Roo comeback delayed

• Thread starter Thread starter AC07

We do not believe we need to keep putting Ricciuto up for press conferences to say the same things. He hasn't "reinjured" himself but his back was sore after training on Friday. As one of the other posters said, it has been a case of two steps forward and one step back for Mark in the past few weeks. Mark has been warned to expect some of these setbacks - as I think he said in the Sunday Mail last weekend - as part of the recovery process so he is certainly not back at the startsexpected these setback

a. This has been reported a number of times. He has a small tear in a disc in his back.
b. The club prefers not to give out specific details about his rehab/maintenance/fitness program but he had been training with the main group for the four group sessions before last Friday.
c. There is no precise timetable for his return. He needs to be able to train with the full group for a couple of weeks to be ready to play so he was pretty close late last week and if he had been able to get on the track this week would have been considered for the Friday night game.
d. There is always some risk with backs but we have a couple of players at the club who have had similar injuries (Bock, Pfeiffer and Goodwin) and they have been able to get over the problem.

Thank you for the informed response. Much appreciated.

We do not believe we need to keep putting Ricciuto up for press conferences to say the same things. He hasn't "reinjured" himself but his back was sore after training on Friday. As one of the other posters said, it has been a case of two steps forward and one step back for Mark in the past few weeks. Mark has been warned to expect some of these setbacks - as I think he said in the Sunday Mail last weekend - as part of the recovery process so he is certainly not back at the startsexpected these setback

a. This has been reported a number of times. He has a small tear in a disc in his back.
b. The club prefers not to give out specific details about his rehab/maintenance/fitness program but he had been training with the main group for the four group sessions before last Friday.
c. There is no precise timetable for his return. He needs to be able to train with the full group for a couple of weeks to be ready to play so he was pretty close late last week and if he had been able to get on the track this week would have been considered for the Friday night game.
d. There is always some risk with backs but we have a couple of players at the club who have had similar injuries (Bock, Pfeiffer and Goodwin) and they have been able to get over the problem.
Great stuff

Cheers for the informed post.

I think Roo would have a different mindset than Ben and realise his time is up whenever that may be.

"Whenever that time may be" is the key factor.

That time is when the club decides it is.

With Benny, his form before he broke his arm last year was very good - and he almost won AA selection the year before - yet when it was clear he was well off the pace form and fitnesswise after his 8 weeks out the club deemed him surplus to requirements, despite the fact he probably could've played another solid season or two in 07/08 when back to full fitness and preparation.

Will we see the same thing with Roo? He may believe that back to full fitness and preparation he will gun it as a forward like last year, whether the club agrees having seen him struggle for the past 12 months is another story.

Not good. When is he off contract?

Over 30, question marks on his ability to even hit the training track let alone take the park.

I wonder if Craig will have the balls to treat him the same as our other 300-game club legend, Benny H?

One things for sure, you can guarantee Roo won't carry on like a spoilt brat, unlike Hart.

It won't even be an issue; Roo will hang them up when he decides the time is right.

To be honest - we have Richmond this week, I'd be inclined to not play Roo anyway; I'd even consider not playing him the weekend after agaisnt Melbourne.

A couple of shithouse teams, give him time to make sure he is absolutely 110% and up and about when we need him.

It won't even be an issue; Roo will hang them up when he decides the time is right.

To be honest - we have Richmond this week, I'd be inclined to not play Roo anyway; I'd even consider not playing him the weekend after agaisnt Melbourne.

A couple of shithouse teams, give him time to make sure he is absolutely 110% and up and about when we need him.

Agree. Don't see the point in rushing him back.

We aren't to gain anything by doing so. That's the beauty of it, we don't need him that much at the moment. When he is 100%, bring him in, plonk him down forward and he'll kick 5, no worries. But whilst he isn't 100% there is no point trying to bring him in, because the chances are, he will reinjure himself, and it will be the end of the season for him, which frankly would be a disaster for our favourite boy from Waikerie. Ultimately if that happened, questions would be asked of the coaching staff about playing an injured player. I only want to see Roo whn he is fighting fit, and frankly the fact I never thought I would see him play again says that I am getting more than I thought I would.

Ive been saying it for months.... I doubt he will be back. (But hope like hell I am wrong).

Having said that IF he comes back this season, lets not rush it. Make sure he's 100% and dont send him to Melbourne for his first game back (sorry Melb people - but think he needs to be at home in a "safe" environment for his return).

If this is the club posting officially on BigFooty to keep its supporters informed, then I commend the club on a great initiative.
:thumbsu:

Yes. No way of telling, is there ? Unlikely on the basis of no sig etc, which the AFC would most certainly have provided...

shame for him, but chillax crows fans...your bloody brilliant. i keep telling my family and mate this. hes not a necessity for home and away season. roo can just have a preseason from weeks 15 or so onward. and thats worst case.

ok my question is did he have any surgery and is it a possibility? stevo had surgery for us and sounds like hes gonna be great but im sure its different

just be glad that losing a player that good leaves you with so many capable replacements.....i'd kill for that. literally. looking forward to playing ya in a few weeks tho, hope we can keep it from being a massacre

This mornings Advertiser has Roo pretty much retired. As usual this grubby little tabloid chooses sensationalism over fact. I wouldn't mind if we rest Roo for the remainder of the year, and then have one last genuine crack at it in 2008.

If this is the club posting officially on BigFooty to keep its supporters informed, then I commend the club on a great initiative.

I believe it is as Sir MD thanked them for their imput on another thread.

It's great to have a forward thinking club like ours. :thumbsu:

I'd keep him in cotton wool until the split round. ;)

Yes it is the club, I'm not sure if any other club posts on BF although we have suspected that they all monitor the site regularly for a long time. :D

I believe that some other clubs keep in contact with moderators about some issues.

Yes it is the club, I'm not sure if any other club posts on BF although we have suspected that they all monitor the site regularly for a long time. :D

I believe that some other clubs keep in contact with moderators about some issues.

I think the more input we get from the Club on here, the better.

I'd like the poster to clarify if they are or not.

If it is, then yes, that's excellent.

Sorry, I should have signed, but yes we are from the AFC. If we think we can add any relevant club info to a thread we will have a go. Cheers, David B.

Sorry, I should have signed, but yes we are from the AFC. If we think we can add any elevant club info to a thread we will have a go. Cheers, David B.

Cheers back. I for one appreciate the input and at least can take it much better than the old ''mate told me who heard it from'' :p

You seriously expect him after setback after setback after setback to come back???

It is back related.....he has the rest of his life ahead of him his children his wife and I think that is far more important than anything AFC supporters want.

He has Premiership Medal, Brownlow Medal, AA honours, CC Honours and a Pre-season Premiership all to his name, he has achieved it all..........and now he has to put his health above footy...............I would love to see him pull the hoops on but not at the detriment of his health.