Kenny_01

Rd. 1 Side.

Just watched the replay, and I was pondering what our side should be for the first couple of weeks, given that we will be without Croad, J. Longmuir and Koops.

B: Hayden Parker Haddrill
HB: Grover Polak Carr
C: Headland Cook McManus
HF: T. Longmuir Pavlich Waterhouse
F: Medhurst McPharlin Farmer
R: Simmonds Hasleby Bell

I: Jones, Woods, Haines, Walker

I hope I didn't leave anyone out.

Adelaide and Sydney only have 1 big forward of note (Carey and Hall) and I think Parker should get the job on them. I think then we can put Pavlich up forward and test Polak out on their next big forward (Stevens and Saddington?). I put McPharlin at FF while Longmuir and Croad are out, and I really think it can pay off. He is quick off the mark, and most defenders will have trouble staying up with him. I thought Troy Longmuir was impressive and I hope he has a good season to rejuvenate his AFL career. I still think he can become a good player for us. I thought Hayden and Haddrill were good and deserve games, especially since we are missing some players. I know it's more than a month away and things can change a lot since then, but I just thought I'd share my thoughts.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Rd. 1 Side.

Just watched the replay, and I was pondering what our side should be for the first couple of weeks, given that we will be without Croad, J. Longmuir and Koops.

Adelaide and Sydney only have 1 big forward of note (Carey and Hall) and I think Parker should get the job on them. I think then we can put Pavlich up forward and test Polak out on their next big forward (Stevens and Saddington?). I put McPharlin at FF while Longmuir and Croad are out, and I really think it can pay off. He is quick off the mark, and most defenders will have trouble staying up with him. I thought Troy Longmuir was impressive and I hope he has a good season to rejuvenate his AFL career. I still think he can become a good player for us. I thought Hayden and Haddrill were good and deserve games, especially since we are missing some players. I know it's more than a month away and things can change a lot since then, but I just thought I'd share my thoughts.

Agree with most of that Kenny.
I think Polack or Woods (one out of left field but he gave Slapper a lesson) would handle Carey and Hall .
Need to get Sandilands in there for support in the ruck.

Getting to be a big (but nice) problem fitting all the form players in the side. I think I would rather be in our position than the WCE.

Sandilands is not ready IMO. Good tap ruckman already but absolutely out of his depth around the ground.

Kenny, like the looks of that team.

McPharlin at FF would be a good call.

Toia will play all his football with Subi this year.

Sandilands was good with the Gummies last year, but I agree with Kenny that he still needs another year with the Gummies to learn a bit more.

Troy Longmuir could elevate himself from the riff raff to the forefront of the selectors minds.

I was very pleased with how Hadrill and polak played which hopefully will allow McPharlin to play up foward for the 1st few rounds.
Would probly put sandilands in the team just to help out simmonds,just untill Longmuir returns.Can polak play in the ruck?

Re: Re: Round 1 side.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
I think Polack or Woods (one out of left field but he gave Slapper a lesson) would handle Carey and Hall .

This is definately by far the most ignorant, far-fetched statement ive ever heard being mention about AFL.Its so bad I dont know where to start.

Carey could be out on the **** until an hour before bounce down and still flog any of those two, especially woods.

If you want to avoid people laughing hysterically in your face, and hours after you have left - do not repeat the above statement

I think I would rather be in our position than the WCE.

And which position would that be O'wise one - please enlighten me on this you footy oracle you.

"woods to take on Carey"...... what a ripper

Rd. 1 Side.

I am eagerly looking forward to seeing waterhouse again, I think he will be the link to pushing the dockers into the finals.
Croad and Longmuir back int he side will make it quite strong.

I agree that McPharlin could be a very dangerous forward but while Polak matures I think hes still needed down back.
I would be inclinded to play waterhouse at full foward as I cant see us able to have both Pavlich and McPharlin in the forward line.
Leaves our backline very exposed.

Re: Re: Re: Round 1 side.

Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
And which position would that be O'wise one - please enlighten me on this you footy oracle you.

"woods to take on Carey"...... what a ripper

Woods has height pace and can spoil and tackle, addmittedly Carey would be a tough job (harder than old Slapper) but it is a tough job for anyone.

WCE had a full list to choose from where Freo had 14 players unavailable for selection including the entire backline.

Freo had 3 rookie listed players playing WCE none

Freo had 1 first gamer (Senoir) Eagles none

Freo had 2 players playing first game after major injury (Haines , Haddrill) who will only get better.

Therefore Freo has far more scope for improvement than WCE.

That is the position I would rather be in.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Round 1 side.

WCE had a full list to choose from

I disagree. I can name half a dozen players who were out injured and weren't available for selection, along with those who were rested.

The following players would be in my starting 22:

- Matera
- McIntosh
- Wirrpunda
- Morrison
- Collica
- Lynch
- Hunter

I definately agree Freo didn't field their strongest side, but looking through the Wizard Cup squads I doubt any team fielded their best 22.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Round 1 side.

Originally posted by GoEagles
I disagree. I can name half a dozen players who were out injured and weren't available for selection, along with those who were rested.

- Matera
- McIntosh
- Wirrpunda
- Morrison
- Collica
- Lynch
- Hunter

I definately agree Freo didn't field their strongest side, but looking through the Wizard Cup squads I doubt any team fielded their best 22.

Just out of interest, what would be your strongest 22 in your opinion?

- Matera
- McIntosh
- Wirrpunda
- Morrison
- Collica
- Lynch
- Hunter

And who would you replace them with?

- Matera
- McIntosh
- Wirrpunda
- Morrison
- Collica
- Lynch
- Hunter

Wirra would be the only one that would have strenthened the side.

