Autopsy Round 13, 2026: Hawks get leashed

That Lewis grab late was a clear mark- can’t get over that…
We were our own worst enemy with wasted chances but **** me the maggots got the Dogs back in it then finished the job late…
Teams continue to flood our forward line and slow us- need a plan B to counter it or it will keep happening…
We gave them time to flood the forward line with slow decision making when the game was screaming for quicker ball movement, especially when we lost the lead.

A lot of people comparing it to the Pies game. Interesting. Did bevo copy what Fly did for the second half? Just flood the backline? It did look eerily similar and totally different to the first half.
Both those games saw Hawthorn burn opportunities to solidify their dominance which ultimately openned the door for the opposition to build momentum when combined with their own high accuracy in front of goal.

While the dogs looked better than Collingwood, especially in the middle, I think Hawthorn was the main contributor to their inability to win both matches as opposed to the opposition.

It’s a pretty simple game. 1.11 in the second half!

When we lost to Freo at least we kicked 2 goals in the second half.

I’ve watched the club for almost 50 years and that’s gotta be the most frustrating loss. Actually there was the 2012 snd 1984 GFs that actually mattered.

We’re like the Brazilian soccer player Rivaldo from 25 years ago. Amazing skill and control but equally amazing ability to over complicate the game and generate low percentage scoring opportunities.

It’s almost like we made a pact at halftime to deliberately not score!!!

Will be a long 2 weeks now but the positive is you always learn more from a loss.

Sorry to annoy some folks, however Dunstall’s concerns are always right. He was such a process based player and it shows in his commentary. He was calling it continuously.

We lack that killer instinct and the dogs took advantage.

We always meet teams in form. We failed to put them away

KOLOKOTRONIS
They aren't always right, last week at half time he said we weren't playing that well... We kept the other team goalless in the entire half...

You were right
I was wrong.

I didn’t expect us to play injured players. However if Gunston and TB were not injured then this was a massive mistake.

Having said this though.. we looked brilliant at the back end of the second quarter. We just didn’t grind hard enough or take our chances and that ended up resulting in the close loss.

At least we didn’t get pumped. The only silver lining

KOLOKOTRONIS
I trust the club decisions than BF posters. Saying we lost at selection is just nonsense.

A high amount of patronising smugness and cockiness from your lot in the pre match forum. Thinking it would be all easy. Maybe will teach a lesson to ease up on the cockines. The result serves you right and I hope it stings. Don’t sook about a club standing up to your mouthy players either. Physicality is a part of the game, and you can’t bully every team. Cop that!
**** off

We gave them time to flood the forward line with slow decision making when the game was screaming for quicker ball movement, especially when we lost the lead.

Absolutely.

May as well bomb it to 3 on 3 with a little bit of space for the ball on the ground instead of holding onto it for another 20 seconds and kicking it to 10 on 15

I don't usually vent here after a loss but felt like we threw 4 points away today.
Wasteful in front of goal again complemented by some terrible forward entries.
Ed Richards killed us in the 3rd quarter. Ward had a good game overall but he's not a stopper, he operates best as a link player and drilling passes by foot into the forward 50.
McKenzie was vying for BOG in the first-half and had little impact after half-time.
Never seen Ginni have so many poor disposals in a game.
Perez, BMac, Nairn and Ryan are decent enough players but how many inexperienced half-backs can we carry in a 22 if we're serious about winning?

A high amount of patronising smugness and cockiness from your lot in the pre match forum. Thinking it would be all easy. Maybe will teach a lesson to ease up on the cockines. The result serves you right and I hope it stings. Don’t sook about a club standing up to your mouthy players either. Physicality is a part of the game, and you can’t bully every team. Cop that!
ironic use of smugness coming on here to gloat. **** off dickhead

Mate, hopefully you can duck a ban as well as your team ducks into every tackle 🤣

We win the i50s 63-46, we were by far the best team and we found a way to lose, very frustrating
Not sure about that, when you butcher the ball as badly as we did both in front of goal and going inside 50 you can't say we were by far the best team.

Mitch Lewis dropped so many marks early.
Only plays well when he is the third key foward.
Yes he’s ankle was sore but time to move on.
No second efforts, not just tonight but most games.
We need a foward that can jump and leap at the ball.
Happy to pay unders if he wants to sign but throw money at King big time.
Go hawks

Positive is I don't have to watch or listen to anything football related for 2 week.s
I personally would have liked the opportunity to redeem ourselves within a week but perhaps youre right it might be good for them to have a fortnight to address some of the issues. I hate losing but there is a big part of me thats grateful we didnt pinch the win as it would have mislead everyone. The issue are there on the table now and need to be addressed methodically if we are to have any chance of making a run at the flag. Sometimes its actually a blessing to expose them in these painful ways.

Don’t go missing if we meet you later in the season Jezza.

From French champagne to stale beer in a quarter.
So frustrating to lose that one.
Consistency over four quarters lacking again.

We’re a top 4-6 side and that’s the reality. Not saying that’s a bad thing, given the talent on our list, that’s about right.
We may jag a berth in a prelim, which would be about our current level. Probably a successful year in that context.
It would also explain why we are going so hard for Merrett and Humphrey.

Disagree we could make it to a GF, especially if we address our Inaccurate kicking at goal and our double ruck situation.

Could the Dingley wind have stuffed our goal kicking?
I definitely don’t think it helps. The fact they are looking at trying to build some sort of wind break , obviously makes you think the club is concerned also. First year at Dingley, and the skills have really deteriorated.

Worst game i have seen him play i reckon.
He also looked so unbelievably slow even by his standards, genuinely looked to be moving in 2nd gear all night.

We’re a top 4-6 side and that’s the reality. Not saying that’s a bad thing, given the talent on our list, that’s about right.
We may jag a berth in a prelim, which would be about our current level. Probably a successful year in that context.
It would also explain why we are going so hard for Merrett and Humphrey.

And yet, we'll finish the round in 3rd spot. We were unlucky Gunston, Nash and Barrass were likely all close, but not quite ready. All 3 would have made a huge difference. This is also the second game we've dominated the stats sheet, but not won. We'd not kicked 1-11 today, and kicked accurately against Pies, we'd be only 1 game (and percentage) behind sydney by the end of the round.

I agree that on paper our best side is probably 4-6 if you look at talent alone, but we have a good system, and a good coach that lets us punch slightly above that.

Very frustrating lost opportunity tonight to solidify top 3, and keep top 2 alive. Now fighting again just to stay in the 4. We do have an easier second half, and should start it with pretty much a fully fit list (which we need given our talent distribution). If we're good enough, we should still be hoping for a double chance, less likely to be a home final first up though unless Sydney or Freo collapse badly.