AFLW Round 2 - 2025 AFLW Season

Times shown are AEST.

Note well: since the original fixture release, there have been some changes to broadcast details on both days and start times on Sunday.

Saturday 23 August

Collingwood (14th)
vs GWS Giants (17th)
1.05pm, Victoria Park
7mate (NSW)

Melbourne (1st) vs St Kilda (4th)
3.05pm, Casey Fields
7mate (VIC, SA, WA)

Gold Coast (12th) vs Sydney (8th)
3.05pm, People First Stadium
7mate (QLD, NSW)

Fremantle (6th) vs Brisbane (10th)
5.05pm, Fremantle Community Bank Oval
7mate (WA, QLD)

Hawthorn (9th) vs Carlton (5th)
7.15pm, Kinetic Stadium
7mate (VIC, QLD)

Sunday 24 August

Richmond (14th)
vs W. Bulldogs (17th)
12.35pm, Ikon Park
Exclusive to Foxtel/Kayo

North Melb. (3rd)
vs Port Adelaide (13th)
1.05pm, Arden Street Oval
Seven (VIC, SA); 7mate (NSW)

Essendon (2nd) vs West Coast (7th)
2.35pm, Windy Hill
7mate (WA)

Adelaide (15th) vs Geelong (16th)
3.05pm, Thomas Farms Oval
7mate (SA)

Head-to-head records

Collingwood 2 – GWS Giants 2 (last meeting: R7 2022 S7, Coll won by 32)
Melbourne 4 – St Kilda 1 (last meeting: R7 2024, Melb won by 14)
Gold Coast 2 – Sydney 1 (last meeting: R8 2024, GC won by 4)
Fremantle 2 – Brisbane 4 (last meeting: R1 2022 S7, BL won by 49)
Hawthorn 1 – Carlton 0 (last meeting: R1 2024, Haw won by 38)
Richmond 0 – W. Bulldogs 2 (last meeting: R5 2022 S6, WB won by 17)
North Melb. 4 – Port Adelaide 0 (last meeting: PF 2024, NM won by 57)
Essendon 2 – West Coast 1 (last meeting: R2 2024, Ess won by 16)
Adelaide 5 – Geelong 0 (last meeting: R10 2024, Adel won by 4)

This will be just the 5th meeting in 10 seasons for Collingwood and GWS. Like the first four, it will be played in Victoria.

Melbourne have won their last 4 against St Kilda by an average of 31 points, though the margin has decreased each time by 10 points on average.

North Melb. have won all matches vs Port Adelaide by an average of 47 points. Including last year’s prelim, this will be the 4th consecutive match between the two teams in Victoria.

Having just lost their perfect 5-0 record against St Kilda, the Crows are in jeopardy of ending an identical streak against Geelong. Last couple matches between the two teams decided by a kick.

North Melbourne on the weekend will add a coral variant to this collection below, with the unfurling of the 2024 premiership flag at Arden Street before Sunday's match vs Port Adelaide:
nmflags1.png

Melbourne are staging an exciting competition on Saturday for their match against St Kilda at Casey Fields, which will see somebody in attendance win $10,000:

There were more concerns raised about Victoria Park's surface last week, but with no news by what is now Tuesday 4pm, I'd say it's been given the all-clear. Weather across all 9 venues looks ok, maybe a little rain for the Gold Coast and Fremantle games.

Other than the one at Carrara, every match this weekend should definitely be getting crowds in excess of 3k.

Thoughts on Saturday's games.

Coll v GWS
First consideration is the impact of Alyce Parker's injury, particularly with regard to Zarlie Goldsworthy who had that match-winning 24-and-5 performance against Carlton 2 years ago when Parker was sidelined. Goldsworthy's form in the fortnight prior to that 2023 game, with Parker in the team, was also strong so the implications are not clearcut.

Collingwood in the next month will face Melb-NM-Syd-Haw, stoking urgency to get a win on the board here and now. It would help their chances if Ash Centra is able to raise a gallop, and if Sarah Rowe returns, but the Pies should still take the 4 points at home against a young team without its best player.

Melb v StK
Commentary in the aftermath of St Kilda's R1 win was seemingly oblivious to their smacking of Brisbane in 2023, and their 3-0 start last year. Understandable, as it might be easy to forget the brief bright patches when they're swamped by dour losses. In any case, a spirited showing here shouldn't prematurely be viewed as an unquestionable turning of the corner, because it's their consistency over longer stretches which has been the main issue to date.

GC v Syd
Clutch stoppage work by Rowbottom got the Suns over the line against Sydney last year, their only win for the season. Earlier meetings: she didn't play in the 2023 EF won by the Swans, but was BOG in the comfortable GC victory a year prior to that. Things have changed a bit since, though Gold Coast likely get an experience injection this week including Whitfort, and so they ought not to be getting steamrolled.

Sydney will enjoy a more free-flowing style of footy allowed by the extra space at Carrara, but I question if starting the season at NSO sets them back a week in terms of getting the same R1 conditioning as the other clubs. If so, the Suns should run out the game better (it'd also mean the Tigers should be in big trouble against the Dogs on Sunday).