Add Lynch you have to take out Wilson.
Add Collica you have to take out Glass.

Matera and Mcintosh are too old and not the players they were.
Even Worstfold can see that and he is trying to make the best of the season.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Round 1 side.

Freo had 3 rookie listed players playing WCE none

Freo had 1 first gamer (Senoir) Eagles none

Freo had 2 players playing first game after major injury (Haines , Haddrill) who will only get better.

Therefore Freo has far more scope for improvement than WCE.

That is the position I would rather be in.

I'd rather be in a position where I actually had a full list to choose from with some quality depth to back up the senior players.
I think you'll find you'll be playing rookies all season, and will have far more scope for decline than improvement. Better start praying for an injury free season.

Originally posted by Jabber
I'd rather be in a position where I actually had a full list to choose from with some quality depth to back up the senior players.
I think you'll find you'll be playing rookies all season, and will have far more scope for decline than improvement. Better start praying for an injury free season.

The thing that impressed most people was the depth that we are starting to accumulate. We have a senior list of 35 (same as Brisbane Last Year and they went allright you would have to agree).

To rate the seriousness that both side took the wizard cup the Dockers played a lot of inexperienced players and the Eagles played their best team available.

One can only Imagine the result if Clive , J Lo , and the entire Back line had been playing.

I think you can see like us that the worm has turned and is going rapidly the other way.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Round 1 side.

I think you can see like us that the worm has turned and is going rapidly the other way.
If you can't hold your tequila, why'd you eat the bloody thing in the first place?

PS: I loved the bit where you compared your squad depth with Brisbane's last year. At last it's good to see a bit of decent competition around here for Sabre - should keep him on his toes.

Round one matchups:

FB: Hayden...Parker...Haddrill
FF: Welsh......Carey.....Burns

HB: Grover.....Polak.....Carr
HF: Burton...Stevens...Bode

C: Headland...Hasleby...McManus
C: Stenglein...Riccuito....Edwards

HF: T. Longmuir...Pavlich...Waterhouse
HB: Bickley...........Smart.......Crowell

FF: Medhurst...McPharlin...Farmer
FB: Hart............Basset......Torney

R: Simmonds...Cook.........Bell
R: Biglands....Goodwin...McLeod

I: Clarke, Doughty, Ladhams, John****

I agree Parker should begin on Carey. If Carey gets the better of him, Pavlich can be moved to him (Not sure if Carey will be fit for round one anyway).

Our forward line will certainly test their defence. Pavlich will be too mobile and strong for Smart and McPharlin should be too quick off the mark for Basset.

Our midfield has more class and experience than last years with a skills focused pre-season, the addition of Headland, the improvement of Hase and Pav floating around the middle at times.
Although it does not quite draw level with Adelaide's it does come close. Stenglein will most likely get the job on Bell, Headland or Hasleby, probably the latter. Not sure who should get the job on McLeod... Connolly played Walker on him the last couple of times but it proved to be rather unsuccessful. Come to think of it there isn't really anyone else we could play on him. If McLeod plays around half forward perhaps Woods should be played on him...

What do you think?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Round 1 side.

Originally posted by carneagles
If you can't hold your tequila, why'd you eat the bloody thing in the first place?

PS: I loved the bit where you compared your squad depth with Brisbane's last year. At last it's good to see a bit of decent competition around here for Sabre - should keep him on his toes.

He wasn't comparing our squads depth to Brisbanes. He was just stating that Brisbane have 35 players like we do this season, and they didnt encounter any major problems so hopefully we won't either.

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
Round one matchups:

FB: Hayden.....Polak....Haddrill
FF: Welsh......Stevens...Burns

HB: Grover...Parker..Carr
HF: Burton...Carey...Bode

C: Headland...Hasleby...McManus
C: Stenglein...Riccuito....Edwards

HF: T. Longmuir...Pavlich...Waterhouse
HB: Bickley...........Smart.......Crowell

FF: Medhurst...McPharlin...Farmer
FB: Hart............Basset......Torney

R: Simmonds...Cook.........Bell
R: Biglands....Goodwin...McLeod

I: Clarke, Doughty, Ladhams, John****

I agree Parker should begin on Carey. If Carey gets the better of him, Pavlich can be moved to him (Not sure if Carey will be fit for round one anyway).

Our forward line will certainly test their defence. Pavlich will be too mobile and strong for Smart and McPharlin should be too quick off the mark for Basset.

Our midfield has more class and experience than last years with a skills focused pre-season, the addition of Headland, the improvement of Hase and Pav floating around the middle at times.
Although it does not quite draw level with Adelaide's it does come close. Stenglein will most likely get the job on Bell, Headland or Hasleby, probably the latter. Not sure who should get the job on McLeod... Connolly played Walker on him the last couple of times but it proved to be rather unsuccessful. Come to think of it there isn't really anyone else we could play on him. If McLeod plays around half forward perhaps Woods should be played on him...

What do you think?

Looks good to me. We best not play Walker on McLeod or we will get murdered. I'd try Carr on him, even though McLeod is faster. I wouldn't want to try woods on him either.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Round 1 side.

He wasn't comparing our squads depth to Brisbanes. He was just stating that Brisbane have 35 players like we do this season, and they didnt encounter any major problems so hopefully we won't either.
The thing that impressed most people was the depth that we are starting to accumulate. We have a senior list of 35 (same as Brisbane Last Year and they went allright you would have to agree).
Huh?

I will apoligise for my bad english and clarify that I was comparing numbers not depth.

I was also making the point that our depth is improving.

Instead of comparing players that didn't play how about we compare those who did.

Colreavy, Sandilands webster No senoior AFL games Haddrill none for 12 mths
Haines none for the best part of a fair while.
You will see that WCE had a definate advantage