It was just discussion mate . No big deal.[/QUOTE]Ok TI ,
No worries , I rate all players until proven otherwise

It was just discussion mate . No big deal.[/QUOTE]Ok TI ,
Thats true but you do need to pick them somewhereSorry Gun Richard Flounder and Tyrone Vickery put holes in your argument.
Pick order are irrelevant especially with ruckmen. He does take a good grab and his ruck work is great , so he’s already passed Hampson.

why?Hopefully we are wrong because I don't see it in his highlights either. Glad we got Balta at 25 because CCJ seemed a stretch at pick 20, and if Balta went at 24 I reckon there would be a bit of argy bargy going on draft night. Anyway, a good ruck prospect he may turn out to be.
Wait till you see him in real life brother, then form an opinion. They recruited him as a forward/2nd ruck. He can clunk a mark but needs to put on weight and fix his kicking. He was top 20 in most draft boards in June before he tapped out for the season with injury.I haven't seen him live , but highlights suggest he looks like an old style lumbering dinosaur type which are being phased out of the game.
I won't get a good chance to watch a lot of RFC VFL games until after mid season so i will reserve my judgement on him until i see him up close.
As has been argued on here for ages, do you spend an early pick on a ruck man. In hindsight Grundy and English from previous drafts were also around this pick, so I guess it is not such a stretch. But picking up Nankervis cheap seems to be a good way to get a ruck man these days.why?
Don’t think the club see him as a pure ruckman in the form of English or Grundy.As has been argued on here for ages, do you spend an early pick on a ruck man. In hindsight Grundy and English from previous drafts were also around this pick, so I guess it is not such a stretch. But picking up Nankervis cheap seems to be a good way to get a ruck man these days.
I guess my main issue was Balta looked such a prospect 5 picks later. The recruiters might have thought that Balta would be still there for our next pick, and CCF was going to get picked up before 25.
Reckon Lloyd will have a monster season. If he plays in the middle for the whole season he’d likely win Liston. Gets fitter every pre season and is just a very intelligent player.Video highlights of Lloyd on the Tigers website right now ... you may wanna turn down the volume though, thought I was back on the dance floor at Transformers.
From someone involved-playing for Werribee, Lloyd was everywhere, with Miles not far behind and clearly the difference between the two sides.
The Bees were pretty chuffed with their effort being a standalone unit.
$$$$Darley was good last season.
There have been postings about the “new wave” of small forwards that will come in and what does that mean for Butler and Castagna... (almost like they are seasoned veterans). People forget that was Butlers first season of senior footy last year and Castagna not much different! Still a lot of scope for those lads too.LMFAO at the irony. Some of us get savaged for question Corey Ellis' contribution in his time at Tigerland, with three seasons behind him, yet some are writing CCJ off after one game.
Puzzling![]()
Isn’t that what he said? My English is bad but that’s how it reads unless someone wants to correct meWait till you see him in real life brother, then form an opinion. They recruited him as a forward/2nd ruck. He can clunk a mark but needs to put on weight and fix his kicking. He was top 20 in most draft boards in June before he tapped out for the season with injury.
As you say they wanted the two and got the two, a bit like when we got Riewoldt and Polak, great when it works. As a ruck man I sure hope he offers more than Hampson and Soldo, so in that respect I have no issue with his selection, especially as you say there were other clubs waiting their pick.Don’t think the club see him as a pure ruckman in the form of English or Grundy.
More a second tall forward and a relieving ruck. Definitely see him more of a forward.
Offers flexibility if we can have him up and running with Nank. And if Nank is out, he’s capable of shouldering the ruck himself. If he works out he provides way more than having to carry a Hampson/Soldo in the side.
And yes, the belief was he was as going to be picked up in the next ten picks. If he continued to progress as he was before he got injured and missed half the season, we wouldn’t even be debating his draft position right now.
In regards to picking him before Balta, it doesn’t mean the club valued him more, merely they strategised the best way to get the two players they wanted. Much like Hawthorn did with Roughead and Franklin in the 2004 draft.
I don't know , there was a technical malfunction and I'm currently working on a fix to ensure this doesn't happen again
eledio Maybe , can't help though think Lloyd is a depth player and a few are already queuing ahead of him ,,, good luck Lloydy have a big year blokeReckon Lloyd will have a monster season. If he plays in the middle for the whole season he’d likely win Liston. Gets fitter every pre season and is just a very intelligent player.
Hope he goes well enough to put his hand up to become a midfield option in the ones too. The more of he, Miles, Townsend types the better.
Reckon Lloyd will have a monster season. If he plays in the middle for the whole season he’d likely win Liston. Gets fitter every pre season and is just a very intelligent player.
Hope he goes well enough to put his hand up to become a midfield option in the ones too. The more of he, Miles, Townsend types the better.
Every single pre season he looks fitter and stronger. Real credit to himself I reckon.Looking the fittest I’ve seen him. More depth will get games with injuries no doubt
Every single pre season he looks fitter and stronger. Real credit to himself I reckon.
So far a few confirmed changes to the VFL list. Although not many will get a run with our healthy list as it stands.
http://vfl.com.au/2018-vfl-club-ins-and-outs/
RICHMOND
In: Nick Baltas (Caulfield Grammarians) / Blake Grewar (Brisbane) / Steven Morris (Richmond AFL) / Charlie Thompson (Oakleigh Chargers)
Out: Sam Darley (North Shore) / Alex Harnett (Frankston)
Baltas a forward
Grewar highlights on the web site
http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/2018-02-21/exlion-joins-vfl-tigers
Charlie Thompson was unlucky not to get drafted last year. Team mate of Higgo's at the Oakleigh Chargers
It seems that the club disagree with you that he is a lumbering dinasaur type. And you never know but someone from the club may have actually seen him in live. The following is an excerpt from the bio that RFC has put up on the website.I haven't seen him live , but highlights suggest he looks like an old style lumbering dinosaur type which are being phased out of the game.
I won't get a good chance to watch a lot of RFC VFL games until after mid season so i will reserve my judgement on him until i see him up close.
WOW... should have been overall pick 1 on that write up. Pump pump.It seems that the club disagree with you that he is a lumbering dinasaur type. And you never know but someone from the club may have actually seen him in live. The following is an excerpt from the bio that RFC has put up on the website.
This year, he captained SA at the under-18 championships, where he again performed strongly, this time as the team’s leading ruckman. The highlight of his carnival was a 28-disposal game against the Allies at Adelaide Oval.
Coleman-Jones has a great pair of hands which, combined with excellent aerial judgment, makes him an outstanding contested mark.
He possesses good speed for a player his size, an elite ability to be clean at ground level, has fine touch with his ruckwork, together with a strong football IQ.
I'm the opposite, I don't rate draftees until I see they can play.No worries , I rate all players until proven otherwise