Frem v BL
Fremantle, on their rise to 5th spot, dodged Brisbane and North Melbourne last year, and now are set to face both in the next 2 weeks. This is a good chance to track where they are at compared to 2024, which saw them start strong on the road and then get utterly exposed at home by Adelaide.

We should expect the Lions to follow a similar path to 2024--defeated at home in R1 and then made a long unenviable journey in R2 (last year was to Casey Fields) and professionally took care of business. Failure to do so means an 0-2 start and the faint ringing of alarm bells in the distance.

Haw v Carl
Reversal of injury fortunes should make this a closer matchup than last year's R1 demolition, wherein Carlton's aerial superiority was squandered due to inferiority in every other aspect of the game (kicking ability being the no.1).

It seems rather wacky for these two clubs to play each other 2 years in a row with neither game taking place at Ikon Park, particularly since the first meeting at Frankston only drew 2800 spectators...

I can only assume the theory is, for whatever reason, they expect the night slot to draw better (Hawthorn's Saturday night game vs Essendon in 2023 is their only 3k+ crowd at the venue, while a StK-Rich Friday night is the only other game to get in excess of that mark).

Great news about my newest favourite player.

I like somebody who stands up to bullies (bullies like Laura McClelland who then drop like a bag of dirt when they get a taste of their own medicine), which too many kids are afraid of doing when new to the AFLW arena.

Some clubs swinging the axe even after comprehensive wins. Melbourne omitting Pisano, Sydney omitting Privitelli, both ruthless. Saints fans will love the Plane <--> Barr move, as long as her hamstrings stay attached.

But just the 1 forced change for GWS after a 56-point belting. Bernasconi likes the mix he's got. Jess Doyle left out in the cold.

Thoughts for Sunday's games.

Rich v WB
Never mind the difference on paper, if you were to just consider the speed of how each team moved the ball last week, there's no way you could tip the Bulldogs to beat Richmond.

But working off my R1/NSO theory, I wouldn't be surprised to see the Tigers run out of legs here, making early conversion of opportunities even more important than usual. Whether Blackburn and Pritchard truly were "better for the run" last week (and if so, to what degree) will be the other key factor.

NM v PA
The score was 71-5 halfway through Q3 of last year's prelim when North took the foot off the pedal. The gap should only be greater this year due to Port's growing injury list, until you remember the Kangaroos likely won't have more than a toe on the pedal for R2 (they certainly didn't last year).

Ess v WCE
Nothing in R1 suggested Essendon are worse than 2024's mid-ladder unit. West Coast look to be a bit better than this time last year, which could tempt a longshot tip if they were hosting in WA again. Have to go with the Bombers at Windy Hill though (noting the last meeting there--Prior's good riddance game of 2023--produced an Eagles upset).

Adel v Geel
Having dropped Ewings on the back of a what-else-did-you-expect 10-disposal 4-tackle club debut, it'll be hard to justify the ongoing selection of several others if they don't quickly lift from R1.

The Cats were a team Ponter used to dine out on (averaged 3 goals across 3 games at one stage), but she won't be the only one keeping watchmakers in SA busy this weekend with requests to wind back the clock.

It's possible Geelong (starting clear outsiders with the bookies) win this game purely by superior workrate. Not probable if Moloney-Bowen-Prespakis combine for 4 shots at goal resulting in just 1 point like last week.

NM v PA
The score was 71-5 halfway through Q3 of last year's prelim when North took the foot off the pedal. The gap should only be greater this year due to Port's growing injury list, until you remember the Kangaroos likely won't have more than a toe on the pedal for R2 (they certainly didn't last year).
I think they've learned from that mistake a bit though. It would sting at them that it ended up being the only blemish on an otherwise perfect season and I don't think they'll let it happen again

Radio Coverage Rd 2

Saturday
Collingwood v GWS - NIRS and WARF Radio
Melbourne v St Kilda - No radio coverage
Gold Coast v Sydney - WARF Radio
Fremantle v Brisbane - 6PR
Hawthorn v Carlton - 3WBC and 3AW

Sunday
Richmond v Bulldogs - Casey Radio and WARF Radio
North Tassie v Port Adelaide - No radio coverage
Essendon v West Coast - No radio coverage
Adelaide v Geelong - WARF Radio

I think they've learned from that mistake a bit though. It would sting at them that it ended up being the only blemish on an otherwise perfect season and I don't think they'll let it happen again
Was it a mistake to be a bit flat after a stirring R1 win in 35 degree heat, or was it just human nature?

It's inevitable to have games where you're not switched on at an optimal level (North Melbourne clearly had a couple last year even after the draw to Geelong). The degree to which those lapses are punished invariably depend on the quality of opposition.

So you want to give lectures about bad faith arguments, but then characterise total attendance in the 18-team comp as being the same as it was pre-expansion.

Perhaps you just didn't know any better. In which case, you've got a bit of data to catch up on. Start here:

aflwatt.png
The graph is not saying what you think it is. It’s like a government printing money to stimulate the economy and thinking the resultant tiny, short-term sugar hit fixes everything, when in reality, it has set everyone massively backwards.

