Autopsy Round 8 vs Adelaide Rant Thread

The more I think about it the more I keep coming back to the fact that we were actually worse than Monday.

All week, I backed the boys to lift. The kick in the arse I thought the Saints game would be didn't eventuate, we're trending downwards and things could get proper ugly from here. Shit like this gets inside people's heads, dunno if we have the mental fortitude to stop the rot anytime soon.

Very significant day for our club.

Yeah forgot about Robbo... We need him to play on the ball as much as possible, his attitude might become infectious.*

*author does not believe this

It's sad to see Robbo running around all huff and puff, but chasing his tail like the rest of the team. He's trying 110%, but it's a bit like keepings off playing Carlton at the moment.

We are a tactical basket case. Seriously, opposition match committees must rub their hands together in the week they play Carlton...

The amount of times we go to a double-teamed Betts - one of the shortest players in the AFL - as our forward entry is just unforgivable. Hampson and Kreuzer are constantly caught in no man's land down there (Kreuzer especially, he is little more than a witches hat in the forward line).

Our so called running defenders seem confused when the slightest bit of pressure is applied to them, and often run around in circles before choosing to kick short along the boundary to a teammate under extreme pressure. Apart from Jamison, our rebound from the backline is non-existent (ridiculous decision to play Yarran as the sub; sub him off if he's too tired). We have lost all imagination and creativity with our kick-ins, whilst we seem to concede our entire forward 50 when the opposition kick in and gift them metres.

The midfield setup is atrocious; well-drilled midfields simply punch holes in our 'structure' at will.

Also, another poster identified this recently, but we never man the mark properly (Duigan excluded). Whoever is on the mark just starts floating back half-heartedly and allows his opponent to kick under no pressure.

Serious questions need to be asked of the coach, we are cannon fodder for any coach with an ounce of tactical imagination.

Agree. :thumbsu:

My thoughts.....

-Our forward line is a mess, I really don't see what Barker has done with it.

-We are mentally soft and afraid of a fair dinkum contest.

-Yarran as sub was baffling, If he wasn't 100% then don't play him.;)

-Robinson should've been in the guts from the get go and told to belt Van Berlo at each and every opportunity.:thumbsu:

-Why can't our rucks take contested marks? :rolleyes:

-Why do we win hit outs but get r*ped in clearances? :confused:

-We don't work bloody hard enough, The shepherding, blocking, bumping, endeavour, desperation is just flat out piss poor. :thumbsdown:

-1%ers are rare and far between :thumbsdown:

-Constantly succumbing to the pressure, how many times players give the ball off to another who's under immediate pressure......its like "shit i dont want it, you deal with it"

-Kicking to Betts as if he's a 6'6 KPF:eek:

Unbelievable how fast we have fallen away since that Collingwood game, We we have been poor since then, Freo win and GWS win were very ordinary games.

In the preview thread during the week, I said a big cloud that you could smell the stench of was nearly upon us, well let me tell you ladies and gents, it's right over visy park right now with not a breath of wind in sight to blow it away anytime soon, I hoped in hope it self that I was wrong, but my footy instinct and sense told me otherwise, iv been a loyal man to my beloved club, enduring the dark years and still signing up for a membership knowing wooden spoons were more likely than wins, but I kept telling myself "the wheel will turn mate hang in there" add to that the club gloating and sucking people in(I don't give a damn who this offends because this is what the club has done) to the cause that we will be a good side(top 4 mentioned openly at the club this year yes?) when in fact we are a good average side, no more no less, people saying the bombers list is a joke and that we are so far ahead of them it's not funny and shit, oh my hat :eek: I must admit I even thought some of what was being said about the dons was right, but in the real world it was my own teams list that was staring me right in the face that is mediocre (Carlton arrogance does blind fold, even myself :eek:) I still believe we need to hit rock bottom before we can start the improve of out put of this group (no we have not hit rock bottom yet, it's not far away though people ;) when we realize that football games are won by respect for your opposition and by hard uncompromising football (ref that joke side people referred to here, the team we played today) maybe just maybe we might be able to start to get some respect back and maybe a win or two, because right now we are the laughing stock of the AFL, we are going to cop it by everybody and you know what, good, it's totally warrented so suck it fellow blue baggers we are in for a bumpy ride.
always considered winning a few spoons a while back pretty close to rock bottom

