Retirement

Given we all work to make money to have time off and one day not having to bother when do you see yourself retiring? If ever?

Personally I would probably need to work 30+ years to afford retirement. But given diminishing jobs/casualised workforce I actually see myself never retiring. Most likely I will work on contracts until I am physically unable to work anymore and the probably get a pension/cark it.

As long as I have occasional holidays/don't have to stress out too much at work I'm happy enough in my current field.

Would probably all up (take into account property/costs/expenses/life expectancy) $3 million (savings/assets/investments) to retire. Can't see it happening so will just keep working.

How about you all? Older people any plans to pull up stumps/younger any plans to get rich give it away.

Given we all work to make money to have time off and one day not having to bother when do you see yourself retiring? If ever?

Personally I would probably need to work 30+ years to afford retirement. But given diminishing jobs/casualised workforce I actually see myself never retiring. Most likely I will work on contracts until I am physically unable to work anymore and the probably get a pension/cark it.

As long as I have occasional holidays/don't have to stress out too much at work I'm happy enough in my current field.

Would probably all up (take into account property/costs/expenses/life expectancy) $3 million (savings/assets/investments) to retire. Can't see it happening so will just keep working.

How about you all? Older people any plans to pull up stumps/younger any plans to get rich give it away.

I haven't given it a great deal of thought. I should map out my pathway to retirement.

I'm 32 at the moment and over the last 9 years I've worked hard to get into a career that I enjoy, and that I've "quickly" progressed in. ....I say quickly, but then I'm like, damn. 9 years.

So, anyway, I'm now earning pretty reasonable money now, a bit over $100K p.a. and I've started building up a share portfolio, but I haven't bought any property.

I think I will be able to be retire, but retiring early and/or comfortably don't look easy. Certainly, I don't expect my superannuation to be enough.

house paid off, 1 million cash. 55... then I'm off to Thailand to sit on a beach, drink beer, watch every game of AFL, NFL, NBA and NRL and not give a ****.

Don't take life so seriously. Manage to bank a lot of my dsp living with mum while picking up the occasional cash in hand job whenever a big client requests an order at Dad's work. I don't even need to bother trying hard.

Eventually I'll up and leave to Pattaya and see how good I am solely relying on the punt once I get near 6 figures in the bank. I can always come back and queue up at centrelink should I fail.

Don't take life so seriously. Manage to bank a lot of my dsp living with mum while picking up the occasional cash in hand job whenever a big client requests an order at Dad's work. I don't even need to bother trying hard.

Eventually I'll up and leave to Pattaya and see how good I am solely relying on the punt once I get near 6 figures in the bank. I can always come back and queue up at centrelink should I fail.

do u have a figure in mind before you leave? or an age?

No where near 6 figures right now. In fact I'm barely a sixth of the way there but all I can do is just keep chipping away each month putting away $600. Could do more more if I switched to a prepaid, scrapped foxtel, the gym and saved on petrol by going no where but I gotta have some trace of life even in a boring place.

I'm currently 29 and having my 4 weeks paid overseas before coming back and saving for another year which will see my stash to be untouched at approx $23k, couple of grand in citibank plus and about 5k in various betting accounts which will remain constant at that figure.

That will provide me with the foundation to commence my 4 month trial period punting for a living. Success or failure I will come back after that 4 month period and look for a job in the field I'm qualified for although a piece of paper is useless these days anyway. Failing that I'll just up and leave once again once again. Needless to say it will be a trial period. I'll know more after that.

No where near 6 figures right now. In fact I'm barely a sixth of the way there but all I can do is just keep chipping away each month putting away $600. Could do more more if I switched to a prepaid, scrapped foxtel, the gym and saved on petrol by going no where but I gotta have some trace of life even in a boring place.

I'm currently 29 and having my 4 weeks paid overseas before coming back and saving for another year which will see my stash to be untouched at approx $23k, couple of grand in citibank plus and about 5k in various betting accounts which will remain constant at that figure.

That will provide me with the foundation to commence my 4 month trial period punting for a living. Success or failure I will come back after that 4 month period and look for a job in the field I'm qualified for although a piece of paper is useless these days anyway. Failing that I'll just up and leave once again once again. Needless to say it will be a trial period. I'll know more after that.

What do you punt on?

Pretty much the sports mentioned by young Angus as well as NCAA stuff and baseball/NHL when I'm desperate or it's the play-offs.

I'll be adopting the "spot betting " approach. Not many games but
just go for it when I see something I like. I've been sticking to 2-3% of my BR and love a good underdog.

