Cheshire Cat

May 31, 2007
Arsenal, Red Sox, Celtics
I am in Adelaide this week for work, I've heard Crows fans complain about this guy and I've read the Adelaide Advertiser (the Geelong Addy is just a biased by the way) and agree that this guy is a joke. Not an objective thought has been said in the preview to the GF. When Bartel won the Brownlow - "the Cats now have the Charlie curse" Today saying Bomber Thompson's contract status is unsettling us whereas the Power are settled because Choco has signed on. And the bit that made me laugh today was when he more or less called the Crows chokers - compared the Australia's hockey team or something. I now understand your disgust. :thumbsdown: Lets hope we smash Port this weekend.

Also had to laugh when another unbiased football commentator Graham Cornes said that Geelong would be disappointed we didnt pick up Boak!! :confused: Joel Selwood anyone?

Yep I can’t stand Rucci; the main has some major issues. All you have to do is to look at ‘scotty’s counter’ and you’ll quickly realise what a sad man he really is.

I read in the Advertiser today that Port have the edge over the Cats in every area of the ground. I’m not sure whether Rucci wrote this but what garbage!

I hope you slaughter the Power on Saturday and Jimmy wins the Norm Smith just to stick it up Rucci. ;) Oh and Selwood had one of the best first years in history, won the Rising Star award, and yet you made a mistake? Not sure how that works. :eek:

I read the article where he was talking about the Brownlow "curse". Complete idiocy. If a Port player had one the brownlow he wouldn't have mentioned the so called "curse". He's also forgetting the reigning Brownlow medalists Brisbane had in their side in 2001-2002.

Go cats is all I can say!

Mate even Port fans don't rate him high and mighty.

But come on, most writers in his position write overt crap so often. Plus you have to consider that he is writing for the state's most popular mainstream/commercial newspaper.

I think people continue to read him because

a) they grown accustomed to reading crap yet are still entertained by it

b) they don't really know much about football so can't decipher credibility from bullshit

c) they genuinely do like his writing

It's not all part c), is what i'm saying (crows and port fans alike)

Of course I'll often read what he has to write if Port are involved, but this doesn't necessarily mean it's always been worth my time. Naturally, i'm interested in my team

edit: if you observe his sections consistently though, i won't deny that he does come out with some very credibile articles at times. other times, i think he likes to stir the pot, because it generates interest, which isn't such a bad thing

I am in Adelaide this week for work, I've heard Crows fans complain about this guy and I've read the Adelaide Advertiser (the Geelong Addy is just a biased by the way) and agree that this guy is a joke. Not an objective thought has been said in the preview to the GF. When Bartel won the Brownlow - "the Cats now have the Charlie curse" Today saying Bomber Thompson's contract status is unsettling us whereas the Power are settled because Choco has signed on. And the bit that made me laugh today was when he more or less called the Crows chokers - compared the Australia's hockey team or something. I now understand your disgust. :thumbsdown: Lets hope we smash Port this weekend.

Also had to laugh when another unbiased football commentator Graham Cornes said that Geelong would be disappointed we didnt pick up Boak!! :confused: Joel Selwood anyone?

Not to mention that Port had their pick before Geelong. There's no way the cats could have got him hahaha.

Bias doesn't come into this really, Cornes is still majorly pro-crows despite his sons, he just often speaks before he thinks, I would say port made the mistake here, as did a couple of other clubs.

Just read this article:

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22483071-21545,00.html

Made me want to throw up and that was just the photo, I lasted about 3 lines of the actual thing.

Mate even Port fans don't rate him high and mighty.

But come on, most writers in his position write overt crap so often.

Do they? Not the good ones. And if that's a defence against Rooch taking swipes at us, I guess you lot forgive Robert Walls for his 'overt crap'. And the swipes aren't an occasional thing - they're very regular.

Plus you have to consider that he is writing for the state's most popular mainstream/commercial newspaper.

Which makes his position even more damning by alienating 65%-70% of his audience. He's either stupid or it's a ploy to sell newspapers, putting him in the same credibility basket as Rebecca Wilson. And he's not stupid.

I think people continue to read him because

a) they grown accustomed to reading crap yet are still entertained by it

b) they don't really know much about football so can't decipher credibility from bullshit

c) they genuinely do like his writing

It's not all part c), is what i'm saying (crows and port fans alike)

People read him because they're lazy and we only have one paper. In response to b) they may know something about footy, but The Tiser has dumbed down journalism in this state over 10 years that people don't know any different. The Sunday Mail sells 800k copies a week for God's sake! I rest my case your Honour.

They also read him because they want to see what he's said next in order to complain about it. It's why those Port Power people who ring in to 5AA to whinge about KG & Cornes listen to the show. It's why non-Collingwood people flocked to the Footy Show in droves so they could bleat in cyberspace about Edward's bias.

edit: if you observe his sections consistently though, i won't deny that he does come out with some very credibile articles at times. other times, i think he likes to stir the pot, because it generates interest, which isn't such a bad thing

I've had chats with him about footy and think he's quite insightful. Some of his stuff is quite sharp at times. It's just a shame he's somehow taken on this crusade that lowers the standards for everybody. And no, he doesn't stir the pot to generate interest. He stirs the pot to generate sales.

Scotty made an Australian bet on TV. To not honour this is UnAustralian.

Rooch will keep Scotty's counter going, until he honours the bet. Simple.

The truth is that Trigg stopped it from happening and Rucci will continue to sook about it while the rest of Adelaide no longer cares.

Does anyone else besides Rucci care about it ??? What someone said to him on 5AA was that they use it now as a reminder of how long ago it was since port had beaten Adelaide in a regular season game which pissed Rucci off to great lengths :D

The problem with Rucci is that he far too emotionally involved in the Adelaide V Port rivarly and has a license to write whatever he wants so that uses the paper as a propaganda machine for the Port Adelaide Football Club. I think he honestly believes that if he keep giving Adelaide backhanded compliments and pump up port's tyres that it might help to sway the public interest Port's way.

Rucci would have made a great GDR reporter back in the days before the fall of the Berlin wall.

Rucci