Round 21 - Geelong vs Brisbane

• Thread starter Thread starter SeinDude

SeinDude

Well, after a disappointing performance against Fremantle at Subiaco last week, Geelong faces Brisbane at Skilled Stadium this Saturday in a game where both teams will be keen to come away with a win.

Brisbane have definately had the wood over us in recent seasons. In fact the last time Geelong beat Brisbane was way back in 1995 at Kardinia Park when Brisbane were still known as the Bears!! However, things are very different now... Brisbane are the reigning Premiers and are a powerhouse side with most of their players in their prime, whereas Geelong are a young, up and coming side with many players still developing their games and getting experience in the big time.

In all seriousness, we would need to play at our absolute best to have a chance of winning this game as Brisbane are a quality side. Steven King would need to control the rucks and give first use of the ball to our midfield players, our defence will need to play very tight and back each other up, and our forwards would need to be very creative and kick accurately.

Having said all of that, you never know what can happen on the day if you do your best. If a country like Senegal can beat the World Champions France in the opening game of the last Soccer World Cup, anything is possible!! ;);)

Prediction: Geelong by 2 points

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

Form is a fickle thing in footy, so you can't rule us out yet. Treat each game as it comes. Forget that Brisbane are a better team, because if we think that, we have already lost.

You never know what will happen on match day.

It will be tough, Brisbane will have to play say 70% and us to be pretty close to 100% to win. No body expects us to win, so there is not really any presure on us. The only presure is that we must win one of the next two games to make the 8.

If we give it a real hard go, you never know what's going to happen!!

Go Cats!!:)
catattack

Originally posted by SeinDude
Steven King would need to control the rucks and give first use of the ball to our midfield players, our defence will need to play very tight and back each other up, and our forwards would need to be very creative and kick accurately.

That about covers everything but the interchange SeinDude, and the umpiring.

Having said all of that, you never know what can happen on the day if you do your best. If a country like Senegal can beat the World Champions France in the opening game of the last Soccer World Cup, anything is possible!! ;);)

But SeinDude Senegal weren't at their best France were at their worst.

BigKev

Re: Re: Round 21 - Geelong vs Brisbane

Originally posted by BigKev
That about covers everything but the interchange SeinDude, and the umpiring.

BigKev,

As a Geelong supporter, I expect only half the amount of free kicks as opposed to the opposition team and anything better than that is a bonus!! ;)

SeinDude

Re: Re: Re: Round 21 - Geelong vs Brisbane

As a Geelong supporter, I expect only half the amount of free kicks as opposed to the opposition team and anything better than that is a bonus!! ;)

Spot on!! AND how many bonuses have we had this year??

catattack

While I'd love a win, No.

Too much against us. Brissie are really hitting form, while we have been disrupted recently with injuries and out of sorts.

Brissie also have too much body strength for our lightly framed players. And home grand advantage? Brissie love plying at Kardinia Park, I reckon we'd have more advantage playing at the Gabba!

The only way we can win is with luck, a few key injuries to some Lions, accurate kicking by us, plus a boost in physical strength combined with hard running.

But as I reckon we are going to lose this match big, we might as well bring back Menschy and Bluey for a swansong and look towards Hawthorn

My head says we won't:(

But my heart says we WILL:)

And Until the final siren on Saturday arvo I'm going to let my heart RULE!!

GoCats!!

Originally posted by Mattster
crunch game...it would be upset of the round if we won i say.

It would be the upset of the season if we won on Saturday, but while we are there having a red hot go, anything is possible!! :)

It will be interesting to see what tactics we use this week against Brisbane. I heard Mark Thompson had come out earlier in the week and said to expect the unexpected on Saturday. What are everyone's thoughts on possible tactics and match ups to combat Brisbane's gameplan??

SeinDude

Although Brisbane are in very good form, probably the best team in the comp, Geelogn do have a tendency to win the games that we are expected to lose, but we lose the games we are expected to win. I'm not saying it will be a walk in the park at all, but what I am saying is don't write us off!!

catattack

***TEAMS FOR SATURDAY, from afl.com.au***

And here are the teams...