Haha on friday night malthouse predicted at 3 quarter time that the flood gates were going to open in collingwood's favour and it didn't happen did it? Malthouse is an ego maniac and a very overrated football coach. I pray that if ratten is to be replaced that we stay well away from him. I actually want pagan back, but that won't be happening so I say get leigh mathews

Pagan back are you serious? I'd rather have Matthew Newton.

Settle Azul - next you will be blaming Hyde - did you see the team of babies he had yesterday?

Huh? I have no issues with the team nor the coaching staff. But the standard of the VFL isn't conducive to fast-tracking AFL listed players.

An occasional run at AFL level against the bottom side is worth half a dozen VFL matches. Further, as I've tried to elaborate, we have an identifiable structural deficiency.

Hang on guys despite the drubbing there is an upside. We have saved the opposition forward scouts heaps of time, effort and money. They no longer need to attend our games to see how we set up. They simply sit at home and watch Essendon, Stkilda and the Crows dismantle us.

Cool. In future please use my full username. I have been lumped into "the clique" by the raging, disenchanted mob and don't wish to seem part of any exclusive posting block.

Apologies, thylacine60.

The coast is clear, however. 'the raging, disenchanted mob' will be busy for another 1/2 hour microwaving their memberships.

****en disappointing, a couple of things frustrate me.

1. It has taken sides like WCE and Adel only one or 2 years to turn around their poor previous years where they finish down the bottom and turn into a possible flag contender. We aren't close to being one after 11 years.

2. Ratten keeps harping on about our "poor ball use, decision making and being beaten around the stoppages " yet I don't see a hear any emphasis about when we don't have the ball.

Can use all the excuses you like. Adelaide don't have the most talented list out there, but it goes to show what getting a good coach into the club can do. The only game plan I have seen Ratten employ is kick the ball long and hope someone takes a contested mark.

He has to come up with a different game plan cos we don't have the players who can be taking contested marks.

The boys chucked it in before the end of the 3rd Q - sometime around the time that Hampson failed to kick a goal one on one..a few minutes after we butchered a couple of other opportunities and in between moments when umpires gave weird rulings against us and the flow of the game..

Essendon/Saints / Adelaide- don't say we didn't have prior notice - pretty much the same game over and over again- each time a more emphatic underlining of all the weaknesses of the team..and therefore the Club.

no heart against Essendon - no brains OR heart against St Kilda- and now - it is clear no substitute payers behind this lot- so no Carrazzo/Laidler/..and now Murphy/Duigan ...

We are going to go through a world of pain on and of the field...

each game from herisnt a given - and each 4 pointer gold ( that is if you think there is a season left in us)

always considered winning a few spoons a while back pretty close to rock bottom

By rock bottom guns I meant, that point when all the arrogance in thinking your shit don't stink but in reality it hits you that in fact it does stink, and that it's actually been your farts that have been giving you away all along is realized.

Carlton = Glass Cannon.

So much effort into drafting your "silky outside types" that we have been left behind by teams with grunts.

Look at Essendon with Stanton, Lonergan and Watson, Lonergan is short but he's a unit, Watson is a monster and Stanton is a built version of Carazzo.

None of those guys have the greatest skills, but they are killing it just by being harder and stronger.

Seriously how many wake-up calls do we need, the performance on Mon night was poor enough, but to repeat it and put in a worse performance is not good enough. Clearly not learning from these rubbish performances

I thought the effort was there, particularly early on. I blame the drafting and we're just not tall or strong enough. We're just going to keep sitting around 5-8 on the ladder unless something changes.

Autopsy Round 8 vs Adelaide Rant Thread