Roast Robbie Gray

Robbie could take a leaf out of Jay Schulz's book, Jay had an accuracy of 65.74% over his career and 69.75% when he was playing for Port. And a lot of them were on quite an angle. I remember that one he kicked to win Dom Cassisi's last game, it was deep in the pocket but I don't think too many people there were worried about him kicking it.
Schulz always took a long run and made sure he was moving in the right direction. Nearly all easy shots are missed by the kicker running to somewhere other than the middle of the goal. Maybe Robbie gets the impression that any wind that is on the ground is going to affect his shot more than it actually does.
didn't Shultzy kick 0.8 on the weekend?

His set shot kicking is poor and has been since 2007. He can barely kick it over 40m but that isn't the problem. Its the 25m to 30m set shots from marks and frees on bugger all angles that he just doesn't nail often enough. He had 3 in a row from basically the same spot In the 3rd quarter agains Carlton and fluffed them all.
The reason why Robbie slipped to us was purely because of his kicking (mainly goal kicking) - which has improved over the years.
To me R Gray is a slightly flawed Champion.
Most champions have flaws highlighted over their careers. Judd was also a poor kick for goal... as was Francou ... there is a very long list of great players with poor shots on goals.

Doesn't kick his drop punts with a great deal of conviction. Will raise the ire of the traditionalists, but dare I say could he take a leaf out of the Steve Johnson playbook and completely change the mental game of putting the ball through the sticks into to something that suits him? Got to be worth a go. It can defy logic that kicking around corners at every opportunity can be more successful than the straight line / bucket of water approach, but it's done wonders for SJ, Hawkins, Riewoldt so geniuses should be given some latitude to do their own thing.

The "I have lost my faith in Robbie Gray's goalkicking" thread. Imagine how ugly this place would be if he hadn't already delivered 18 goals for the year (sitting comfortably in the Top 10). He is still working his way up to top gear too imo.

Not that I think it is a huge issue but if we wanted to address it then Ben Perkins is the man. Why we refuse to use specialist coaches baffles me.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-05-02/fixing-daniher-wouldnt-take-many-hours

The "I have lost my faith in Robbie Gray's goalkicking" thread. Imagine how ugly this place would be if he hadn't already delivered 18 goals for the year (sitting comfortably in the Top 10). He is still working his way up to top gear too imo.

Not that I think it is a huge issue but if we wanted to address it then Ben Perkins is the man. Why we refuse to use specialist coaches baffles me.
If you make more chances than the average bear, you are entitled to miss some.

The reason why Robbie slipped to us was purely because of his kicking (mainly goal kicking) - which has improved over the years.
To me R Gray is a slightly flawed Champion.
Most champions have flaws highlighted over their careers. Judd was also a poor kick for goal... as was Francou ... there is a very long list of great players with poor shots on goals.

He also looked like a small child being granted his make-a-wish

IMG_7833.JPG

Robbie at 80% going better than 98% of the competition

Thanks Choco.
I don't care if anyone agrees,we kept watching his movement last week and his legs aren't moving freely yet. He is lacking half a yard of pace and can't kick through the ball totally which is why his kicks are hooking a bit sometimes.Robbies football smarts and ability to take a grab is making him extremely dangerous up forward. Wait until he is 89.75%

I'm not so sure his kicking/goal kicking was an issue. In his last season at Oakleigh Gray kicked 58 goals in 18 games and ranked second in the competition for groundball-gets inside 50. Although he played as a small forward, he took 23 contested marks inside 50, which ranked fourth.

As well as his 58 goals, Robbie ranked equal fourth in the TAC Cup for score assists with 27. Overall, he had more scoreboard impact than any other TAC Cup player.

There was more concern about his tank. But he carried a number of injuries, including groin and knee, in his final TAC season and couldn't train for the grand final. On top of that he was working as a meat-packer starting work at 5am and finishing at 4pm.

He missed draft camp and state screening and had a special session organised by the Oakleigh regional manager, which Mick Moylan attended.

Robbie thought he might get picked on a rookie list.

I love Oakleigh's kit. A corker with white shorts.

The "My scrapbook of SANFL pictures" fb page has some old timey beauties. Early Woodville with thick green and gold vertical stripes and white shorts. Delish.

IMG_3616.JPG

Robbie could take a leaf out of Jay Schulz's book, Jay had an accuracy of 65.74% over his career and 69.75% when he was playing for Port. And a lot of them were on quite an angle. I remember that one he kicked to win Dom Cassisi's last game, it was deep in the pocket but I don't think too many people there were worried about him kicking it.
Schulz always took a long run and made sure he was moving in the right direction. Nearly all easy shots are missed by the kicker running to somewhere other than the middle of the goal. Maybe Robbie gets the impression that any wind that is on the ground is going to affect his shot more than it actually does.
Maybe not post footy Jay, lol.

The "My scrapbook of SANFL pictures" fb page has some old timey beauties. Early Woodville with thick green and gold vertical stripes and white shorts. Delish.

View attachment 365633

What a great page that is.

I can also see it's where you're getting your Photoshopping inspiration from...

17880555_1294146790680761_134703245649948732_o.jpg

Maybe my eyes were deceiving me, but I reckon I saw Robbie turn the ball the ball slightly as he let it drop onto his boot in a couple of those misses against brisvegas.
If so, he may not even be aware he is doing it, ala test cricketers who suddenly lose their straight bat technique.

It's the job of the skills coach to pick up any flaw in a player's kicking technique, and help him eradicate it, but I won't be holding my breath on that one. :rolleyes:

The above aside the bloke is still the best player on our list, and those old enough to have seen him play should remember that the club's greatest ever player could kick a drop kick goal on the run from 60 metres consistently but was no more than an average set shot.