GEELONG
Backs: J. Corey M. Scarlett J. Rooke Half Backs: B. Graham T. Harley J. Rahilly
Centre: D. Clarke P. Riccardi J. Kelly
Half Forwards: P. Chapman K. Kingsley R. Burns
Forwards: S. Johnson C. Mooney M. Woolnough
Followers: S. King, C. Ling, C. Enright
Interchange: D. Wojcinski, P. Street, W. Slade, J. Bartel
Emergency: B. Sholl, C. Gardiner, J. Hunt

BRISBANE LIONS
Backs: C. Johnson M. Michael D. White
Half Backs: M. Ashcroft J. Leppitsch C. Scott
Centre: B. Scott M. Voss N. Lappin
Half Forwards: J. Akermanis J. Brown M. Pike
Forwards: D. Headland A. Lynch C. McRae
Followers: B. McDonald, S. Black, L. Power
Interchange: J. Charman, S. Hart, T. Notting, R. Copeland
Emergency: A. Shattock, D. Bradshaw, M. Martin

And here's a preview from the afl.com.au site...

http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=54623

If you're going to the game Saturday at Kardinia Park, see you there. :)

Cheers,
William

Great to see Bartel and Street named in the 22. Bartel will have fresh legs for the midfield so that's going to help heaps.

Street has been in very good form in the VFl and he also deserves his spot!!

Good team to play the Lions, hope that it's a pack house!!:D

catattack

....and Ronnie, back in a little form returns this week after withdrawing from the Freo game, might just have his spark back this week. Let's hope he does, because this is the week to have it. You never know, some of his contributions and miracle works might just lift us over the line!!!!

catattack

Re: ***TEAMS FOR SATURDAY, from afl.com.au***

Originally posted by you_idiot
GEELONG
Backs: J. Corey M. Scarlett J. Rooke
Half Backs: B. Graham T. Harley J. Rahilly
Centre: D. Clarke P. Riccardi J. Kelly
Half Forwards: P. Chapman K. Kingsley R. Burns
Forwards: S. Johnson C. Mooney M. Woolnough
Followers: S. King, C. Ling, C. Enright
Interchange: D. Wojcinski, P. Street, W. Slade, J. Bartel
Emergency: B. Sholl, C. Gardiner, J. Hunt

It's great to see Peter Street and James Bartel brought back to give us the next rotation of fresh, young players into the side. Ronnie Burns will add some unpredictability to our forward line that looked very ordinary last week at Subiaco.

I'm really looking forward to this game. We have absolutely nothing to lose and a hell of a lot to gain... bring on the challenge!!

SeinDude

Re: Re: ***TEAMS FOR SATURDAY, from afl.com.au***

It's great to see Peter Street and James Bartel brought back to give us the next rotation of fresh, young players into the side.

Yes, indeed. Some signs of hunger for what should already be a hungry side. It can only help the cause...

Ronnie Burns will add some unpredictability to our forward line that looked very ordinary last week at Subiaco.

"Unpredictability", huh? :eek:

True, that both the half- and full-forward lines lacked any imagination last week over in W.A., but to liberally pilfer and paraphrase a Gump-ism, Ronnie Burns is like a box of chocolates because you never know what you're going to get. :eek: :eek:

Hopefully, it's all good this time.

However, as I said earlier in the week, they'll need Ronnie and the other forwards to be at their best. Kingsley, a.k.a. "The King", can only score goals in bunches whenever the fellow forwards around him are taking marks as well... and this means you, too, Ronnie.

I'm really looking forward to this game. We have absolutely nothing to lose and a hell of a lot to gain... bring on the challenge!!

Same here-- looking forward to it, and it will be an interesting game.

Also looking forward to meeting up with BigFooty's Geelong and Brisbane supporters before the game as well. We're still taking RSVP's today (Friday) for the pre-game shindig-- just sign up on the related thread here on the Geelong boards.

Cheers,
William

Today we came up against clearly the best team in the competition in Brisbane and although we didn't win the game, we can learn a hell of a lot from our performance, and the performance of the quality Lions outfit!!

The game was over as a contest after the first 15 minutes and at half time we were 53 points down, but to our credit we showed great character to match Brisbane in the second half and minimise the damage. Kingsley was our best forward, kicking 4 out of our 7 goals, and other good players for us were Harley on Voss, Chapman, Ling, Scarlett and Clarke.

