meg

carlton
Hey everyone,

did anyone end up going to Rumba? I did, and might I say, I was definitely not expecting much, but it was awesome!! :D

I'm a bit in love with one of the boys from 'Blue' ;).
HEAPS of footy players there... spoke to Ryan Houlihan and Brendan Fevola, and also Mark McVeigh, who was there with Shannon Grant :confused: When Bardot were performing, McVeigh was standing there like this :eek: I think he was very impressed ;)

Did anyone else go?

Originally posted by meg

Did anyone else go?

No :), Not yet anywayz.....! I might be going to the one in Sydney depending what happens next Sat night or something :confused: :confused: Lets hope my Sat Night doesn't turn out to be at Stadium Australia :(

But last night instead of going Rumba I went on the piss and just say Magsy drank a little too much :(

Mags

hahahahahah oh god out of all the players to go to pathetic Rumba i woulda guessed Shannon and Mark would go. Think about it its the teeniest event of the year with around 99% of the crowd being under 15 and female of course those two would have to go lol

Meg,

As I warned last Thursday, I also went along, courtesy of free tickects and a benevolent mother, not expecting a whole heap but with an open mind!

To answer some questions:

• No, I wasn't the eldest there. I saw at least 3 others older than me!
  • No, that wasn't me on the half pipe with my skateboard!
  • No, I didn't squeal when Blue came on. (More likely, I was turning to the missus asking who the hell they were.)
  • Yes, Vanessa Amorossi hit at least one high note!
  • Yes, Blue did openly apologise for performing synchonised miming to the wrong song!
  • Yes, Cheyenne Coates did actually remind me of a Drag Queen parody of herself (including the mime!)
  • Yes, I did feign shock at the exhorbitant prices for miserable pieces of food.
  • No, there wasn't ever a long queue at the bar.
  • Yes, there was a Far Queue around the stadium before the start!
  • Yes, it did evoke a feeling similar to that felt while at an Essendon game!
  • Yes, Emma Bunton did try hard and Yes, she did appear to be enjoying herself!

In truth, the better acts were better than I though while the poor acts were worse than I imagined.

I don't know about Blue, Meg. Synchonised miming to lame songs just doesn't quite cut it with me. I also wisely chose the time that Bar-dot performed to go for a walk around the stadium and to see about binocular hire.

If Vanessa Amorossi wasn't so middle-of-the-road then she would be a star! She has one hell of a voice - probably better than anyone else on the bill last night. It's just that her songs lack that bit of verve to really propel her up the ladder. I couldn't help but think that she was really best suited to being the lead singer in a Heavy Metal band.

Craig David faced up to 50,000 people with only the single acoustic guitarist for support. That he was able to mesmorise the crowd for 30 minutes just on his voice alone - with nothing else available to cover any shortcomings - is a true measure of his ability.

After Shaggy got the crowd really worked up, I though it was a strange choice to close with Human Nature. They were so inspiring that I was caught falling asleep!

Nelly Furtado was excellent. She has had the one mainstream success with the Bird song but may be a little more alternative than the conservative folk at Fox-FM had in mind. I wonder how much they appreciated her closing song, "**** on Radio"?

The quote of the night went to Tina Arena, when interviewed on Rumba TV. She was asked who she though would be the next big Australian thing. With a straight face, she answered "Spiderbait and Regurgitator", bands that have been big for at least the last 5 years and the likes of whom would struggle to get airplay on FOX!

For mine, Craig David, Shaggy (more for his showmanship), Nelly Furtado, Vanessa Amorossi, paulmac, Lash and perhaps, maybe even Tina Arena (suffering from the same middle-of-road curse) were the highlights.

The rest didn't rate at all!

Originally posted by meg
and also Mark McVeigh, who was there with Shannon Grant :confused: When Bardot were performing, McVeigh was standing there like this :eek: I think he was very impressed ;)

McVeigh, Grant and Bardough come from the same planet of Endor!! Nar seriously ... Grant and McVeigh are ex-Sydneysiders. McVeigh played at Pennant Hills. As far as Bardough are concerned ... puke!!

Originally posted by CJH

I don't know about Blue, Meg. Synchonised miming to lame songs just doesn't quite cut it with me. I also wisely chose the time that Bar-dot performed to go for a walk around the stadium and to see about binocular hire.

Craig David faced up to 50,000 people with only the single acoustic guitarist for support. That he was able to mesmorise the crowd for 30 minutes just on his voice alone - with nothing else available to cover any shortcomings - is a true measure of his ability.

After Shaggy got the crowd really worked up, I though it was a strange choice to close with Human Nature. They were so inspiring that I was caught falling asleep!

Nelly Furtado was excellent. She has had the one mainstream success with the Bird song but may be a little more alternative than the conservative folk at Fox-FM had in mind. I wonder how much they appreciated her closing song, "**** on Radio"?

LOL.... CJH, I can understand how you wouldn't like Blue... but you've got to look at it through a sixteen year old girls eyes ;) I must admit it WAS pretty funny how after their second song, they go 'oh, um, sorry, we got that last song mixed up... THIS is actually our new song'... hehehe, yeah, good miming boys ;)

Shaggy was awesome in his showmanship. We were right up the front and I'm still a little deaf from all that bloody screaming he made the crowd do!

I agree about Nelly Furtado... she was excellent.

Vanessa Amarosi... if she didn't scream so much I think she could do well....

Tina Arena, well I feel a bit sorry for good old Tina, cos she's a bit of a loser and a dag, and unfortunately she doesn't know it :( She tries to be all trendy by dancing in a Latino way, and doesn't quite cut it!

Craig David was also awesome... amazing voice, and to think he's only 19 or so!

So you sort of enjoyed it?

Originally posted by meg
Tina Arena, well I feel a bit sorry for good old Tina, cos she's a bit of a loser and a dag, and unfortunately she doesn't know it :(

lol :D

Sorry Tina, but you aren't trendy.

i went to rumba.... i got vip from fox,
it was a fair day and i enjoyed myself....
craig david is wow, same with blue they are so nice.
i got to talk to craig david and hrmm he is great!