The Cotch

Sorry, it's getting really close and I can't help myself. Especially in this hot weather with nothing to do.

FB: Newman Thursfield Moore
HB: Tambling McGuane McMahon
C: Jackson Foley Richardson
HF: Morton Riewoldt Cotchin
FF: Brown Hughes Bowden
R: Simmonds Deledio Tuck
INT: Pattison Cousins Johnson Coughlan

EMER: White Raines Thomson

It wont happen but here's mine

FB: Newman Thursfield McGuane
HB: White Rance Moore
C: Cotchin Deledio Cousins
HF: Richo Riewoldt Morton
FF: Brown Hughes Connors
Fol: Simmonds Foley Tuck

Int: Jackson, Vickery, Coughlan, Bowden

Emg: Polo, Tambling, Polak:o

Rance obviously isn't going to start at CHB and Connors and Vickery might be lucky too. Could possibly put Tambling at HBF but I just want Matty White in the team.

Johnson and McMahon will both probably get games too so that makes it a little harder for all our midfielders to be included.

Sorry, it's getting really close and I can't help myself. Especially in this hot weather with nothing to do.

FB: Newman Thursfield Moore
HB: Tambling McGuane McMahon
C: Jackson Foley Richardson
HF: Morton Riewoldt Cotchin
FF: Brown Hughes Bowden
R: Simmonds Deledio Tuck
INT: Pattison Cousins Johnson Coughlan

EMER: White Raines Thomson

White not in the 22? :eek:
I'd bring in White and Polo and take out Johnson and Mcmahon :cool:

:)What I'd like:

B Newman Thursfield Moore
HB Bowden McGuane McMahon
C White Deledio Richardson
HF Tuck Riewoldt Cotchin
F Brown Schulz Morton
Rucks Simmonds Cousins
Rov Foley
Inter Pattison Edwards Tambling Connors
Emerg Hislop Polo Thomson

Of course, if fit and proven he's back, I'd include Coughlan

What we'll likely get:

B Raines Thursfield Moore
HB Jackson McGuane Newman
C Cotchin Deledio Richardson
HF Cousins Riewoldt Johnson
F Brown Hughes Morton
Rucks Simmonds Tuck
Rov Foley
Inter: Pattison Tambling Bowden McMahon
Emerg: White, Edwards Thomson.

i cant believe people are even thinking about leaving white out! he is probably the guy who has trained the house down this pre season and had a great season last year. he brings so much pace and flashiness to our side which is really exciting. its great watching him put the burners on and blitz opponents when hes running away from them. he also proved he can be handy up forward with that pace and tackling ability, and goal sense. my only criticism is his disposal is a little bit shonky, but he will improve no doubt for someone who is still only 21 or 22.

:cool::thumbsu:

But who do you take out? Realistically we all know Johnson and McMahon will play.

My shot at it:

B: Tambling Thursfield McGuane
HB: Newman Moore McMahon
C: Jackson Deledio Richo
HF: White Pattison Riewoldt
F: Brown Hughes Morton
R: Simmonds Tuck Foley
I: Coughlan Johnson Cousins Hislop
E: Thomson Schulz Raines.

B: Tambling Thursfield McGuane
C: Jackson Deledio Richo
HF: White Riewoldt Connors
F: Brown Schulz Morton

I: Pattison Johnson Cousins Thomson

E: Hughes Coughlan Raines.

Schulz or Hughes.... Jay probably played his best footy in the backline last year. A bit betwixt and between for him, though I still reckon he can be a forward.

Very keen for Thomson to be there

But who do you take out? Realistically we all know Johnson and McMahon will play.

:thumbsu:Exactly. Personally I'd have Matty White before both of them - Jackson and Tambling too. But you know those four will play before White gets a look-in.
His pre-season and 2008 form should guarantee he plays, but he is far from a certainty!!! Not saying it's right, but that's the reality!

B: McGuane Thursfield Raines
C: Richo Tuck Cotchin
HF: White Riewoldt Edwards
FF: Brown Hughes Morton
R: Simmonds Deledio Foley
I: Pattison Cousins Tambling Jackson
Emeg: Johnson(Will probably play) Schulz Polo

B: Moore Thursfield Raines
HB: Newman McGuane Tambling
C: Deledio Coughlan Cousins
HF: Morton Richardson Cotchin
FF: Brown Riewoldt Bowden
I: Pattison Johnson White McMahon
E: Schulz Hughes Jackson

Richo is CHF because I dont think Hughes will make it and Schulz is more of a defender.

