Remember me!

Hello all,

As a club that has dominated the competition through most of our lives and boasted some of the league's biggest names, I thought it might be nice to dedicate a thread to some of the players that fly under the radar a little, to remind (or educate) us on some of the players that we may not as easily recall as they may have played in an unsuccessful era or perhaps overshadowed by some of their teammates. Tell us about who they are, how they played, what they achieved and if you saw them live, what impact they had on you!

Over to you!

The first player I wanted to highlight is....Alec Albiston.

Long before my time obviously but not often mentioned when discussing the greats of our club. Alec was a gun rover in a very unsuccessful period for the club in the 1930's and 40's. He finished 3rd in the B&F in 1939 as a youngster before evolving into our number 1 mid and goalkicker, culminating in a dominant B&F win in 1941. One of the favourites for the Brownlow in 1942, Alec heeded the call to serve his country in the Air Force during WW2. In some ways robbed of his peak years, Alec returned to Hawthorn in 1945 (whilst still serving in the RAAF) and promptly topped the Hawks goalkicking for the 4th time, whilst still playing midfield. The following season, he again won the Best and Fairest. Before his unfortunate departure at the end of 1949 together with best mate Col Austen, he had played 12 years at Hawthorn without missing a single game due to injury! He was also Hawthorn's first player to kick 10 goals, a tally not bettered until Peter Hudson kicked 12 in 1968. In the end, Alec played 170 games for Hawthorn and kicked 383 goals as rover! He captain-coached the club for 3 years and captained Victoria. He is the Hawthorn Football Hall of Fame and was a bit stiff to miss the Hawthorn TOTC.

This guy could fly!

Ossie was a favourite of mine! Had a great season in 2008 which was one of the reasons for Hawthorn's improvement to a flag. I remember Mike Sheahen had him top 50 that year (which surprised a few) but he was spot on. He was a decent player most of his career but that year was 'out of the box'.

1589606591320.png

One of the group of players I remember listening to the radio in the country as a young lad. There was only 3LO, or whatever it was called then, and the names of Heath, Meagher, Bremner, Knights and Matthews...once every few weeks it would be a Hawthorn game. Most weeks, I'd have to wait for Smoky dawson "Around the grounds" to find out how the Hawks were going...

I think I just liked the sound of his name, more than anything. Along with Knights, the commentators always seemed excited when he got the ball, I think I imagined him as some kind of Viking warrior as a 6, 7 year old.

By the time I watched the footy replays (The Big replay? The big league? I can't remember which it as called)on Saturday evening in the mid-late 70s, he was gone...never saw him play live.

Anyway, this thread is a good excuse to mention such a cool name.. Bohdan Jaworskyj!

This guy could fly!

It was really interesting to see which player were cut by Clarko and which stayed on. At the time I was surprised Ozzy stayed while some like picconi (sp?) left.
Proved beyond a doubt why Clarko loved him. Hard at it and played his role perfectly

View attachment 876525

One of the group of players I remember listening to the radio in the country as a young lad. There was only 3LO, or whatever it was called then, and the names of Heath, Meagher, Bremner, Knights and Matthews...once every few weeks it would be a Hawthorn game. Most weeks, I'd have to wait for Smoky dawson "Around the grounds" to find out how the Hawks were going...

I think I just liked the sound of his name, more than anything. Along with Knights, the commentators always seemed excited when he got the ball, I think I imagined him as some kind of Viking warrior as a 6, 7 year old.

By the time I watched the footy replays (The Big replay? The big league? I can't remember which it as called)on Saturday evening in the mid-late 70s, he was gone...never saw him play live.

Anyway, this thread is a good excuse to mention such a cool name.. Bohdan Jaworskyj!

Amongst our best players in the 1975 Grannie.

Bohdan was a great name, i saw him play when i was a kid.
Another great name is Alle De Wolde.
We used to have reserved seats in the hawthorn stand near some if his relatives, maybe an aunt .

Hey, Guardian Hawk, you’re a legend!

