Ross Oakley - Go Forth and Multiply

I've said it a 1000 times on here and I'll say it again (not having a go at you mate, just it needs to be said in this thread):

Around the time Phil Walsh was tragically killed, the Dogs, Saints and Hawks were negotiating with a new significant sponsor - who would only pick one club. They picked the Hawks, largely due the 'Prime Time' TV exposure they would receive. At this stage, we hadn't had a Friday night game for 2 - 3 years. What ******* hope do we have (or did we have, as things are slightly different now) when the AFL controls and manipulates - not just who plays who, but when they play and how much TV exposure they get ?

They also prevent us from playing home games at Geelong to generate additional revenue, have saddled us (and a few others) with the paying off of Etihad - for the benefit of all clubs.

Innovate we are told, but when we do - the AFL says '**** off, back in your box'.

The whole idea that we are always on life support comes from the fact the AFL controls and restricts the growth of certain clubs to line their own pockets. Sure, the historic size (support) of some clubs is based on years of success, support and good management (which we can't always claim) - but preventing any form of level playing field just to ensure a bonus to AFL executives is appallingly contradictory behaviour for a sporting code.

There will always be bigger and smaller clubs. But the smaller clubs are deliberately kept small to benefit both the AFL, the executive and the bigger clubs pockets....

I was at dogs v hawks game this year. Etihad was rocking. there'll be plenty of full houses next year. Looking forward to it

If they do have to perform surgery in QLD at soem point, form the Queensland Bears playing games across the state, extract the lions and form the Tassie Lions co hosted Hobart, Launny and Melb (for really big games)

Where will the 30k come from? I would say that anyone who is likely to support AFL in Perth already go for WCE or Dockers

From all over Perth, you do realise that the Eagles has a potential waiting list of about 40 k, the Dockets also have a waiting list for some seats.

At a guess some people just want to see the footy and would happily buy a membership to a new team to do so, other people who can't be bother putting their name on a waiting list for 10 years and having to pay for the privilege may do the same.

Plenty of threads with stats etc etc etc that back my statements

Several clubs were next to broke far before etihad

They shouldn't be, attendances and TV audiences are perfectly adequate for a sustainable competition. Doesn't it say something that first hawthorn, and then other clubs proved you could take games to a much smaller stadium and be profitable?

To be fair though, the vision back then was to have a 30k stadium somewhere. It was to be princes park, but not being able to have lights, and corrupt Collo fixed that one up

People don't appreciate how broke AFL clubs used to be. This was all back when the TV money was a pittance compared to now.

I'm an Aussie rules creationist, the world didn't exist before 1897. No godless science can make me think otherwise

I think you mean you are a VFL/AFL creationist

Sorry but Australian Football started in SA and Victoria with structured competitions with the formation of the SAFA later SAFL and the VFA in 1877 thats 19 years before the VFL/AFL existed and I might remind you ALL the current Victorian AFL clubs and the Swans started in the VFA at different times - none started only in the VFL 1897. Port Adelaide was also a founding member of the SAFA in 1877
The only VFL club that was part of the early VFL and started and only played in the VFL was University

I would like to invite old m8 Ross to go ahead and find the largest spoon he can get his hands on so that he can eat our collective arse.

He tried to bury Hawthorn, 4 flags since.

He tried to bury Footscray, now they have a flag.

Melbourne, it's now your turn.

Fitzroy, know that when he arrives in hell he'll get the job of polishing Satan's bollocks.

Up yours mongo.

middle-finger.png

Divvy

Ross Oakley - Go Forth and Multiply