Rumors about who where targeting ...

BlueBoy83

Apr 29, 2004
CARLTON
heard a rumor on another board that we are targeting these players ... not sure if its true but its interesting ne way ... here it is:

POSTED BY 5CougarsThanks 04-09-2004, 20:43

Probably shouldn't be saying most of this but, who cares, it's only Carlton. Had a chat today to a bloke connected to the Blues regarding some draft talk around the traps.

He said the Blues have picked out 4 or 5 players they would be targetting, with names including: J Longmuir, M Gardiner, S Dew, L Harding & M Michael. He believes that Longmuir has already agreed to move pending a suitable trade. Also said Pagan wanted Harding. Pretty keen on him actually. He believes Mal Michael is keen to return to Melbourne and they were hopeful of persuading Gardiner to make a move.

Also mentioned Richmond have offered Bowden up for trade and that the Tigers were pretty keen on Hulme and Whitnall. He believes Whitnall will almost certainly move.

Just a few bits and pieces. I guess it's all speculation even though it comes from within a footy club.

all sounds reasonable ... not sure about dew, bit injury prone but would be great up fwd if firing ... obviously we need another ruckman gardner not sure about, i dont really want ne one whose done a knee or ne thing (ie mcdonald as well). harding wouldnt mind, he's quick and dennis could bring out the best in him. longmuir id be stoked with as i would with mal michael.

Has ne body heard other players we might/should be targeting?

I wouldnt mind geting J Longmuir but i doubt we have anything that fremantle would want. The only person i can think of is Whitnall for Longmuir but they may want more then that. I think we could get Harding pretty cheaply. Mal Micheal i doubt we will get him but might aswell try. Gardner would be worth way to much and he is very injury prone. Dew would have been alrite if he where a couple years younger and for what he is worth we may have to give up to much.

I would love to see Whitnal go to Richmond for Bowden.
Bowden is an absolute gun and every Richmond supporter that I speak to hates him, proving just what ******** poor judges they all are.
I doubt very much that any of the rumours are correct but I do have a VERY reliable source at the club and I will confirm.

Roll on 2005

You want a forward/ruck from freo? I think Simmonds would be a more suitable target, out of contract and originally from Melbourne. Not sure what we'd like in return. Can't think of a player we'd want. I guess all thats left is picks.

Maybe a 3 way trade to get J. Carr to freo.

rgauci said:
You want a forward/ruck from freo? I think Simmonds would be a more suitable target, out of contract and originally from Melbourne. Not sure what we'd like in return. Can't think of a player we'd want. I guess all thats left is picks.

troy is only 196 cm is that correct?

if so thats pretty small to play in the ruck isn't it?

rgauci said:
I think the AA ruckman is 195cm. So 196cm ain't too short. JLo is 198.

true true ...

id just love to have a real ruckman ... french is a battler who i like, but he's no jeff white/cox/brogan/everett etc.

its amazing how much drive a quality ruckman like white can give a team.

Gardiner at his best can be the best ruckman in the league. Happy if we look into it, but gee I doubt Eagles would even consider it, even with Cox going so well this year, unless MG wanted out.

I wonder if Brisbane might be a better target for a ruckman. Charman would surely be off limits, but with Keating, Mcdonald and Mclaren also on their list, I reckon we should sniff them out - Mcdonald in particular (altho he hasn't played for so long i wonder if he can even walk these days!).

Not interested in Dew unless we got him real cheap, while J Lo and Michael would be terrific, but unlikely too.

After the last 2 years I just can't see us trading draft picks for anyone. Whitnall could be the best bait we can use to try to secure a decent key position trade.

How about:

Whitnal to Bris - to take over from Lynch....just plonk him in the goal square and let him and Brissies midfielders do the rest

McDonald to Freo because he's from Perth

Longmuire to Carlton I'm sure he'd be a more than adequate replacement for Whitts

Badabing said:
How about:

Whitnal to Bris - to take over from Lynch....just plonk him in the goal square and let him and Brissies midfielders do the rest

McDonald to Freo because he's from Perth

Longmuire to Carlton I'm sure he'd be a more than adequate replacement for Whitts

Might also need to throw in some draft picks as sweeteners as well......

I have heard talk about Mal Michael as well. Source is pretty good. There are better sources around but this fellow isn't far off normally.