I target marquee games and dogs in good spots where the public is susceptible to a burial.

Anyhow it's just occurred to me that I'm still in my pyjamas.

Pretty much the sports mentioned by young Angus as well as NCAA stuff and baseball/NHL when I'm desperate or it's the play-offs.

just go for it when I see something I like. I've been sticking to 2-3% of my BR and love a good underdog.

I target marquee games and dogs in good spots where the public is susceptible to a burial.

In more ways than one.

You sir are an inspiration... I'm loving your work.

Please stick around these parts. I want to know how this all goes.

Why don't u buy an apt or something? don't live in it, rent it out get someone to pay it off slowly then in 10 years u will have a little nest egg there and something to fall back on.

God speed my friend.

You sir are an inspiration... I'm loving your work.

Please stick around these parts. I want to know how this all goes.

Why don't u buy an apt or something? don't live in it, rent it out get someone to pay it off slowly then in 10 years u will have a little nest egg there and something to fall back on.

God speed my friend.

Don't plan on going anywhere unless I get the boot from here.

Rent is fairly cheap throughout most of Thailand, a little more pricey in Pattaya or Bangkok where I'd prefer to be so will have to do my homework but still am a little sceptical of buying anything in Asia.

The thing about Strayan society is that there are so many suckers that work their hands to the bone yet have **** all to show for it and can't even afford a small holiday whereas I just sit back and accumulate savings week in week out. Any bum can save. It just comes down to choices in life. How many flogs are gonna blow hundreds taking their kids to the show? The same flogs that are in debt to their eyeballs and have no savings after each pay once expenses are taken into account.

While everyone is working off their debts, I'm just rewarding myself with a nice maccas breakfast after a successful morning on the punt all documented on the nfl thread punter's board. Was up at 5am to catch the 2nd half of the early games.

At the end of the day nobody is forced to enslave themselves for 35-40 years in an office. However, a missus and child may very well change that.

Don't plan on going anywhere unless I get the boot from here.

Rent is fairly cheap throughout most of Thailand, a little more pricey in Pattaya or Bangkok where I'd prefer to be so will have to do my homework but still am a little sceptical of buying anything in Asia.

The thing about Strayan society is that there are so many suckers that work their hands to the bone yet have **** all to show for it and can't even afford a small holiday whereas I just sit back and accumulate savings week in week out. Any bum can save. It just comes down to choices in life. How many flogs are gonna blow hundreds taking their kids to the show? The same flogs that are in debt to their eyeballs and have no savings after each pay once expenses are taken into account.

While everyone is working off their debts, I'm just rewarding myself with a nice maccas breakfast after a successful morning on the punt all documented on the nfl thread punter's board. Was up at 5am to catch the 2nd half of the early games.

At the end of the day nobody is forced to enslave themselves for 35-40 years in an office. However, a missus and child may very well change that.

so marriage and kids are out of the question?

mate Chang Mai is ur place...very very cheap

so marriage and kids are out of the question?

mate Chang Mai is ur place...very very cheap

Never say never.

Chang Mai is nice with a farang community but I like a good shag and can't get enough of the bar scene.

Ideally I'd do 2 years of work in my field just to say I've done it and then make the move over there.

If I get myself a missus then it's all over. Who knows I might get sick of "livin the dream" after a stint in Asia punting for a living but I atleast gotta try. Life in Straya is one massive bore.

$3 million seems a lot for a retirement target - especially if you've already paid off your primary residence.
I'd say he could be on the money if he is roughly younger than 25. He'll retire at 70 likely and that is 45 years of inflation and using a rough figure of 1.03% for inflation on the comfortable retirement of a couple of $1 mill. He'd be pretty close. (got mine at roughly 3.78 mill at 3% inflation).

I understand wanting to leave something for your kids, but I don't understand why many people don't consider eating into the principle of their retirement savings and only focus on the return that principle can produce.

I'm a long way off retirement but at this stage in my life I figure any children can have the principle residence, beyond that I am using it.

I understand wanting to leave something for your kids, but I don't understand why many people don't consider eating into the principle of their retirement savings and only focus on the return that principle can produce.

I'm a long way off retirement but at this stage in my life I figure any children can have the principle residence, beyond that I am using it.
Same. I'll give my kids a house deposit and they can split the family home when I'm gone. I'll enjoy the rest.

Without wanting to sound like a party-pooper. I am almost certain you'll fail, and would politely suggest you didn't waste your time.

Yep you are indeed a party-pooper. Have never had a losing year in the NFL and as I said to dad last night, I can't wait to stick it up everyone when I make the move.