bomber-crow

Rookie
Liverpool Celtics
Carlton v Richmond - Carlton should win by over thirty points though this game could go either way
Geelong v Hawthorn - Geelong will be eager for revenge and should beat the hawks in a thriller
Collingwood v Adelaide - Collingwood easily
St.Kilda v Sydney - Saints will win a low scroing and boring match
Brisbane v West Coast - Brisbane are much better than the coasters and should win by over 40 points
North v Melbourne - I reckon North will just win as Melbourne should be trying to win back some respect this year
Essendon v Port - Bombers will win their round 1 clash like in 2008, 07 and 06 then have a crap year, so i hope we lose
Freo v Bulldogs - Im not too sure about this but im tipping Freo for the home ground advantage

Essendon v Port - Bombers will win thier round 1 clash like in 2008, 07 and 06 then have a crap year, so i hope we lose

Mate, the Bombers could play until noon the next day and still not get within 6 goals.

Carlton v Richmond - one of a few tough games this week. Just picked Richmond. Cousins factor
Geelong v Hawthorn - When fully fit Hawthorn. Injuries have cost Hawthorn a game here
Collingwood v Adelaide - 2008 Adelaide + Walker + Hentschel. Collingwood wont be able to handle the Crows.
St.Kilda v Sydney - Dont care will bore me to sleep. St Kilda due to home field advantage
Brisbane v West Coast - Brisbane's Midfield and Forwards will dominate
North v Melbourne - Battle for the wooden spoon ;). But Melbourne are just that much worse
Essendon v Port -
Freo v Bulldogs -

ill do the other rite ups later. Have to go get dinner now

if you think that wood means about 6 years of 40+ point victories, then yeh i guess that tip is the stupidest thing i have heard all day

punters, get on port for highest first round score

Carlton v Richmond - Nick Stevens out for Carlton, tough choice that just swayed me.
Geelong v Hawthorn - Hawthorn have injuries.
Collingwood v Adelaide - Collingwood are in good form and its at the MCG
St.Kilda v Sydney - Sydney always lose this one and win the one later in the year.
Brisbane v West Coast - West Coast just aren't that good
North v Melbourne - See previous game
Essendon vPort - Port are in good form and have high confidence.
Freo v Bulldogs - Going by last season form, although Freo could suprise here.

if you think that wood means about 6 years of 40+ point victories, then yeh i guess that tip is the stupidest thing i have heard all day

punters, get on port for highest first round score

Im saying that the bombers have a habit of winning in round 1 over the past few years

2008 Essendon 122 d North 67
2007 Essendon 105 d Adelaide 74 at AAMI
2006 Essendon 108 d Sydney 81

and then we never made the finals those years so i hope we lose by less then 20 and that plus the laycock injury could be a good start to an OK season.:thumbsu:

Carlton V Richmond - Very tough match to pick. Picked the Tigers but could go either way.
Geelong V Hawthorn - Brown, Gilham, Croad, Ellis plus some others all out injured. Not stars but will be replaced by some inexperienced youngsters. Cats to get revenge.
Collingwood V Adelaide - Don't have a good feeling about this, Pies are in good form and playing at the G will be a very tough task for us.
St. Kilda V Sydney - *yawn*
Brisbane V West Coast - Forward line will be too strong and are the better side on paper.
North Melbourne V Melbourne - North are poor starters but couldn't lsoe to the dees surely?
Port Adelaide V Essendon - At home and have the wood over Essendon. An easy victory.
Fremantle V Western Bulldogs - Only due to home ground advantage (even though it's not a lot of advantage but still Freo did challenge at home last year against the Cats, Dogs etc.) should be a good game.

Carlton vRichmond
Geelong v Hawthorn
Collingwood vAdelaide
St.Kilda vSydney
Brisbane vWest Coast
North vMelbourne
Essendon vPort
Fremantlev Bulldogs

I don't care if Port have had the wood over us, their supporters seem to forget their a shite side who had a shocking 2009 with not many injuries.

Carlton v Richmond - Depends, Richmond developed better last season. They look more classy but Carlton to get over them by 20 with grunt depth
Geelong v Hawthorn - Hawks wont be back to there best 22, Geelong by 30.
Collingwood v Adelaide - Adelaide on the way down, not sure. Collingwood by 28.
St.Kilda v Sydney - Saints by 15. Don't like either side that much.
Brisbane v West Coast - Brisbane have a brilliant midfield group who are up and coming that will simply win to much ball. Our defense is decent enough to keep it tight, but Brisbane are a good chance to make the eight.
North v Melbourne - North by 20.
Essendon v Port - Hard to say, can Port rebound again in 09?
Freo v Bulldogs - Bulldogs will win by 30 points.