B: McGuane Thursfield Raines
HB: Newman Moore Tambling
C: Richo Tuck McMahon
HF: Cotchin Riewoldt Cousins
FF: Brown Hughes Morton
R: Simmonds Deledio Foley
I: Pattison Johnson White Jackson
Emeg: Schulz Polo Edwards

Johnson should be given a chance to keep his spot out of respect that he was our captain for the last 4 years,... as for Jordy unless he has a ripper NAB/Practice match month, Matty White shoud always be picked before him.

Then who plays Mcmahon's position? Not White thats for sure. If you take Jordy out of the team Tambling with have to play his role permanently or either bring in Raines or Rance. Personally I'd have Raines in his spot with Rance coming off the bench to fill holes in the backline if needed and I'd pop Tambling in the foward line. I know people want him in the backline but realisticlly alot of the time he will be caught out 1v1 vs a much bigger much stronger player and lose out, it always happens even when they are not opponents, it's just how things pan out with the speed of the game these days.

Tambling running through midfield / pushing into foward line gaps is best way like Brown has done effectivly, we got enough smalls to push back already. 180 cm is just too small for marking contests. Even Raines is 184 and Jordy is 185. Anyways it's just my opinion and is in no way respresentive of what the RFC will actually proceed to do with him so I couldn't care less if you start flaming me or not.

Then who plays Mcmahon's position? Not White thats for sure. If you take Jordy out of the team Tambling with have to play his role permanently or either bring in Raines or Rance. Personally I'd have Raines in his spot with Rance coming off the bench to fill holes in the backline if needed and I'd pop Tambling in the foward line. I know people want him in the backline but realisticlly alot of the time he will be caught out 1v1 vs a much bigger much stronger player and lose out, it always happens even when they are not opponents, it's just how things pan out with the speed of the game these days.

Tambling running through midfield / pushing into foward line gaps is best way like Brown has done effectivly, we got enough smalls to push back already. 180 cm is just too small for marking contests. Even Raines is 184 and Jordy is 185. Anyways it's just my opinion and is not way respresentive of what the RFC will actually proceed to do with him so I couldn't care less if you start flaming me or not.

I agree with Tambling. I want to see him play in the midfield. He had solid games there during the year and kicked some goals. I think posters want him in the backline because his best game of the years was off the Half-back flank against the lions.

His best position would probably be the midfield but we've all ready got about 7 or 8 guys lining up for that spot before him.

Yet we also have players like Newman, Bowden, Raines, Mcmahon, King and so on who all play exactly same role as Tambling will. Having so much smaller players in the backline only goes so far. Should just leave him in the foward pocket or flank.

Coaches aren't stupid, they expose players for their weaknesses and flaws. Bowden always gets exposed in marking contests already which is a planned move, so does Mcmahon and Newman sometimes but not as much as the others. Do we really want to add Tambling to that list? Can we afford to?

B: Newman Thursfield Moore
HB: Tambling Rance Bowden
C: Jackson Deledio White
HF: Johnson Richo Cotchin
F: Brown Riewoldt Morton
I: Coughlan Mcmahon Cousins Pattison
E: Hislop Schulz Raines.

:)What I'd like:

B Newman Thursfield Moore
HB Bowden McGuane McMahon
C White Deledio Richardson
HF Tuck Riewoldt Cotchin
F Brown Schulz Morton
Rucks Simmonds Cousins
Rov Foley
Inter Pattison Edwards Tambling Connors
Emerg Hislop Polo Thomson

Of course, if fit and proven he's back, I'd include Coughlan

What we'll likely get:

B Raines Thursfield Moore
HB Jackson McGuane Newman
C Cotchin Deledio Richardson
HF Cousins Riewoldt Johnson
F Brown Hughes Morton
Rucks Simmonds Tuck
Rov Foley
Inter: Pattison Tambling Bowden McMahon
Emerg: White, Edwards Thomson.

reckon TW wont shy to far away from the line up that finished off last year. The importance of the round 1 clash, i.e. we must make sure we win it, not because its the tankers although it does mean more than if it were the dees, but because we have to start the season 1-0 so we can set ourselves up for 2-0, 3-0 and maybe 4-0, suggests that he will most likely go in with the safe option, which equates to an experienced, battle haardened line up.;)

B: Newman Thursfield Moore

HB: Bowden McGuane McMahon

C: White Tuck Richardson

HF: *Cotchin Riewoldt Cousins

F: Brown Schulz Morton

R: Simmonds Foley Deledio

Int: Tambling Coughlan Jackson Johnson

Emg: *Raines Edwards Pattison

*= if cotchin injured, raines comes in

I am backing us to go with just Simmonds in the ruck (with richo to relieve a bit). This will enable us to stack up on midfielders and run them off their legs. With a ruck division of cloke, kreuzer and possibly hampson, I dont think we have too much to be worried about :o