Rogue custom sides - blacklist

Jun 5, 2004
There's a quitters thread, so perhaps there should be a thread for custom sides we can report on that are obviously skewed with super stats for certain player types (ruck/mids/key forwards).

That way, if you come across them, you can exit while in the lobby stage rather than having to rage quit in game.

PSN: Hillside Bastards. Also double that with them playing 2 on 1 and running forward... nigh on impossible to stop.

I played some dude called xxxSpeedKillazxxx or something twice. The first time it was 2v1 and he beat me by a few goals. He has a monster ruckman, CHF and FF. I beat him 1v1 in a close game. Decent player but yeah, a tad cheap. He abused me after the game, even though he did all of the usual things such as blocking the mark etc.

came across 2 in a row on psn - Untameable Panthers (controlled by Mr--Marshall) - Played 2 v 1 blocked the mark with 2 players and gave away 50 m penalties to give his mate time to block the mark and continously tackled players after the mark hoping to get the play on call, weren't so untameable after all beat them by 2 points.

Daredevil Hawks (controlled by funtimes 12) - Has a bunch of maxxed out players and uses the good old punch out of the ruck then chip to the maxxed out CHF who is too quick to keep up with and can kick them from anywhere inside 75 meters also has a really shit connection as every time I have played him the game seems to glitch and lag really bad.

Need to hurry up and get these degenerates offline because I like to play honestly and refuse to quit and I am having record ruined by cheaters.

Daredevil Hawks (controlled by funtimes 12) - Has a bunch of maxxed out players and uses the good old punch out of the ruck then chip to the maxxed out CHF who is too quick to keep up with and can kick them from anywhere inside 75 meters also has a really shit connection as every time I have played him the game seems to glitch and lag really bad.

Guy was pretty bad, I destroyed him with my 1.5 star custom team.

Just played a game against *Team Name* XVIII - Yellow and brown striped jersey.

* Played 2 vs 1
* Ruckman was stacked to smashed the ball to the 50 meter line
* Blocked shots with the second player (moving off the mark with the second player to block)
* Forwards were stacked to be able to kick from whereever in the 50
* Tackle after every mark to slow down the play to allow the 2nd player to get in there or take advantage of the play on glitch.

They were absolutely terrible in defence, but managed to stop any shot on goal by getting the second player in to block, if I tried to play on, they'd bump and have the second player tackle.

First time I've quit a match, it was just ridiculous... How you have fun blatantly playing cheap is beyond me.

I'd be interested to get a consensus of what can be done and what can't be done when creating a custom team.

My custom team looks something like:
B J.Schofield (WBD) M.Scarlett (GEE) M.Daw (KAN)
HB A.Moore (PTA) D.Fletcher (ESS) R.Schoenmakers (HAW)
C L.Jetta (SYD) J.Brennan (GCS) N.Winmar (STK)
HF D.Petrie (KAN) J.Brown (BRI) J.Darling (WCE)
F A.Hooper (WBD) J.Riewoldt (RIC) Z.Skinner (WBD)
R Z.Clarke (FRE) G.Rohan (SYD) J.Garlett (CAR)
INT 4 complete duds worth around $98K each

This is purely an online squad and the rest of my team is made up of the cheapest players possible. It is a 2 star team - am I cheating?

I'd be interested to get a consensus of what can be done and what can't be done when creating a custom team.

My custom team looks something like:
B J.Schofield (WBD) M.Scarlett (GEE) M.Daw (KAN)
HB A.Moore (PTA) D.Fletcher (ESS) R.Schoenmakers (HAW)
C L.Jetta (SYD) J.Brennan (GCS) N.Winmar (STK)
HF D.Petrie (KAN) J.Brown (BRI) J.Darling (WCE)
F A.Hooper (WBD) J.Riewoldt (RIC) Z.Skinner (WBD)
R Z.Clarke (FRE) G.Rohan (SYD) J.Garlett (CAR)
INT 4 complete duds worth around $98K each

This is purely an online squad and the rest of my team is made up of the cheapest players possible. It is a 2 star team - am I cheating?
No way, you're team is pretty horrible.:D Especially the midfield.:eek:

And I don't think anyone that uses non-edited AFL players in their team can be considered so either (at least 18 of them anyway). Because if anything, you're completely gimping your potential if you're using another side with far more decent players across the board.

IMO it's those that use the beefed up ruckman, forwards, mids, etc. to exploit the salary cap that are cheating the system...which IMO is only due to get worse with the upping of it for the best 22.

No way, you're team is pretty horrible.:D Especially the midfield.:eek:

And I don't think anyone that uses non-edited AFL players in their team can be considered so either (at least 18 of them anyway). Because if anything, you're completely gimping your potential if you're using another side with far more decent players across the board.

IMO it's those that use the beefed up ruckman, forwards, mids, etc. to exploit the salary cap that are cheating the system...which IMO is only due to get worse with the upping of it for the best 22.

I just don't understand this "they are cheating" mentality. Reminds me of my friend accusing my other friends brother of hacking his computer to make it alt tab when they were playing halo and he was getting completely owned.

Its entirely possible to beat these guys with skill, the fact is that anyone who knows the game well enough to make a good custom side is usually pretty good themselves. All this complaining about cheating and quitters and set shot blockers and people who actually use bumps and even people who waste time by kicking the ball along the boundary is just ridiculous. What next, will people complain that I use the banana modifier to kick goals from the pocket?