Don't forget that Port Adelaide has the wood over you at the moment...

They certainly do! :o

I honestly can't remember the last time Essendon beat Port Adelaide.

Though I give us more of a chance than I'm sure many on BF will give, I'm going to sit on the fence, records are there to be broken... but our pre-season form hasn't been great and an astronomical turnaround ala North Melbourne c.1993 is needed to knock off a scorned Port Adelaide! You know what they say about a scorned woman! :D

I don't care if Port have had the wood over us, their supporters seem to forget their a shite side who had a shocking 2009 with not many injuries.

Are you posting from the future, Nostradamous? In 2008 we still managed to pump you on your home ground by 10 goals.

What on Earth has changed to affect the turnaround you assume likely?

Carlton v Richmond - Richmond wins the first game of the season. Just ask Collingwood
Geelong v Hawthorn - too many blokes out for the Dawks
Collingwood v Adelaide - I hate Adelaide. Even more than I hate Collingwood
St Kilda v Sydney - because they're my side. Won't be a pretty game though
Brisbane v West Coast - Draw
North Melbourne v Melbourne - Don't know why
Essendon v Port Adelaide - PA hates TD. I hope this game is at TD, or Etihad or whatever the smeg it's called
Fremantle v Bulldogs - I swore never to tip the Dockers again

Carlton v Richmond carlton haven't come yet
Geelong v Hawthorn stronger team, no injuries
Collingwood v Adelaide collingwood will be too devo'd from losing to geelong
St.Kilda vSydney yeah
Brisbane v West Coast brown will destroy brown
North v Melbourne obvious
Essendon v Port port have a stronger team
Fremantlev Bulldogs fremantle have a knack at not winning

What on Earth has changed to affect the turnaround you assume likely?

Port Adelaide were brilliant that day, shades of what got them to the 2007 Grand Final. I honestly don't believe it would've mattered much who Port Adelaide were playing.

The differences that Essendon will bring to 2009 from 2008:

Scott Lucas
Alwyn Davey
Mark McVeigh
Dustin Fletcher
Courtney Dempsey
Kyle Reimers
Sam Lonergan

Another pre-season under the belt for David Myers and Jay Neagle et al.

I am not trying to detract from Port Adelaide's victory with the list of missing players important to our team but that is what may affect a turnaround.

Port Adelaide were brilliant that day, shades of what got them to the 2007 Grand Final. I honestly don't believe it would've mattered much who Port Adelaide were playing.

The differences that Essendon will bring to 2009 from 2008:

Scott Lucas
Alwyn Davey
Mark McVeigh
Dustin Fletcher
Courtney Dempsey
Kyle Reimers
Sam Lonergan

Another pre-season under the belt for David Myers and Jay Neagle et al.

I am not trying to detract from Port Adelaide's victory with the list of missing players important to our team but that is what may affect a turnaround.

Cheers for that. :thumbsu:

Interestingly from Port's perspective there will probably only be just the one change from that day and that's Nathan Krakouer to replace Adam Thomson. Otherwise the lineup from that day was pretty much 2007/2009 fullstrength, funnily enough.

Cheers for that. :thumbsu:

Interestingly from Port's perspective there will probably only be just the one change from that day and that's Nathan Krakouer to replace Adam Thomson. Otherwise the lineup from that day was pretty much 2007/2009 fullstrength, funnily enough.

Chad Cornes :thumbsu:

Carlton v Richmond - I think that we are about 2 weeks advanced on them
Geelong v Hawthorn - May turn out to be a fizzer. Hawthorn quite under done this early. This may be a reason not to have the replay so early
Collingwood v Adelaide - Won't tip Collingwood. NAB hangover perhaps???
St.Kilda v Sydney - This will be a ripper. We might see a goal scored
Brisbane v West Coast - Brissie by alot. Will be ugly for a while
North v Melbourne - Yeah I know but why not. (NMFC will win though)
Essendon v Port - Recent record and something to prove early
Freo v Bulldogs - This is a toughest for me. The dogs of last year would have destroyed them. So based on the form I will go the dogs. But Freo in with a real shot thanks to Hme Ground. This may well become. Can the dogs back up last year???

No. My opinion is Cooney won't get any beter and Griffen won't come on. Backline is questionable and they may struggle to kick goals. Look out for Jarryd Grant though... if he can learn to kick straight.

I tend to agree. I would love to see them do it. But I am giving them the benefit of the doubt for now. I also think Freo will go backwards before they go forward.

Time will tell. Not too long to go now!!!