Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Yes crossed his path one day in Albert Park. I was running and him and a lady presumed his wife or partner crossed my path and I slowed to let them pass in front of me. She gestured a thanks with a smile and he just looked at me with that surly look of disdain you do when you find dog shit on your shoe. I thought you fat slob who the **** do you think you actually are ?
Yeah he is an absolute flog. By far the absolute worst player I’ve met. You’d think he’d developed a cure for cancer (permanently) and not just kicked lots of goals.

I’ve seen him around the traps, he is just an absolute grouch. He’d steal a Christmas present from under you tree if he could.

Excluding football-adjacent events, these blokes in 'the wild' left the following impressions:

Neil Kerley, Ken Hunter, Jimmy Buckley and Simon Black had time for everyone.

Richo and Ben Harrison were terrific despite the fact some of the boys were annoying the crap out of them in the mid-90s.

Kept it together well despite being under the influence: Arnold Briedis, Andrew Lovett, Sharrod Wellingham, Stevie Motlop, Daisy Thomas, Leigh Montagna, Sam Fisher.

Bob Murphy was the worst. Marc Murphy was also a jackass.

80/20 rule applies. Mostly nice.
I am pretty left and Bob Murphy is an absolute flog. How he is on the ABC I’ve no idea. God I miss Red.

Anthony Rocca same
He used to own a pizza place across the road from Melbourne Uni. I was in there one day and blow me down, there was Anthony serving pizzas, clearing tables, copping heat from the manager just like anyone else. This is while he was playing at Collingwood. Got lots of good bloke credit for me for actually getting his hands dirty and helping out. Oh, and he was pleasant and affable while serving to boot.

Have heard nothing but wonderful things about Crawford.

Perhaps one of the best stories I heard was one about a young boy who had lined up for ages to get an autograph and say hi but freaked out and froze up when he got to Shane. Shane apparently told his dad to wait around later and then had a kick of a footy with the boy when there was nobody else around.

Stuff like that hits you in the feels.
I remember reading a story that a random Hawthorn fan was waiting to catch the bus to the footy when a car rolled up to the bus stop. Driver wound down the window and offered a lift to the game. Shane Crawford was the driver.

That was on the footy show too. Crawford and the guy he gave the lift to were on it.

Yeah he is an absolute flog. By far the absolute worst player I’ve met. You’d think he’d developed a cure for cancer (permanently) and not just kicked lots of goals.

I’ve seen him around the traps, he is just an absolute grouch. He’d steal a Christmas present from under you tree if he could.
Yep, i learnt early never to meet your heroes.

It has served me well to not put people on pedestals

Peter Matera was awesome.
I met him in 1991 when we stayed at the same place that WCE were having their preseason, not far from Hillarys in Perth. Matera had only played a few games in his first year, We actually didn't even know who he was. He couldn't have been more friendly to the small bunch of us 15 year olds who were sniffing around trying to get a look at the team. He invited us to the gym one evening where the whole squad was playing basketball, introduced us to everyone, got everyone to sign some bits of paper he scrounged from somewhere, all the time we thought he was a trainer or something!
Then he had his break out year that season, finished 4th in the Brownlow, All Australian! Absolute ripper of a guy..

I met him in 1991 when we stayed at the same place that WCE were having their preseason, not far from Hillarys in Perth. Matera had only played a few games in his first year, We actually didn't even know who he was. He couldn't have been more friendly to the small bunch of us 15 year olds who were sniffing around trying to get a look at the team. He invited us to the gym one evening where the whole squad was playing basketball, introduced us to everyone, got everyone to sign some bits of paper he scrounged from somewhere, all the time we thought he was a trainer or something!
Then he had his break out year that season, finished 4th in the Brownlow, All Australian! Absolute ripper of a guy..
What a champion. I didn't know he came 4th in the brownlow in 91. Turley 2nd and him 4th. Good year.

just dug this out! Matera signed it first with a dodgy pen, he then went and got another one for the rest of the squad to use!
wce1.jpg wce2.jpg

Anyone met Willie Rioli?
haha, yeah we did after a WCE game, before he had debuted..
It was in the supermarket in Balga, he was still in his smart suit, with about 6 litres of Coke (Cola:laughing:) under his arms!
I recognized him, said g'day, and he stopped to chat for a bit, happy to answer a few questions about how he was going, injury wise.
I met him again after the 2018 GF at a preseason training session down in Busselton. He ran back from the bus to sign my kids Premiership poster, so 2 out of 2 meetings, nice guy!

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?