestrian crossings indicate how long is left in seconds before the light will turn red.

If you travel on the road regularly you should have a pretty good idea when a light is likely to turn red and adjust your speed accordingly if you think you will need to stop. The amount of the fines is a joke though.

It is almost a natural reaction to increase your speed through an orange light, especially if you know there is a red light camera there and it just feels that these ****ers are out to roger you any way they can. As I said I accept that I was probably speeding through the intersection, but I can not accept the light was also red. There was car on my right and just ahead doing the same speed as I was so I'm considering whether that set off the double fine action. Has anyone had any experience in challenging these type of things?

Just recieved a fine for $512. Wow.

Travelling along a major road last Monday evening when I am heading towards an intersection that I know well and also know there is a red light camera at. I'm at the the second arrow along the road and the light changes to orange. The natural reaction is either to slam on the breaks or accelarate through the intersection because you know there is a speed camera there - I did the latter.

Result I get a speeding fine for doing 71 km's per hour plus I also got booked by the red light camera. Now not knowing that there was a speed camera in there also, I can accept that I was probably speeding, but being aware that there was a red light camera there I can not accept that I was also going through a red light - I know everyone probably says it, but the light was orange when I went through.

I just think you should be done for one or the other and it screams of ridiculous revenue raising. I mean seriously $512 for going 71km's in a 60 zone and travelling through an orange light seems freaking excessive. I have the ability to pay for it but I'd imagine this kind of a fine for something so relatively minor would be a major blow for a lot of people. I'm probably going to be accussed of having a whinge and the law's the law, but Jesus, does the punishment fit the crime?

A Magi would probably give you less than that for armed robbery. I agree, the punishment doesn't befit the crime. The government will never admit to it being a revenue raiser but it is and it is one they can't afford to slash because they can't manage money properly anyway.

It is almost a natural reaction to increase your speed through an orange light, especially if you know there is a red light camera there and it just feels that these ****ers are out to roger you any way they can. As I said I accept that I was probably speeding through the intersection, but I can not accept the light was also red. There was car on my right and just ahead doing the same speed as I was so I'm considering whether that set off the double fine action. Has anyone had any experience in challenging these type of things?

Ask for the photo but I reckon you'll be pushing sh*t uphill. There are probably advocates around who might help you for nothing but unless you have money to waste on lawyers then you probably need to cop it. I had the saem thing happen to me this morning, turning at an arrow that was orange and as I straightened into the new road I noticed a flash of light so I'll probably be copping it in the backside from John Brumby and Sgt Ritchie soon as well. :thumbsd:

If you were on the first arrow when the light changed to orange and you were traveling 60km/h, then you shouldn't have gone through a red light.

Especially considering you were doing 71km/h, then I find it hard to see how its possible for you to get done for both infringements.

If you were on the first arrow when the light changed to orange and you were traveling 60km/h, then you shouldn't have gone through a red light.

Especially considering you were doing 71km/h, then I find it hard to see how its possible for you to get done for both infringements.

That's what I reckon - nay know. The light was not red as I was passing through. It was the South Road/ Richmond Road intersection. I was driving along South Road on the weekend and I noticed these cameras at a lot of these intersections and I don't think they are signposted either - Didn't they used to be signposted? Wasn't that the law, because now it would seem that they are not.

Sorry to hear mate. That seems ridiculous. They have go drivers by the balls there. Speed to make sure u don't get red lighted and you get fined for speeding.

Is it legal?

What do you mean by first and second arrow?

I have never heard these terms before.

On the road - there are 3 arrows on the road as you hit an intersection - general rule of thumb is if you are at 1st one when you the light turns orange you should definately stop, second one is 50/50, third and you have no problems getting through. That's the point though, I was at the 2nd when the lights turned orange, sped up and still got pinged for the red light. I can't see how this is possible. I accept the speeding fine, but if I sped up how could I be caught for both infringements.

What I want to know is do I get photographed twice or just once?

^I have been driving for the majority of this decade, and never knew that.

How the **** could I not know this rule of thumb.

Abrupt onset of yellow lights has shat me off in the past, because it puts you into a dilemma where you have to make a split-second decision.

I will be looking out at these arrows more carefully from now on.

edit: I don't see the harm in following up the matter with the appropriate people if you go about it the right away, instead of a self-righteous prick.

I'm convinced red light cameras are bullcrap.

I believed they worked until a mate decided to prove me wrong by, at 3am, tuning against a red arrow (no-one coming not dangerous) just to make his point.

The speeding fines are rubish in Victoria.

I understand getting fined for doing 70 in a 50 75 in a 60 etc etc etc but Getting done for 65 in a 60 (both my fines have come this way) is just bullcrap.

Revenue raising rubbish.

the worst is getting done at 114 in a 110 zone. (3.6% over the speed limit)

^Whilst I agree that some of the penalties given out in this thread may be surprising and can see why people would want a break, it isn't exactly the hardest thing to stick by a speed limit, no matter what it is...
Getting done for being 4 km over whilst driving 110 on a 9 hour drive is hardly lenient.

But I get what your saying.

The 10% rule was good here, it allowed for minor slips but punished proper speeding.

^I didn't mention leniency, just more making the point that I think it's as easy to stay under/on the limit at 110, as it is at 60, despite say 5km going over the limit in either case equating to different percentages.

Interesting to note your friend going through the red and not getting a fine, despite a red light camera being there...

^I didn't mention leniency, just more making the point that I think it's as easy to stay under/on the limit at 110, as it is at 60, despite say 5km going over the limit in either case equating to different percentages.

Interesting to note your friend going through the red and not getting a fine, despite a red light camera being there...

Red light cameras on any given intersection only get the traffic moving away from them on the same side of the road.

You can speed through a red in the other direction and not cop anything.

Red light cameras on any given intersection only get the traffic moving away from them on the same side of the road.

You can speed through a red in the other direction and not cop anything.

hmm, just would've assumed that if there was a red light camera at an intersection, numerous ones would be set up to cover traffic from each direction...

maybe theyre turned on during specific times of the day? Perhaps there is a cost to keeping them on all the time, so they are only turned on when traffic is most likely to run a red light (by numbers, which are lesser at 3am than say 5:30pm).

i'm not sure.

hmm, just would've assumed that if there was a red light camera at an intersection, numerous ones would be set up to cover traffic from each direction...

maybe theyre turned on during specific times of the day? Perhaps there is a cost to keeping them on all the time, so they are only turned on when traffic is most likely to run a red light (by numbers, which are lesser at 3am than say 5:30pm).

i'm not sure.

I think they're always on, it's just that the rego is always on the back of bikes (if I'm not mistaken) so the cameras can only capture what is moving away from them.

Someone should (safely in the middle of the night) test this out. I wont, but someone else should.

Do you get double demerit points also? I don't know if you get them for camera's (I think you do...), but if you do get double points - it wouldn't take too many to get into some license trouble...

Not completely certain about the system though :confused:

I have been vindicated! - I freaking knew the light wasn't red although I did accept that I was probably speeding.

Rang them up this morning and they checked the photo and said that yes the light was indeed orange but I was speeding - just as I had thought. The fine now goes from $529 (not $512 as I thought my wife had told me) to $202 for just the speeding infringement - basically 2/5th of what I thought I was going to have to pay.

Moral of the story is firstly, always stop and don't speed up through red light light intersections as they are probably speed cameras as well - fight your natural urge. Secondly don't take the governments/ cops/ authority figures word for it if you think you are right.