The Cotch

I went to tonights game with some Richmond supporters, and honestly it was like a funeral, and then to come on here and read all the trash about our players being posted is really disappointing. It is a NAB Cup game for god's sake, could you not tell the coaches are playing players in different positions and trying new things out?

Yes the skill level was low and quite frustrating at times, but I can guarantee you that it won't be like that round one. We played a really young squad, and we did have some key players missing. I'm not trying to make excuses but I'm just saying to treat these games with a bar of soap.

According to posters on this site, and on other sites, it's all of the sudden doom and gloom again. Honestly it is really disgusting to read some of the sh!t on these forums about our own players.

As for the positives, there were plenty......

- Cousins of course
- Thursfield looks bigger and stronger. Solid game.
- Deledio IS cruising.
- Raines solid again.
- Riewoldt just class, but has to convert.
- Polo would just about booked his round one spot in my opinion.
- Rance was exciting. Great game.
- Vickery. Just enjoy.
- Tambling. I think people just have fun picking on this bloke. He was solid.
- Nahas is a real goer.
- Thomson was in my best. Aggression and displayed his clearance abilities.

C'mon lighten up. These antics are what the trolls feed off. Not to mention it's all unjustifed.

Riewoldt has a ton of courage same with Polo.

Nahas has a lot of speed.

Tambling got more into it ,the more the game went I thought.

Vickery is only young but there were some great signs.

Rainsy was great running in the first half.

Moore was in a lot of contests.

Too early lads.

Round ****ing 1.

What ws the crowd anyone btw? ,looked like mid 20s then into the 2nd it got much bigger.

Yeh agree totally:thumbsu:

while you are watching the game you get into it like it means something , but afterward you just take the positives out of it, and we did have some big ones.

Thomson was great IMO just didnt stop.
Vickery played well, hes a big guy and needs development.
Hislop played a good game i thought just stuck at it :thumbsu:

and much more that i cbf naming

I felt a bit down in the train going home and then thought "hang on you idiot,this is a pre season game,you just saw a lot of youngsters trying real hard and best of all Cousins played a solid game after 2 years out of it,grow some balls you idiot"

I felt better after that.:D

I went to tonights game with some Richmond supporters, and honestly it was like a funeral, and then to come on here and read all the trash about our players being posted is really disappointing. It is a NAB Cup game for god's sake, could you not tell the coaches are playing players in different positions and trying new things out?

Yes the skill level was low and quite frustrating at times, but I can guarantee you that it won't be like that round one. We played a really young squad, and we did have some key players missing. I'm not trying to make excuses but I'm just saying to treat these games with a bar of soap.

According to posters on this site, and on other sites, it's all of the sudden doom and gloom again. Honestly it is really disgusting to read some of the sh!t on these forums about our own players.

- Cousins of course
- Deledio IS cruising.
- Raines solid again.
- Vickery. Just enjoy.
- Nahas is a real goer.

C'mon lighten up. These antics are what the trolls feed off. Not to mention it's all unjustifed.

It's not all doom and gloom I agree...but we looked disorganized, and were switching on and off.

How many praccy type games we got till Round 1? 2-3-4?
We better iron out the problems, stop developing and get ready for the start of the race in Round 1, as this is supposed to be another progression year.
Progression on 9th, means Finals.

I don't know which coach said it(Pagan?, Parkin? or Malthouse?), but you can never and should never enter a season saying you are developing.
You have to be ready to go for all competitions whatever state the team is actually in.
Tonight we weren't ready.

Things aren't as laid back as you think.

Agree with your post Cotch - except you probably want a "grain of salt" not "a bar of soap." That malapropism didn't wash with me.

...And we reckon we have the best Supporters in the league

What a load of shit that thought is when you look at this board tonight after losing a ****ing NAB match.

I dont think a single player has escaped harsh criticism, except for Foley and maybe Simmonds.

Its February for ****s sake!!!

Same shit players mate.

Doesnt that tell u something,or do they need to practice their sh itness over the pre season comp?

Lol, amen to the doom and gloom on other sites cotch, I've gone to OER, given them a quick spray and got the **** out again.

It's like we might as well not show up for the rest of the season.

One of the great entertaining parts of a Tigers life is going through the various Richmond websites and reading the darksiders posts.