I mean, I will laugh and call someone a tool if they constantly punch the ball but I'm not going to cry about it I'm just going to punch as well. If someone blocks my shots I'll either run past them or block their shots right back, if someone bumps me off the ball I'll bump them back. Sure its not as fun when you have to punch at every ruck contest and can't take set shots like normal but hopefully the patch fixes some of these flaws in the gameplay and it happens less.

That said, anyone who decides to kick behinds to waste your time until you quit is being a blatant douche. Haven't had this happen to me though.

Its entirely possible to beat these guys with skill, the fact is that anyone who knows the game well enough to make a good custom side is usually pretty good themselves. All this complaining about cheating and quitters and set shot blockers and people who actually use bumps and even people who waste time by kicking the ball along the boundary is just ridiculous. What next, will people complain that I use the banana modifier to kick goals from the pocket?

Set shot blockers are a scum of the game, only thing in the game that annoys me. It's just filthy, it is enjoyable to see them try and do it to a left footer though.

But bumpers are just as bad, i'm not talking about the one of bumpers in smart situations. Im talking about the one who will bump you for 12 seconds straight until another two players make it to the contest. What is the honest point, in the end I end up clearing the ball anyways.

Set shot blockers are a scum of the game, only thing in the game that annoys me. It's just filthy, it is enjoyable to see them try and do it to a left footer though.

But bumpers are just as bad, i'm not talking about the one of bumpers in smart situations. Im talking about the one who will bump you for 12 seconds straight until another two players make it to the contest. What is the honest point, in the end I end up clearing the ball anyways.

Agree with this. And I don't see the problem with punching out of the ruck, 90% of the time I reckon this is a disadvantage/used poorly so it doesn't bother me at all.

People who punch out of the ruck get destroyed by me reguarly by how my midfield is set up, my mids grab it and kick it to a wing. Makes it easy for me, unless they are using two players and move there player around the ruck contest.

I just don't understand this "they are cheating" mentality. Reminds me of my friend accusing my other friends brother of hacking his computer to make it alt tab when they were playing halo and he was getting completely owned.

I mean, I will laugh and call someone a tool if they constantly punch the ball but I'm not going to cry about it I'm just going to punch as well. If someone blocks my shots I'll either run past them or block their shots right back, if someone bumps me off the ball I'll bump them back. Sure its not as fun when you have to punch at every ruck contest and can't take set shots like normal but hopefully the patch fixes some of these flaws in the gameplay and it happens less.

That said, anyone who decides to kick behinds to waste your time until you quit is being a blatant douche. Haven't had this happen to me though.

truth.

I actually think Lurk3r has got it wrong. Bumping, spoiling and kicking along the boundary are all legitimate tactics in football. I have no issue with them being used in the game, even though the spoiling is a bit overpowered.

Blocking the person taking the set shot is not a legitimate tactic. If attempted in real life, it would result in a 50 metre penalty. I hardly think it is "ridiculous" to complain about this which is quite clearly an exploit which would not be allowed in real life.

Its not ridiculous to complain about it a little bit, but its hardly as bad as people make out.

I lost a game the other day because someone managed to shot block my shot with 30 seconds to go to win the game. I was pissed off, but mostly at myself for falling for such a cheap trick.

I actually think Lurk3r has got it wrong. Bumping, spoiling and kicking along the boundary are all legitimate tactics in football. I have no issue with them being used in the game, even though the spoiling is a bit overpowered.

Blocking the person taking the set shot is not a legitimate tactic. If attempted in real life, it would result in a 50 metre penalty. I hardly think it is "ridiculous" to complain about this which is quite clearly an exploit which would not be allowed in real life.
Agree.

It's not really the point to say "well if someone does it to you, then do it to them" or "if you're good enough you can't beat it". When the former says to them that it's ok to be doing it, when it's clearly an exploit (to which BigAnt have put the fix in the patch...whenever that will hit).

The point is that there are a ridiculous number of posts complaining about it, which lead to people complaining about obscene things like "kicking to the boundary to waste time".

My only problem with bumping is that I don't seem to be able to do it at all. Is there some trick to it I'm not getting? Is there anything to it other than tapping the right stick towards the player I'm bumping?

Doesn't even have to be towards the player. You just have to be in their vicinity (like within a step of them) and tap it in any direction and you should bump them.

If its not working, it could be a lag issue.

The point is that there are a ridiculous number of posts complaining about it, which lead to people complaining about obscene things like "kicking to the boundary to waste time".

So you have to draw the line somewhere.

I draw the line by calling someone a cheater if they do something that is allowed in the game but not in real life.

This includes:

1) blocking the man on the mark
2) running through the goal and behind posts to tackle an opposition player taking the kick in

People are free to bump, spoil, waste time, punch the ball out of the ruck and kick the ball along the boundary as much as they want.

One slight thing is that the game does not penalise you if you hit the ball out of the ruck on the full out of bounds. Whilst people use this as a tactic to run down the clock, I'm not overly critical because often you will have players standing on the boundary line and the ruck punch is ridiculously overpowered.

I read that hitting the ball out on the full will be correctly penalised in the upcoming patch. Hopefully that is accompanied by a nerfing of the ruck punch.

I played some dude with 300,000xp last night, he won by 2 goals... That wasn't the problem. He was using some team rated two stars and had all the old greats playing, that also wasn't the problem. The problem was he was using two players, and though he was actually quite bad (Didnt have any game smarts) he punched it out of the ruck to the 2nd player standing heaps back and would dominate like that.

The obvious 12yr old won and I lost but I feel I won the morale battle ;)

That's just two guys playing together... Not much you can do about that. The patch will match up 1v1 and 2v2 better though.... so hopefully you, on your own, won't play against 2 players like that again.

Rogue custom sides - blacklist