Autopsy Round 13, 2026: Hawks get leashed

Positives:
  • we looked good first half.
  • Weddle was good.
  • Impey was good (but tried to do too much at times).
  • Watson's first half.
  • Newk was good.
Negatives:
(deep breathe)
  • if somebody has an explanation for this then by all means please let me know but the Bulldogs kicked 11.4 against us, Collingwood kicked 15.3, Swans kicked 13.4, Cats kicked 14.7, even god damn Essendon kicked 13.5 and GWS kicked 19.8. All these teams are turning up and kicking with supreme accuracy against us and I know they don't play like that otherwise they'd be higher on the ladder (bar Sydney) so either we're getting some dogsh*t luck with teams turning in a prime goal kicking performances against us or we are giving them good looks. Either way this sh*t needs addressing as its an absolute gut punch and infuriating.
  • Meek - my god, no questions he needs a spell at Box Hill. Has shown nothing this year. Nothing. The margin was 6 points in the end and he put 2 very gettable shots out of bounds on the full. He cost us the game, end of story.
  • Ginni's execution was incredibly poor today.
  • Moore has been flying under the radar but barring a few solid games, he's been largely forgettable - another whose efforts needs highlighting from Mitchell.
  • Games like today show why we badly missed Nash.
  • This was exactly the Collingwood game all over again - let's see the Dogs kick this accurately again next week. I'm betting they won't.

Absolutely. Two sets of rules. And we got caught holding the ball and they goaled, yet there were heaps of identical goods and nothing.

Umpiring was atrocious on both sides. One of the worst umpired games I've seen for a while.

Im ready for the two ruck experiment to be over. Neither of them can compete well enough around the ground and Meek can’t kick for goal of his life depended on it and Reeves is lucky to make contact with the ball with his foot when trying to kick out of a contest.

Bring another mid in or something.

Meek and Ginnivan costly. Didn’t deserve it. Geez we need the bye

I'd keep Ginnivan but Meek needs some Box Hill time after that.

for us not to throw away games being too safe and cute at selection. Can't always be cherry ripe, though from what I'm told Nash and Barrass were as cherry ripe as you could be but still not selected just in case.
Ok so you made the point in the pre-match thread.

And during the game.

And a few times already in this thread.

I just want to let you know your opinion has been noted. Thank you.

They wanted it more in the end, quite a potent outfit and reckon they chalked this game up weeks ago.

Nuke's leadership was immense, just give him the sole captaincy now. Think Sic probably needs to just focus on his footy at this stage of his career. Just doesn't have the mental resilience we need from our leaders.

Liked Mass and Frenchy early, thought CMac had a decent game and Nairn showed a bit later in the game under pressure. Amon looks like he needs a decent spell, clearly hampered.

God haven’t been that disappointed in a result for a while.

The carrying on and celebrating at half time. Meek just being so infuriating to watch. Sicily being such a selfish captain at times tonight. Drove me nuts.

Honestly, if my captain at our club pulled some of the stuff he did during the match tonight, he would get absolutely belted by the coach and yanked the next week. Utterly selfish.

Newk showed what a proper captain does and leads by example. One of the few players who can hold their head up high - but I know he’ll be gutted by the result like us all.

Enough venting for tonight - sorry if sounding angry, just some of our antics tonight were just so mentally weak, did my head in 😂

The Hawks lost that game.
The doggies didnt win it...

Mitchell has assembled a team who can gut run both ways, unfortunately he has also assembled a team who have inept kicking skills, especially when kicking for goal...
We may criticize Clarko towards the end of his tenure but Clarko had a team with elite kicking skills...
Players who can kick accurately 50mtrs...
The lack of penetration by foot into the forward line by players like Ginnivan, McDonald, Moore is unbelievable...little dinky kicks barely 15mtrs....
Plus you wouldn't want Weddle kicking for goal to win you a game after the siren..
This team is very frustrating to follow at times....
Thats my emotional outburst on what was a very disappointing loss...

A lot will get spoken about our work forward of centre (as it should be rightly scrutinised).

Our backline’s weakness shouldn’t be ignored either. Just keep giving up so many easy goals without the opposition having to work for it.
I keep harping on about it but the most obvious move is to get Amon up on to a wing. He can’t defend. Was damn near All Aus wingman at Port. With him and Sicily in back 6 we’re so vulnerable defensively

Sicily the most immature leader. Too busy getting into pointless niggles with talentless pricks who are trying to get under his skin.
All a club has to do is get the least talented prick to wrestle with him and hes useless for ths rest of the season, so immature, absolute clown

We looked cooked after half time.

Got an absolute bath in the coaches box with Bevo playing puppet master with a team made up of 1 or 2 elites and battlers

They rattled us with their shit****ery and we got sucked in wanting to go on with it which played into their hands

Sicily can’t be captain, gun footballer but he’s no leader. Day needs to take that role.