Diggler has one already up at PRE.:D

Re: ...And we reckon we have the best Supporters in the league

What a load of shit that thought is when you look at this board tonight after losing a ****ing NAB match.

I dont think a single player has escaped harsh criticism, except for Foley and maybe Simmonds.

Its February for ****s sake!!!

Here Here Dicey (Sorry Ox my mate but I see no concern)

Maybe I'm just getting older and tolerating it more, but after watching the match, it wasnt the disaster others are making it to be. We were sloppy, big deal, this zone footy that all teams are now frequently using had alot to do with it, we are adjusting. NAB cup rules stink, no mark 20 meters, cant kick backwards, what a load of BS. Whats next ? A player can only bounce it once and if you do its called a double dribble? :thumbsd:

Just wait until our midfield fires, we have some genuine talent there our forwards are going to be licking their lips, 4 weeks to go people we can now concentrate on getting things right for round 1.

Oh and the bonus of the night was Cousins getting 21 touches, a few Blues supporters would now be slightly concerned that he he still knows how to find the pill add a bit of polish and we all will be Laughing Our AO !!!

Go Tiges :thumbsu:

Same shit players mate.

Lucky bowdo wasn't playin eh oxx, you'd be on a yellow or red for sure ;)

The only genuinely bad player tonight imo was Johnson.

I agree with PRR, the whole game was sloppy, ppl complain about the movement of the ball being slow and laboured - and I agree that we can f*** around with it at the back too much - but with the zone defences it is bloody hard work. If players just blazed away to packs in the name of moving the ball quickly the same supporters would be blowing up about 'stupid football'. On the break we look very good, just have to work on getting around the zone when not on the break. I think we can improve enough to do that.

I just can't believe the amount of crap Tambling cops, those howlers need to be eliminated but he gets hung, drawn and quartered for it despite doing many good things during the game.

Some posters need to do as the th read title suggests, it seems some posters have bought into the Cousins hype and were expecting champagne football from the get-go ... hell last years premiers almost got done by the spooners from last year ... its just the pre-season, I think there was a lot of good along with some bad, but its not as dire as this board suggests.

- Cousins of course
- Deledio IS cruising.
- Raines solid again.
- Vickery. Just enjoy.
- Nahas is a real goer.

Finally! Someone on here who makes sense when they speak.. I think people need to start being real Richmond supporters and less like Richmond critics posing as Supporters!

We certainly treated tonight as a chance to experiment and get match fitness into players who were either behind, amongst the fringe players, or outright rookies. Several positives to take out of it and really very little to be upset about.

20 scoring shots to 24...us just playing out the game sedately rather than if we were striving for four points...the Wobblers kicking ultra-cheap goals late...tonight was hardly a strike against us for when the real action begins.

Most important positive was that we again dominated possession and dictated much of the flow of play against a decent side near full strength. We generally butchered all advantage gained from controlling the game, but it's not that long ago that we were seldom able to control any game.

The finesse, sharpness and good ball use will come - being able to control and dictate games is the bigger battle of the two and we're doing very well on that front these days. It may look like stuffing around with the ball, but we're actually learning to control other sides and break them through not giving them enough ball to kick a winning score.

We certainly treated tonight as a chance to experiment and get match fitness into players who were either behind, amongst the fringe players, or outright rookies. Several positives to take out of it and really very little to be upset about.

20 scoring shots to 24...us just playing out the game sedately rather than if we were striving for four points...the Wobblers kicking ultra-cheap goals late...tonight was hardly a strike against us for when the real action begins.

Most important positive was that we again dominated possession and dictated much of the flow of play against a decent side near full strength. We generally butchered all advantage gained from controlling the game, but it's not that long ago that we were seldom able to control any game.

The finesse, sharpness and good ball use will come - being able to control and dictate games is the bigger battle of the two and we're doing very well on that front these days. It may look like stuffing around with the ball, but we're actually learning to control other sides and break them through not giving them enough ball to kick a winning score.

And that is absolutely true rayzor, what a lot of people forget is that we played a very young side compared to almost full strength....btw did anyone catch the magpie add, three game memberships are countedas members so they can boast 50,000 members what an absolute codswallop, next they will be selling one game memberships and saying they have 75000...........