Regrets

Eagles
We all have them. None of this bulltish about not having regrets.

• Not asking this chick out in the supermarket because there were too many people around. Only time i've believed in the notion of "love at first sight"
  • Doing a business degree at Uni instead of something I would truly love working in.
  • Breaking up with my first GF, way back in High School. I still feel guilty and like I need to apologise (even though in hind sight it wouldn't have worked anyway)
  • Not looking out after my body. Have at times been very fit, only to let it slide

What are yours?

Yeah, I still get pissed when I think of the time when I was backpacking through Central and South America, and met an absolute stunner.

She was all over me when a fellow Aussie guy I met in Ecuador, and who I'd been traveling with said, "I love her"! "Can you tell her you're not interested?"

I thought he's bloody serious. If he loved her I wasn't gonna get in the way right?

So the next day when she tried to kiss me I pushed her away.

Well my travelling mate f****d her and dumped her straight after. We continued travelling together for a while, but he always reminded me how good she was.

I was quite young and he was a bit older, so he simply sucked me in:o

Not pissing on the Bon Scott Grave When i was in fremantle the other day.

And yeah some girls in high school, one i said no when she asked me not (she was a stunner, i often still ask myself "WHY?!?!") but about a month later i hear she lost her virginity to an 18 year old bloke (she was 13) sad to know she seemed to put out easily as well:(

Not soo much anymore since i have a girlfriend im very happy with (incase shes reading this and i'll get my ass kicked) but not taking another step with an old high school friend, nothing happened and she ended up going out with another bloke,

Uh, Not studying hard enough in high school, probably should of studied for my year 12 exams, still passed with average marks with no intention of going to uni, however at 20 now im starting to think i should have.

Destorying some kid playing football when i was 14, he had no idea what i was comming, but hell son, if the ball is infront of you. you gotta expect to be crunched from side on. I heard later on i broke his shoulder,

Also, punching my Former best friend in the face when he hooked up with a girlfriend of mine, not the "best" way to deal with it, but none the less should of expected it

There are no such things as regrets, because whatever you did or didn't do, it is exactly what you wanted at the time.

Close thread.

i don't agree with that notion, though i can see why some people subscribe to it.

i'd say most people biggest regrets would be too do with women/men and not taking the opportunity to go to an event or place.....

not really sure at the moment what are my biggest regrets but i'm not letting one happen right now. me and the mrs broke up last weekend and not because we don't love each other but because it was getting hard not being able to see each other much (live in different cities)... so we are still talking a lot and keeping in touch and i'm pretty sure we'll give it another crack in the future.

i konw if i just upped, went to scotland for a year then went home and never spoke to her again that i'd regret it in the future.

EDIT: one definate regret was not putting money on greece to win euro 2004 when a number of my brothers greek mates all decided to put money on and were trying to convince me to do so while we were sitting around at a bbq.

There are no such things as regrets, because whatever you did or didn't do, it is exactly what you wanted at the time.

Close thread.

Stupid post.

We all have regrets, even those who come out with the above BS.

As per my OP, I wanted to ask this chick out but shat bricks at having to face rejection with a sh1tload of people standing in front/behind me in the checkout queue.
Looking back, I regret not making a move. I don't even remember the faces of the people standing around me, who cares what they would have thought?

How is that doing what I wanted at the time?

Gee, a few.

Quitting footy when I did and the way that I did. Also the fact that I let certain elements of it get to me, resulting in my reasoning to quit. I think about that often.

Giving up in a number of situations when I could have kept going - races, parts of life, etc.

Not saving my tapings of the 2002 season.

Breaking my elbow - absolutely rooted me for a long time afterwards, and it was all my fault.

TAKING THINGS SPECIAL TO ME FOR GRANTED. You just don't know what it is you have until it is gone. Far out, this comes back to needle me every single day. And the worst bit is, you can't change it. The future can be changed, but scars of the past can take a long, long time to heel, whilst others prosper.

Having a massive fight with a friend who I thought was - and perhaps still is - one of my close friends. I had/have good reasoning behind it, but it's bloody awkward now.

i shouldve done a social work degree, but then again i can quit and go back to uni.

and like many before me, a girl i met while working overseas. I moved back to melbourne after 2 years, she subsequently quit her job and moved all the way to melbourne for me. but as we do i wasnt interested at the time and she moved back home after a year. funny thing, i only started to regret this a year or two after she moved back.

oh well such is,life.

So far, the only regret I have in life is choosing the wrong people as friends, though I'd like to think I'm wiser now.

- Girls etc (like everyone)

- At this stage regretting doing law over med. Reason I didnt do med was because my dad was a doc and I thought it was corny to 'follow in his footsteps.' Sad because I really find medical stuff interesting and I often study in the med library and find myself reading anatomy books just out of interest. This is something on my mind over the past few months hence the post. Hmm.

- Girls etc (like everyone)

- At this stage regretting doing law over med. Reason I didnt do med was because my dad was a doc and I thought it was corny to 'follow in his footsteps.' Sad because I really find medical stuff interesting and I often study in the med library and find myself reading anatomy books just out of interest. This is something on my mind over the past few months hence the post. Hmm.

I gather that you're still studying Law rather than practicing. If so, then it's surely not too late for you to follow your heart/gut .

It sounds like medicine may be in your blood.

Good luck with your decision:thumbsu:

Close thread.

Thats the way i see it too. I could do my head in over things i did or didn't do but i see that as a useless activity.

The only time i act on a regret is if i feel i need to appologise to someone, this regret ends as soon as i appologise.

Probably leaving Taiwan. I loved Taiwan, my job and my partner there. One day I simply decided that I had been there long enough and came home but looking back it was too early and I left a lot of things undone. I often wish I was still back there but know that if I went back there it wouldn't be the same. On the other hand coming back from Russia feels much more finalised, however much I miss it at times.

Having said that though I am quite content in what I am doing now and this wouldn't have happened if I hadn't left Taiwan so it's all good.

Probably leaving Taiwan. I loved Taiwan, my job and my partner there. One day I simply decided that I had been there long enough and came home but looking back it was too early and I left a lot of things undone. I often wish I was still back there but know that if I went back there it wouldn't be the same. On the other hand coming back from Russia feels much more finalised, however much I miss it at times.

Having said that though I am quite content in what I am doing now and this wouldn't have happened if I hadn't left Taiwan so it's all good.

punished in st petersberg?

I gather that you're still studying Law rather than practicing. If so, then it's surely not too late for you to follow your heart/gut .

It sounds like medicine may be in your blood.
You should transfer if you can. Your life will be hell if you continue to be a lawyer when really you want to be a doctor. From what I hear law faculties in universities are cash cows now.