Richo = L E G E N D

Midway thru a late lunch, thought Id slip down the shop to get some crusty bread to go with my minestrone, in any case a good alabi to nip down to Jells park and catch the remains of the Family Day. Strolling thru the native wonderland that is Jells Park, i was almost bowled over by a fleet of tigers on Golf carts as they made a hasty exit at 2.03PM:eek:...%^$@en marvellous I mused, I've missed everything. I then looked over the horizon and spotted a queue of rabid tiger fans that parted Jells Park like the wall of china. what was this all about I wondered, you guessed it, Richo the great man was holed up in a marque signing autographs whilst his teammates were more than likely racking them up down at the wheelers. He is Richmond this fella , every last bit of him....Down behind the stage it was like Beatlemania with Lids surrounded by a posse of screaming teenage girls in tight pants and bug eyed sunnies clamouring for an autograph.

you'll be pleased to know folks there was plenty of Tiger fans there, young and old alike. there's enough hope for everyone at this stage...Dont listen to the experts...If there's one certaintly Ive diascovered in following this great game, just when you think you've figured it out , it bites you right on the ass.....Dont look any further than the litany of boofheads that howled the Knighter appointment at essendon:rolleyes:

what was this all about I wondered, you guessed it, Richo the great man was holed up in a marque signing autographs whilst his teammates were more than likely racking them up down at the wheelers. He is Richmond this fella , every last bit of him....
A few years ago the team came up for a Brisbane game and stayed on the Sunshine Coast for a few days prior (something Frawley tried for some reason but not relevant). They had a training session at a very small and quite remote local ground one night and after training all the players stayed around on the oval signing autographs. There was quite a crowd (about 500 was my guess) and after nearly an hour Hutchinson rounded the players up for the bus trip home. All the players were loaded up waiting to go and Hutchinson came back out on the oval going off because Richo wouldn't listen and stayed on the oval signing autographs. He had a queue of kids a mile long and wasn't going anywhere until he had finished with them. One of footballs good guys is our Richo. :thumbsu:

Midway thru a late lunch, thought Id slip down the shop to get some crusty bread to go with my minestrone, in any case a good alabi to nip down to Jells park and catch the remains of the Family Day. Strolling thru the native wonderland that is Jells Park, i was almost bowled over by a fleet of tigers on Golf carts as they made a hasty exit at 2.03PM:eek:...%^$@en marvellous I mused, I've missed everything. I then looked over the horizon and spotted a queue of rabid tiger fans that parted Jells Park like the wall of china. what was this all about I wondered, you guessed it, Richo the great man was holed up in a marque signing autographs whilst his teammates were more than likely racking them up down at the wheelers. He is Richmond this fella , every last bit of him....Down behind the stage it was like Beatlemania with Lids surrounded by a posse of screaming teenage girls in tight pants and bug eyed sunnies clamouring for an autograph.

you'll be pleased to know folks there was plenty of Tiger fans there, young and old alike. there's enough hope for everyone at this stage...Dont listen to the experts...If there's one certaintly Ive diascovered in following this great game, just when you think you've figured it out , it bites you right on the ass.....Dont look any further than the litany of boofheads that howled the Knighter appointment at essendon:rolleyes:

I was in the line for Richo's autograph when the Security guys came and had a go at him for holding them up and agreeing to stay for longer than the 1/2 hour he was meant to be there for, w***ers.

Richo explained that he would rather upset them than the kids in the line.

Top Work.:thumbsu:

Certainly made my kids day.

I was in the line for Richo's autograph when the Security guys came and had a go at him for holding them up and agreeing to stay for longer than the 1/2 hour he was meant to be there for, w***ers.

Richo explained that he would rather upset them than the kids in the line.

Top Work.:thumbsu:

Certainly made my kids day.

Richo should have given him a backhander and told him to stop whinging :cool:

Great post, Great guy. It makes supporting this team through the lows worth it if the guys are actually brilliant characters.

Richo is awesome.....
Champion:thumbsu:
Richo is a legend. His terriffic attitude comes natural to Andy Collins as well. Collins doesn't shirk his committments with his fans. I once sore him sign 2 autographs in Chappel St one day.

Well done Richo , if it wasn't for you our young blokes would have big heads.

Mathew Richardson keeping it real since 1992

Richo is a legend. His terriffic attitude comes natural to Andy Collins as well. Collins doesn't shirk his committments with his fans. I once sore him sign 2 autographs in Chappel St one day.

Well done Richo , if it wasn't for you our young blokes would have big heads.

Mathew Richardson keeping it real since 1992
I once saw Andy Collins signing 10 autographs at the same time, not only was he doing that but he was donating to a charity and helping to rescue a small child at the same time!!!

Well I have reason to believe that today it was actually Collins in a Richo suit signing all those autographs.

Our club is lucky to have richo
He should be treated every bit as good as the kangas treated arch
the man is a legend
the man is guts
the man is determination
the man is hard
the man is everything that makes our game great
And some of our supporters need to take long hard looks in the mirror

Richo is our Archer

And we need to make his last few years the most memorable for the big man

Richo for PM - I love this guy, and actually told him that today, much to the amusement of my mates who reckon I embarrassed the big fella...couldn't give a hoot though, I really do love him!!!

ok, but be careful about following past trends on unrelated events with any conviction..WTF has Carltons performances to do with Ess destiny:confused:
Used the example to make my point that pre-season performance counts for 2 parts of 5/8ths of f***all when predicting what's to come. And that it applies to everyone in the football dept, not just the players. No comparison was made between the 2 teams, just the folly of assumptions based in February results.

The thing I love about Richo is that he is just an ordinary guy who does amazing things on the footy field. I've bumped into him in public and you can walk up to him and say g'day and he'll always greet you with a smile and is always very obliging.

I saw him at the Killers concert at Rod Laver at the end of last year and he was just having a drink with a few mates when a group of people came up to him all chanting "Richo... Richo... Richo...". Instead of shying away, the big fella laughed and gave them all a high five and sent them on their way.

I've seen other high profiled players that have turned and walked away in similar situations.

3 weeks ago I found myself in a great position watching Silverchair at the Big Day Out when all of a sudden the massive shouldered Richoman stands in front of me blocking my view.

A girl standing beside me must have said something rude as he turned around and noticed what he had done. He immediately apologised, smiled and moved a couple of rows back so that all in the area could see. :thumbsu:

An absolute top bloke, and one that I deem to be our only modern day Richmond legend!

A few years ago the team came up for a Brisbane game and stayed on the Sunshine Coast for a few days prior (something Frawley tried for some reason but not relevant). They had a training session at a very small and quite remote local ground one night and after training all the players stayed around on the oval signing autographs. There was quite a crowd (about 500 was my guess) and after nearly an hour Hutchinson rounded the players up for the bus trip home. All the players were loaded up waiting to go and Hutchinson came back out on the oval going off because Richo wouldn't listen and stayed on the oval signing autographs. He had a queue of kids a mile long and wasn't going anywhere until he had finished with them. One of footballs good guys is our Richo. :thumbsu:

I was at that one, at Glasshouse AFC if I remember correctly. Richo was mobbed, but was still more than happy to have photos with my kids (and me) and have a bit of a chat with them. Regardless of how the team goes, that's the sort of stuff that has ensured that he, and consequently the team he plays for, will have some lifelong fans.
The trainers were pretty nice too, giving both my young sons their Richmond caps.:thumbsu: