Autopsy Review vs Port

Too many C graders (and worse).
Not sure our bottom 4-6 are any better than those that dragged us down in the 2008-2011 period.
How many other clubs would Lonie, Weller, Gresham, Longer or Hickey get a game at in their present form?
I know Gresham is going to be a star but why not send him to the VFL to iron out some of that millionaire rubbish he keeps trying?
As for the world's greatest captain where was he when the backline needed organising at that last stoppage?

Not sure our bottom 4-6 are any better than those that dragged us down in the 2008-2011 period.
How many other clubs would Lonie, Weller, Gresham, Longer or Hickey get a game at in their present form?
I know Gresham is going to be a star but why not send him to the VFL to iron out some of that millionaire rubbish he keeps trying?
As for the world's greatest captain where was he when the backline needed organising at that last stoppage?

Who on here has ever said that about Geary?

Was at the game, had that uneasy feel at the last stoppage and sure enough... Gee there are some knobbish port supporters with a persecution complex. Winners are grinners and losers can please themselves though.

Carlisle was immense, arguably his best game for the club. I've been a Dunstan critic but he was the best St Kilda mid for the second week running; maybe my imagination but seems to have got some more penetration on his kick.

Acres does some dumb shit and floats in and out but his best is great and he is as talented as anyone on the list at the moment. I thought he was instrumental in the 3rd quarter in particular. White looked pretty composed - will be a player.

Bruce works hard and has been good since crossing over but gee he drops a lot of marks for a key forward. Steven looks to be playing injured to me, hobbling a lot at stoppages.

Last thought - just ******* sort out the goal kicking please. Won't be a good side until it is sorted.
There was one Port fan taking photos of our cheer squad after the game, with his own middle-finger in the foreground.

Classy.

Unfortunately, he wasn't an anomaly.

its a fair question to ask.

As most have said, terrific games from Jake and Luke and by White, for someone his age and inexperience.

Was watching it with my father and said to him during the game- after his really clean take at ground level latish- that it was like he was playing dry weather footy, while the rest were playing wet/slippery weather footy.

He was just so clean, both overhead and at ground level all game and as others have also said, was composed beyond his years.

Think we might really have one here and it's great that he has such a good mix of attributes, being reasonably tall (at full leap and stretch he got about two feet above Impey to take one of his marks!), quick, athletic, competitive, versatile (can play on "smalls" and those up to probably about 192cm) and then of course there's his kicking.

The big knock on him when he was drafted was that his endurance was pretty terrible and then we heard that he fronted up to this latest preseason in less than ideal condition, so I really look forward to seeing how he's going with another preseason or two under his belt and with another 2 or 3 kg's of muscle.

Suspect that while he would have been really pleased for him that Joey's heart might have sunk a bit watching him play so well and look like he'd already played 100 games. I'd say the only way Joey is offered another contract is if we plan on playing him further up the ground.

Which I'd be very OK with. I know who I'd rather have had up forward yesterday out of Joey, Lonie and Mav!

Great to think that Rice has been ahead of Brandon in the pecking order for most of the year as well, as that augurs well for us, given White's showing last night.

As most have said, terrific games from Jake and Luke and by White, for someone his age and inexperience.

Was watching it with my father and said to him during the game- after his really clean take at ground level latish- that it was like he was playing dry weather footy, while the rest were playing wet/slippery weather footy.

He was just so clean, both overhead and at ground level all game and as others have also said, was composed beyond his years.

Think we might really have one here and it's great that he has such a good mix of attributes, being reasonably tall (at full leap and stretch he got about two feet above Impey to take one of his marks!), quick, athletic, competitive, versatile (can play on "smalls" and those up to probably about 192cm) and then of course there's his kicking.

The big knock on him when he was drafted was that his endurance was pretty terrible and then we heard that he fronted up to this latest preseason in less than ideal condition, so I really look forward to seeing how he's going with another preseason or two under his belt and with another 2 or 3 kg's of muscle.

Suspect that while he would have been really pleased for him that Joey's heart might have sunk a bit watching him play so well and look like he'd already played 100 games. I'd say the only way Joey is offered another contract is if we plan on playing him further up the ground.

Which I'd be very OK with. I know who I'd rather have had up forward yesterday out of Joey, Lonie and Mav!
I would coax Raph or Kozi out of retirement :'(to replace those two!:huh:

I'm still gutted about the loss. This one really hurts when you think of it in context of what was on the line.

BUT

I'm also immensely proud of the guys. We could have rolled over at least 2 or 3 times when they skipped away to a 2 and a half goal lead, but the boys dug in and worked back into it each time.

To have been in a winning position in SA with such a young team shows we have the nucleus of a very very good team. Sure, we need a few stars, but we have some great kids there.

Jake was immense. Surely he starts to get the credit he deserves externally now (Not that I give 2 shits what people outside the club think) but he deserves the plaudits

Dunstan has been awesome for 2 weeks running. The key for him now is to string another 4 of those sort of games together. He might not dominate every week but he just can't afford to go missing out of games. He's a definite keeper.

White was so impressive. Reckon joey's papers are stamped now. I would also like to see rice get a run before the year is out.