Longmuir would be good for us, can take a contested mark and could play CHF for us. Is more athletic than Whits and does seem to suit Denis' game plan more.

Ironically Longmuir did reject us a couple of years ago. I guess he's become a little frustrated with the short kicking game that Freo employ. With Denis' long, direct kicking plan, he'll enjoy it.

Yep heard about Mal Michael as well. Not happy being paid SFA in brissy

Would love to get J Longmuir but I doubt it would happen

Simmonds no because his knees are ********ed and he can rarely ruck

Bluemike said:
Simmonds no because his knees are ********ed and he can rarely ruck

that isnt true. they had 3 ruckman, sandilands is incompetant as a forward and longmuir is 2 times better as ruckman than a forward.

stokesy said:
How old would Mal Michael be now?

28 this yr.

i reckon we'd be better off going with a 22 yr old kp player who can play fb for years ... push thornton to chb.

michael would be nice if the price was right tho ... but i doubt we'd be able to get him

rgauci said:

Simmonds went to Melbourne from Claremont and was keen to return home.

RIPPER_46 said:
Snake is a Victorian Boy and grew up barracking for Carlton believe it or not.

is he injury free?

i know he bulked up to play fwd could he still play in ruck and dominate?

i wouldn't mind him at chf/ruck, but im keener on j.longmuir,

BlueBoy83 said:
He said the Blues have picked out 4 or 5 players they would be targetting, with names including: J Longmuir, M Gardiner, S Dew, L Harding & M Michael. He believes that Longmuir has already agreed to move pending a suitable trade. Also said Pagan wanted Harding. Pretty keen on him actually. He believes Mal Michael is keen to return to Melbourne and they were hopeful of persuading Gardiner to make a move.

Also mentioned Richmond have offered Bowden up for trade and that the Tigers were pretty keen on Hulme and Whitnall. He believes Whitnall will almost certainly move.

All sounds great, but as some people have said - what can we give up to get these blokes? Whitnall.....? Who else?

J. Longmuir - would be a nice pick-up, but would he crowd Fevola too much in the forward 50? Or would we use him in a combination of in the ruck and down forward?

M. Gardiner - interesting situation over the west with Cox proving himself in Gardiner's absence this year. Would be an absolute sensation if Carlton could land either Gardiner or Cox.

S. Dew - strong body, great kick... injury prone - but I can see the Blues grabbing him if the opportunity arose.

M.Michael - can't see him coming to Carlton. Then again, we did draft Mick Martyn at the age of 46, so who knows.

L.Harding - yeah, I can see that. Pagan might want to work with him a bit more, as he would know what potential he has. I like the look of Corey Jones for the Kangaroos too.

Also, perhaps we could work out a trade to get McKernan back to Optus Oval again? ;)

Interesting all these names you put forward as players you would like to gain.

Question just what the hell have you got to trade for these players?

In all due respect these players would command some good players in return and your good players I would of thought are all still very much required.

Monocle said:
Interesting all these names you put forward as players you would like to gain.

Question just what the hell have you got to trade for these players?

In all due respect these players would command some good players in return and your good players I would of thought are all still very much required.

ur not gonna get every1 u propose for ...

if we get a cpl great.

There is no way in the world that Justin Longmuir is going anywhere, will finish Top 3 in the B & F this year, is now our Number #1 ruckman. You probably heard it wrong in the first place, Troy longmuir has been linked in the media in Perth to be chasing a trade and Carlton has been mentioned in circles.

Simmonds, IMO, will definitely be traded, but it's doubtful the Blues have anything to offer, besides Whitnall, & Connolly isn't stupid enough to fall for that one.

I believe Troy longmuir would be a great pick up for your team on a HFF or a pocket alongside Fev. Would have played many more games for Freo this year, but one suggest a fall out with Connolly, as he dominated in the Wafl when dropped. Perhaps Troy Longmuir for Digby? Otherwise a 2nd rounder would suffice.

TheSheik said:
I have read some crap in my time but that list of possible trades is way off the mark. Why would Mal Micheal leave Brisbane, he's a bloody Queenslander for god sake ?? :rolleyes:

according to that source that is who carlton are 'apparently' targeting ... dont shoot the messanger!!!

ps: why wouldnt he want to leave, if he can cash up $400k a year in melbourne, compared to $150k or so in brisbane? hes won his flags, now he needs to worry about retirement!!!

Rumors about who where targeting ...