The bottom line is that we must beat Hawthorn next week to be assured of a finals place. The pressure will be on and for our young players, it will be a fantastic experience no matter what happens.

SeinDude

Coming from a lions fan perspective, who has a soft spot for the cats, I thought they played really well! You definatly have alot of potential and just need to keep the core group together, the lions were bottom a few yrs back, yet we pretty much had the core group of the team back then, all you need is to play some more games together, pack on a few kilos and keep that competitive edge there. The player on voss, chapman was it? He played really well! as did scarlett ,coming from one scarlett to another, he does have a might fine name :),.
Loved the work of a cats supporter, who after the ball was kicked out, pikey went to fetch it expectin the supporter to throw it back to him, when in actual fact he threw it a couple of metres the other way, haha loved the few words pikey had to say to the fella and the fact that all the geelong supporters were havin a chuckle, seem to have a good lot of supporters down there, anyone close enough to hear what was actually exchanged?
Martin has a smile on his face as he was about to kick in.
Good luck for the next few games! Hope yr right in there

All I can say is that as a Geelong supporter, we got our butts kicked all over the park. We cannot-- repeat, CANNOT-- do that against Hawthorn next Friday night and expect to find a berth in the finals waiting at the other end of that game as a reward.

I agree with everything SeinDude said, about the game being effectively over at halftime, and the Cats putting together a fairly decent second half in an exercise of damage control.

However, as high of a quality as there exists in the upper echelon of finals-calibre competition and as much parity as there is elsewhere, one bad quarter of footy will be exploited, and a half where your team goes AWOL leaves you dead in the water. This is a painful lesson the Cats have learned, and at the wrong time of the season, mind you.

The second half effort by the home side was good, but they must play at their best in a sustained effort for four complete quarters of footy next week, or else their season will be over and done with, simple as that.

Cheers,
William

Today we came up against clearly the best team in the competition in Brisbane and although we didn't win the game, we can learn a hell of a lot from our performance, and the performance of the quality Lions outfit!!

The game was over as a contest after the first 15 minutes and at half time we were 53 points down, but to our credit we showed great character to match Brisbane in the second half and minimise the damage. Kingsley was our best forward, kicking 4 out of our 7 goals, and other good players for us were Harley on Voss, Chapman, Ling, Scarlett and Clarke.

The bottom line is that we must beat Hawthorn next week to be assured of a finals place. The pressure will be on and for our young players, it will be a fantastic experience no matter what happens.

SeinDude

To quote what you said to me at work SeinDude the end result was a loss. How can you say their was positives from the second half?

Brisbane eased off in the second half thinking about Port next week. We didn't care about percentages its all down to next week for us.

I think you will beat Hawthorn next week and make the finals because looking at the two teams Geelong are slightly better than the Hawks.

BigKev

How can you say their was positives from the second half?

Brisbane eased off in the second half thinking about Port next week. We didn't care about percentages its all down to next week for us.

There were positives for Geelong in the 2nd half.
I'd be worried for Brisbane if they did take their mind off the job in the 2nd half.They do that next week & they'll finish 2nd.

Port were doing the same against the Wedgies though. They'd put the foot down, then drop it back into neutral. We were competitive in the second half, thats about it.

Positives were the form of Chapman, Ling and Kingsley.
Apart from that, we got our arses kicked by the best team in the comp.

To quote what you said to me at work SeinDude the end result was a loss. How can you say their was positives from the second half?

BigKev,

When we were 53 points down at half time, the game could have gone one of two ways;

1.) We capitulate like a deck of cards and lose by 100+ points, and spend next week trying to be competitive and get back to a basic gameplan with our players confidence completely shot.

OR

2.) We start our planning for next week in the 2nd half by trying to minimise the damage and become more competitive, allowing some of our players to get something out of the game to build on for the most important match of our season next week at Colonial Stadium againat Hawthorn.

I'm glad we went down the 2nd of the two options!!

SeinDude

Yes, I agree. We were very competitive after half time. If only they had played like that all day...!!:D:D

But, I am very pleased that they didn't throw in the towl at say 1/4 time!!!

catattack