Other than Watson our small forwards Moore/Croc and Ginni don’t offer enough don’t do enough don’t score enough - maybe Butler for pressure maybe Hill for some energy but it’s all falling on the shoulders of the smallest guy (also when Ginni’s smarts desert him he’s as slow as treacle)

The two ruckman thing only works if they can impact the game and Meeks misses cost us the game

We are still a midfielder short

Barass would have been more than useful tonight

Cam Nairn has to stay in this team

I think this is our worst performance of the year - the bye can’t come fast enough
First time I've seen Bevo outcoach Mitchell - was quite bizarre.

I mean, kicking straight would have changed the game - but the way we just kept doing exactly what they wanted was a hard watch.

Sicily was pathetic with his horseshit. Not a captain.

Ginni very bad game. Kicking was attrocious.

Meek has to be dropped. The two ruck thing worked early this season but Meek was a disaster tonight. Reeves is only just better then him.

Mass excellent early along with Jai. Our kicking as a whole is so bad this season and especially tonight. Very, very bad loss. The 3 misses at the start of the third cost us the game.

Half time hubris. Love Watson so much. But sometimes being a mouthy little prick comes back to bite you hard. Just let your footy do the talking - dont do the Papley flog things. . The whole team didnt walk the talk in the second half. Revolting. Thought this sort of shit might have been behind us.
If we hear that comment was mentioned in the dogs rooms, he could just about be dropped.. I'm sick of it.. started with ginni couple years ago, when will they flipping learn

Positives:
  • we looked good first half.
  • Weddle was good.
  • Impey was good (but tried to do too much at times).
  • Watson's first half.
  • Newk was good.
Negatives:
(deep breathe)
  • if somebody has an explanation for this then by all means please let me know but the Bulldogs kicked 11.4 against us, Collingwood kicked 15.3, Swans kicked 13.4, Cats kicked 14.7, even god damn Essendon kicked 13.5 and GWS kicked 19.8. All these teams are turning up and kicking with supreme accuracy against us and I know they don't play like that otherwise they'd be higher on the ladder (bar Sydney) so either we're getting some dogsh*t luck with teams turning in a prime goal kicking performances against us or we are giving them good looks. Either way this sh*t needs addressing as its an absolute gut punch and infuriating.
  • Meek - my god, no questions he needs a spell at Box Hill. Has shown nothing this year. Nothing. The margin was 6 points in the end and he put 2 very gettable shots out of bounds on the full. He cost us the game, end of story.
  • Ginni's execution was incredibly poor today.
  • Moore has been flying under the radar but barring a few solid games, he's been largely forgettable - another whose efforts needs highlighting from Mitchell.
  • Games like today show why we badly missed Nash.
  • This was exactly the Collingwood game all over again - let's see the Dogs kick this accurately again next week. I'm betting they won't.
This

Sick to death of these kids talking... Watson at half time, and ginni can take his podcasts and rotate on em, he has been an absolute disgrace
Wizard said at half time we didn’t need Lewis. We did Wiz, we did.
Well, we had him take a mark with minutes to spare but a power even your spells couldn’t conjure up had the last say.

Hard to see upside in the mentally weak effort. Says the team won't be there to win in September.
Look, I'm always a silver lining kinda guy so let me put some stuff out there for you- feel free to disagree but

positives
  • Shots on goal. Not quality, but quantity. Teams are flooding their D50 which is messing with us big time. I trust Mitch to work through it
  • Midfield growth. I think Ward, Frenchy, Day, and Newc could well be out next premiership midfield- absolutely dominated the first half before crumbling in the second.
  • Wiz is one of if not the most scary forward in the comp.
  • Growth from the youngsters. I'm not as bullish on Nairn as some others, but Nairn, BMac and Ryan have all shown something. Need to get them back to BoxHill and light a rocket up them to grow and dominate.
  • Day is back. He's getting confidence and that's exactly what we need

Growth areas
  • we should expect Moore, Ginnivan, Weddle, and Croc in the second half of the year. All have faded recently, but all have shown they can bounce back from that.
  • Defensive consistency. Our defensive movement has been caught lacking repeatedly, but I think this is partially due to Battle being required to play with a much more defensive mindset. Bring in Barrass and things will change again.
  • Ruck duo. If Meek returns to 2025 form, and Reeves maintains, we will be in a much stronger position. I think we suffered tonight with Lewis's injury meaning Chol couldn't come up through that area in the second half as much as he has done previously.
  • Shot accuracy. We have scored with ease all season. Our big issue has been accuracy. Second half of the year we can turn that around.
  • Consistency through youth. Our young players are getting there, but not there yet. Let them grow into the second half of the year.

Tonight sucked, and was brutal, but I'm not imagining that come finals we won't be able to dig in when the whips crack.