You could probably produce similar graphs for the A-League over the years after they have added new teams. Does not mean that competition is going anywhere.

By the same logic, I’m sure if you add up the attendance for the A-League over a season, it might compare favourably to State of Origin over a season. But of course, it’s not an apples-to-apples comparison and not anywhere near the same thing, because in an ultra-saturated market like sport, horizontal growth does almost nothing for you, quality is massively more important than quantity.

It’s like being a musician with lots of really average songs. Sure, you might release lots of music, and play lots of shows, and maybe your audience is technically growing. But none of that actually gets you anywhere. Your songs get very few plays, all your shows are to tiny crowds, and your growth forever just limps along. It’s a minuscule return for the huge amount of work you put in.

Have some hit songs and your entire universe changes completely. The musician with no hits could play the same town a thousand times and would not have anywhere near the same audience there as the one with the hits.

The AFLW needs to pump out hit songs, not loads of misses. There are a million other competing leagues around, all clambering for a tiny piece of the exposure pie. And the one thing that cuts through all that competing noise exponentially better than anything else is having great content, having a great competition.

Great teams, with star players having great high-quality battles against great opponents is what gives you hits. Doing that consistently gets you way bigger crowds, way more TV, way more radio, and way more stories written about you. It means hundreds of thousands of more eyeballs get exposed to your exciting brand day after day, after day. That is what grows your game. And it completely smashes out of the water anything you get from a fixture full of low-quality, low-stakes games.

Lots of low-quality misses have the opposite effect and drag the whole brand down around them. People look at poor standard games with super low scoring and bad crowds and they think your comp is a joke.

After years of stagnation, the NBL got an owner who understood all of that. They put strategies in place to improve the quality and exposure of their product and now they are going gangbusters. They are direct competition for the AFLW, they are experiencing record-breaking growth across loads of metrics. It’s completely wrong-headed for AFLW fans to be patting themselves on the back because their league handed out participation trophies.

Just the tone of this story about the NBL is incredibly striking compared to stories about the AFLW, which are nearly always full of handwringing people making pronouncements about everything that is wrong with the league.

I can’t believe I even have to make an argument that a thoughtful, strategic approach is obviously a much better way to grow a league than just letting things rip. The AFLW should be growing at least as fast as the NBL is but the insane, almost suicidal rush to add teams has broken the fundamental dynamics underpinning the entire competition, and it’s going to take years to fix.

The AFLW added 10 teams in six years, average crowds and ratings stagnated and a huge number of basically unwatchable games got added to the fixture. It diluted the talent base, diluted the audience and badly damaged the growth of the league for years to come. But technically, if you add up the crowds from all the extra games on a graph, you can claim overall attendance lifted...a little bit...

That's gonna be a no for me Dawg.

These 2 50m penalties in the Saints game have been rubbish. Baskaran and Patrikios were no way encroaching into the protected zone of Harris, far away enough for me, and Besanko was clearly moving backwards to be more than 5m away.

Yeah Dees getting a very generous run with the umps today

Besanko one was probably there. Went to stand the mark and then started backing off, probably after the umpire had called stand. Other one, I have no idea. Was especially annoying after the obvious ones they refused to pay in the second half of our game last week.

Yeah fair on Besanko on replay there. But Dees showing so much more run and carry here. Deserved win. Harris was just unstoppable first half.

The lack of smarts in this Fremantle team. It's really never improved as a collective.

Stannett looking like a lost puppy at FF, leads up the corridor into a swarm of gold jumpers (instead of the open pocket). Verrier takes a mark 75m from goal, stands and waits for 10 seconds, then pops it up to a contest 50m out...

Hence clearances are 13-13 while I50s are 10-24.

Game-high 3 goals for WA product Courtney Hodder also equalled her career high (had only kicked 3 once before, 2023 vs Sydney) on a day of career highs across the league, not that I've watched the earlier games today yet.

Hawthorn have problems. Big ones. But their fixture is looking softer than when it was released, so they're shaping up as finals cannon fodder again at this stage.

An entertaining climax to that game nevertheless.

Not much you can expect from Carlton. Youngest team in the league this round I think. Much like the Tigers in the mens, they have to park the bus to protect the scoreboard.
Dont think it was helped by a stupid fixture having the hawks come off what was always going to be a brutal game, whilst giving the blues an extra 3 days break.

How that happens in week 1 of the season ill never know

What sorta problems ya reckon?
Well their 2 best kicks and metres gained players are injured.

Whole gameplan is breaking down because they can't launch into the space out the back.

And they don't have a plan b because their key forwards can't mark.

Well their 2 best kicks and metres gained players are injured.

Whole gameplan is breaking down because they can't launch into the space out the back.

And they don't have a plan b because their key forwards can't mark.
Having zero ideas when Carlton put numbers behind the ball was concerning. A better team than Carlton who can actually rebound off the backline would've beaten then tonight.
Still, dominated the clearances and had a rest disadvantage.

AFLW Round 2 - 2025 AFLW Season