What a great year 1969 was:
The first rover was Geoff Smith, a speedy, skilful redhead, I think he was about 21-22: he was my favourite player at the time, but unfortunately for him, things were brewing:

1. The 2nd rover was Peter Crimmins, who‘d only played a handful of games.
2. There was another rover playing in the seconds, a 17 year-old kid in his first year,: Lethal Leigh Matthews.
3. Unrelated to this, but another 17 year old started that year, Peter Knights.

I‘m not sure what happened to poor old Geoff Smith, I think he played a couple more seasons, but the other 3 are Hawthorn legends and three of the all time greats!

Bohdan was a great name, i saw him play when i was a kid.
Another great name is Alle De Wolde.
We used to have reserved seats in the hawthorn stand near some if his relatives, maybe an aunt .
My sister grew up with his daughter (De wolde). She was an absolute standout junior netballer. If she stayed dedicated would've definitely played for Australia.

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

Plus he had the voice of an angel.:drunk:

:D :D :D

I'm always bemused by people who cannot find it within themselves to hit a single note of a melody. Does it ever occur to them that what is coming out of their mouth bears absolutely no resemblence to the sound in their head?

Colin Robertson was a really good running player in our early 80's team who I always liked, and thought we played better as a team for his workrate and link play. Starting in 1980 and played just under 100 games for us including a normie in 83'.
He went back home to Tassie in 87', aged only 29. Not sure I remember if there were 'circumstances', but he rarely gets a mention these days although playing an important part of those Hawk teams.
Thanks Robbo. :thumbsu:

In the late sixties remember going early to games at Glenferrie and watching a player called Lou Milner in the reserves. You would be guaranteed a few speccies from him each game. Alas his career never took off.

Peter Murnane was a player that always interested me, particularly when he came over to the West and played for my club, West Perth, in the '80s.
Used to watch him strut his stuff when I was a kid at Leederville oval, quite a classy wingman. Great skills, certainly not your in and under player, in fact Mal Brown once called him a ballerina! Not cool Mal.
Premiership Hawk to boot.:thumbsu:

:D :D :D

I'm always bemused by people who cannot find it within themselves to hit a single note of a melody. Does it ever occur to them that what is coming out of their mouth bears absolutely no resemblence to the sound in their head?
It's almost like he and the "backing singers" are trying to be as totally off key as possible.

Still, loved that Footy Favourites album, a masterpiece of the genre. What that genre is I'm not sure.
Robbie Flower and Macho Man a definite highlight. Or is that low light.:think:
My ears are repelled. For your listening pleasure..

Colin Robertson was a really good running player in our early 80's team who I always liked, and thought we played better as a team for his workrate and link play. Starting in 1980 and played just under 100 games for us including a normie in 83'.
He went back home to Tassie in 87', aged only 29. Not sure I remember if there were 'circumstances', but he rarely gets a mention these days although playing an important part of those Hawk teams.
Thanks Robbo. :thumbsu:
He was sort of a smaller version of John Kennedy Jr was't he. Flattened Watson in the '83 GF IIRC.
Fine player, good skills. Perhaps the arrival of the Rat in '86 squeezed him out. Similar thing happened to scholar Loveridge didn't it.

He was sort of a smaller version of John Kennedy Jr was't he. Flattened Watson in the '83 GF IIRC.
Fine player, good skills. Perhaps the arrival of the Rat in '86 squeezed him out. Similar thing happened to scholar Loveridge didn't it.

He was, but quick as a scalded cat at times.

I was in Launceston for a Hawks game 3-4 years ago, and met a relation of Colin Robertson.
He said Colin was a wharfie in Devonport, hinted that he had mental issues and that was the only work he could do: this was all hinted at, not said directly.

Told him to tell Colin he was a legend, just for knocking out Tim Watson!

I was in Launceston for a Hawks game 3-4 years ago, and met a relation of Colin Robertson.
He said Colin was a wharfie in Devonport, hinted that he had mental issues and that was the only work he could do: this was all hinted at, not said directly.

Told him to tell Colin he was a legend, just for knocking out Tim Watson!

Wow, it's a tough game on the whole body....these guys really sacrifice health and most never mention anything about it.
Triple bloody likes for what you said to the relo! :cool: