Toast Round 2 Rising Star Nom: Ryan Burton GET AROUND HIM!

I do too.

But the way he was playing yesterday was more of a shut down defender as opposed to a Burgoyne rebounding-half back-midfielder. Which is a complete waste of his talent IMO.

Whether or not that's because Brand is still injured and not in the team we won't know. But I feel like his best footy is played in the forward line and midfield.
Yep, bring in a tall to play on tall opponents and let burton play on third talls and run off them. His skills are excellent.

What was impressive about Burton's game not only did he have 26 disposals, but 12 of those were contested possessions along with 9 marks and 4 tackles.

In my opinion Burton plays better down back then he does as a forward at AFL level. Which is why I reckon he will likely play most of his career as a half back flanker with some stints in the midfield here and there.

What was impressive about Burton's game not only did he have 26 disposals, but 12 of those were contested possessions along with 9 marks and 4 tackles.

In my opinion Burton plays better down back then he does as a forward at AFL level. Which is why I reckon he will likely play most of his career as a half back flanker with some stints in the midfield here and there.
New hodge all going well. He will get thrown around as needed but I think you are right in that he will play mostly at hbf. His kicking is a weapon.

Burton is a lock for the rest of the year at HBF. I don't care who has to make way for him to be there but I will take his bad games while learning rather than rolling out the same old guys til they retire.

With Birchall out for the next 4-8 weeks he could really lock down that position if he wants to.

Not to be funny as I like Burton a lot, but you were all super high in him pre JLT, then down after a few poor performances which I missed, now back on him big Time.

Is it just a case of him setting a high standard and expectation, which means you judge him harshly?

Not to be funny as I like Burton a lot, but you were all super high in him pre JLT, then down after a few poor performances which I missed, now back on him big Time.

Is it just a case of him setting a high standard and expectation, which means you judge him harshly?
Not everyone mate i have had this bloke playing in our backline as a lock. He has been tried forward and eho wouldn't given his talent but its plain to see he is a weapon in yhe backline with his agility and kicking ability exciting prospect. Yes he will have his down weeks as most kids are inconsistent but u cant manufacture what he has

We aren't a monolith of judgement.

Strange day to be suggesting Hawkers are off the Burt-train, he was one of the shining lights for us yesterday.

With our lack of access to top 10 picks over the last few years - an expected bi product of success - we hadn't really had access to genuine elite talent in a while. Some late speculative picks worked out, but we've never been able to grab an Oliver or a Bont and haven't had players like Heeney handed to us on a silver platter. Cue Burton, a 'potential top 5 pick' according to a lot of experts who missed a majority of 2015 due to a badly broken leg that required a metal rod (or plates?) to fix. He was barely running at the draft combine and the injury was the only reason he slipped down to our pick. Absolutely dominated the year prior playing against older kids.

So there was a lot of hype around his talent, but there was also a realistic expectation that due to the nature of his injury he wouldn't be playing much of 2016. After two classy games across half back at Box Hill, a metal framework was taken out of his injured leg and that was supposedly the last we'd see of Burton in 2016. He made a return around Round 19 and one week later he killed Coburg - like deadset murdered them in the third quarter. Had massive amounts of shots and kicked 3.5. And then was brought into our best 22 on the eve of finals, something that no supporter had expected. His first two games were OK as a forward, but mostly quiet. Then he was moved across halfback vs Collingwood and Geelong (first quarter before injury) and looked to be one of our best defenders. He took the game on, he marked, he tackled and his kicking skills were elite. It looked like we genuinely had elite talent. He entered our best 22 on the eve of finals as a first year player. We weren't the Hawthorn of 2012-2015, but still a formidable side and for a young player to do that was extremely unexpected.

A very strong pre-season did a lot to stoke the fires of hype, but his stints as a forward in JLT had people scratching their heads. He had flashes of brilliance and football smarts, but he looked uncomfortable for some reason. His elite kicking skills faltered in front of goal and he went missing for large portions of the game. After 3 consecutive games having the same problem, you'd naturally have people jumping off the hype train (although I preferred to stay on). When people are built up with hype and they falter even for a bit, it often comes crashing down.

I don't know if you watched the game vs Adelaide but he was moved back across half back and played against Tex Walker - Captain of their football club and dangerous forward. And honestly, Burton got the chocolates. Competed in the air and tackled strongly. Won his own contested ball when he had to. Set up a lot of the play and actually took the kick ins for a majority of the first half. Won a lot of the ball. He made some mistakes, but the benefits far outweighed the negatives. In only his fifth game of AFL he was our best backman - and queue hype again.

Some people simply dont understand what pre season games are about. And he is a kid. Clarko is going to get him to his full potential.

With our lack of access to top 10 picks over the last few years - an expected bi product of success - we hadn't really had access to genuine elite talent in a while. Some late speculative picks worked out, but we've never been able to grab an Oliver or a Bont and haven't had players like Heeney handed to us on a silver platter. Cue Burton, a 'potential top 5 pick' according to a lot of experts who missed a majority of 2015 due to a badly broken leg that required a metal rod (or plates?) to fix. He was barely running at the draft combine and the injury was the only reason he slipped down to our pick. Absolutely dominated the year prior playing against older kids.

So there was a lot of hype around his talent, but there was also a realistic expectation that due to the nature of his injury he wouldn't be playing much of 2016. After two classy games across half back at Box Hill, a metal framework was taken out of his injured leg and that was supposedly the last we'd see of Burton in 2016. He made a return around Round 19 and one week later he killed Coburg - like deadset murdered them in the third quarter. Had massive amounts of shots and kicked 3.5. And then was brought into our best 22 on the eve of finals, something that no supporter had expected. His first two games were OK as a forward, but mostly quiet. Then he was moved across halfback vs Collingwood and Geelong (first quarter before injury) and looked to be one of our best defenders. He took the game on, he marked, he tackled and his kicking skills were elite. It looked like we genuinely had elite talent. He entered our best 22 on the eve of finals as a first year player. We weren't the Hawthorn of 2012-2015, but still a formidable side and for a young player to do that was extremely unexpected.

A very strong pre-season did a lot to stoke the fires of hype, but his stints as a forward in JLT had people scratching their heads. He had flashes of brilliance and football smarts, but he looked uncomfortable for some reason. His elite kicking skills faltered in front of goal and he went missing for large portions of the game. After 3 consecutive games having the same problem, you'd naturally have people jumping off the hype train (although I preferred to stay on). When people are built up with hype and they falter even for a bit, it often comes crashing down.

I don't know if you watched the game vs Adelaide but he was moved back across half back and played against Tex Walker - Captain of their football club and dangerous forward. And honestly, Burton got the chocolates. Competed in the air and tackled strongly. Won his own contested ball when he had to. Set up a lot of the play and actually took the kick ins for a majority of the first half. Won a lot of the ball. He made some mistakes, but the benefits far outweighed the positives. In only his fifth game of AFL he our best backman - and queue hype again.
Yep think he will be a steal from his draft, top 5-10 already on talent and arguably production.

I wish that other actual top ten draft pick went alright...:(:(

Your boy? Haha keep the faith I am - I still think he can make it , I reckon the club do also! He's still young and still hasn't had a good run at it! Until he gets 8-10 games in a row we won't see what he can really do! Just needs some injury luck and dam hard work
Back to burton - what a gem he doesn't get dropped for rest of the year he must play!

Did some maths earlier tonight...

The kid has only played about 10 games of footy at any level since August 2014.

That should give a bit of perspective of where he's come from.

This is what heaps of outsiders don't get.
Get him rolling & the snowball will grow at a pretty quick rate, throw in Jäger to that snowball & it's looking like a catastrophe for the rest of the AFL having the Hawks as a perennial top 4 side.

Also shows you how much better he can and will get - first proper pre season and only 5th game!

He reminds me of Chad Cornes. Good size, moves well, uses it well and looks capable of playing in multiple positions. Has certainly looked better down back so far and Saturday was his best game to date. Plenty to work with.

Toast Round 2 Rising Star Nom: Ryan Burton GET AROUND HIM!