Very unlikely that we make finals now. Our only chances are either win all 4 or win 3 by enough that we build another 10% on our current %age.

Not a wasted year. More a year of missed opportunities.

We will likely end up on the same amount of wins as last year, plus or minus 1, with a much harder draw; without armo or dempster pretty much all year; with limited contribution from paddy and roo coming back to the field a bit and our constant inability to kick straight.

Now, any chance an ITK wants to post some good news?? ;)

Maybe this is some merit in developing players at Sandy?

People complain that other teams gave players who step in and are ready. Well so do we.

Hi, I'm a new supporter of the club this year. I regained interest in the AFL just recently and the Saints jumped out at me fairly on in the season with a good mixture of honesty and youth, and I'm looking forward to supporting St. Kilda from now on.

I haven' t seen let alone supported many of the players that the club has this this year and has had in previous years, but I do have some raw, first impressions of players from tonight's game and previous games.

Dunstan - I don't recall seeing him very often this season, but he must have been injured because you can see how desperate he is for the ball and for his team over the last two weeks, but I'll see if he backs it up next week
Bruce - this bloke tries, doesn't he? Not a great kick sometimes (but tonight very few Saints were) but by god you can see he is a heart and soul player
Ross - probably been the best player I've seen for St Kilda so far, just gets possessions in a nonchalant kind of way while seeming bouncy
Membrey - I was amazed to see that this guy is 21! he pretty much is the best 1 on 1 (aside from Carlisle) in the team. How about that premature sealer tonight? ice cool
Carlisle - If he was playing on that numpty ruckman last week, I'd say he probably needed to perform like he did tonight. And he was the teams best.
Roberton - he's the smooth mover of the team as far as I can see so far, kind of a corey enright/scarlett type?
Billings - It looks like he has an amazing influence in the forward line when he gets the ball, which is why it is disappointing to see him waste so many opportunities.
Gresham - he's got the magic
Steele - This guy's 21 too?? He is going to be an absolute beast with a few more preseasons
Rice - and this guy must be a debutant because I haven't seen him so far this year. He played like an experienced, good backman :thumbsu:

Those are pretty much the players that standout - mostly from tonight - to a virgin supporter of the club, for one reason or another.
Welcome. And my sincerest condolences.

Carlisle should be All Australian at this rate, has come in and made us a better side.
Dunstan had his best came and everything was good for him
Acres after that handball did the right things
White and Mckenzie were had and took risks and wanted to win the game
Bruce never gave up despirte 2 on 1's all game and took some key marks when we needed them

cb4bf464838f84fc9eafd5ecc25fbd62.jpg
0dd36eab551af8b49c671699c0b953ba.jpg
b0396b4fc01ef2974ed062a75f93ee67.jpg
eedeaf2aafd0a42d05c52b49d0a0ca05.jpg
75353defb6dbe8bbeabfc60456fe536d.jpg
8869ac96e656a388a73d883de5a7d8de.jpg
75e97da4e3cf6995f5113d7677cc80c9.jpg
db3105047540f4195e8484fed1cc08d4.jpg
f72a3baeada4ad6bc13565b3f21918a4.jpg

Stats for anyone that is interested

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Watching AFL Game Day and Hamish McLachlan with his smug shiteating grin says something like,

"If you missed the finish of the Port Saints game we'll be replaying that for you so don't put the kettle on as it's one of the best finishes to a game ever".

Yeah speak for yourself dickhead, it wasn't the best finish for Saints supporters, it was a bloody nightmare.
Gillon dislikes this

Good on Luke Dunstan for his game last night.
Proved he can and has improved and some on here will be wiping egg off their face today.
Depends. Honestly, I criticised him not getting dropped, because I thought developmentally, it wasn't good for him to just keep on getting picked. I'd say that has turned out to be correct. Dropping him down to Sandy has made him a noticeably better player.

Good on Luke Dunstan for his game last night.
Proved he can and has improved and some on here will be wiping egg off their face today.
+1.

You could see it coming in the JLT.

Just had a look at the stats in the Hun and all of Carlisle's 8 marks were intercept ones, with 4 of them contested!

Also had a total of 14 intercept possessions out of his 16, which is pretty remarkable. (Next best for us was Savage, with 9.)

Jake also had an equal game-high 9 1%ers and was the only one to play 100% of the game (next most was 94%).

Ripper game.

The backline was organised - the stoppage wasn't.

Ross, Dunstan, Newnes Longer and Billings in the immediate area but no one giving instructions.

Acres and Steele in no mans land and outside of the contest a couple of forwards doing and thinking who knows what!!

Just had a look at the stats in the Hun and all of Carlisle's 8 marks were intercept ones, with 4 of them contested!

Also had a total of 14 intercept possessions out of his 16, which is pretty remarkable. (Next best for us was Savage, with 9.)

Jake also had an equal game-high 9 1%ers and was the only one to play 100% of the game (next most was 94%).

Ripper game.
Absolute ripper game. The Age didn't even have him in our best players. Amazing considering he was arguably our best player on the day. Don't think Ashley even watched the game I'd say

IMG_6633.PNG