Ryley Dunn...

Wood Truck

Interested in hearing from the Freo faithful on your thoughts of Ryley Dunn. He was a top ten draft pick a few years back and touted as a more than handy onballer. I know he's had his fair share of injuries but was wondering whether you guys think he has what it takes to cement a spot in the best 22...

Is 2007 make or break?

After reading through the posts on the previous thread, it sounds like he's up against it.

Its funny cause i remember there being big wraps on both Dunn and his fellow Shepparton mate Kane Tenace who went to the Cats. And i must admit Tenace would have to be one of the most overrated top ten picks I've seen play. Sure his quick - quick at running away from a contest! How Cats supporters must shudder everytime they think about letting Maloney go to the Dees instead of axing Tenace. Anyway this content is probably best off being posted on the Cats forum.

I hope Dunn gets fit and allows us to see what he can do.

Good luck to Freo in 07 - could be the year for the men in purple!

Played on Farmer in the intra-club game. Farmer was quiet. Dunn was barely noticeable. That all could add up to being a good day for Dunn, but I can't say; doubt if Farmer would be fired up. But what was surprising is that many people comment that Dunn is slow, and when I saw the match-up i thought he was about to be taught a lesson. And he never looked slow. The match up totally surpriesed me, and makes me wonder what Dunn's potential is, because it would be great to have him as more than a "depth" player, and become someone who forces himself onto the team sheet.

After reading through the posts on the previous thread, it sounds like he's up against it.

Its funny cause i remember there being big wraps on both Dunn and his fellow Shepparton mate Kane Tenace who went to the Cats. And i must admit Tenace would have to be one of the most overrated top ten picks I've seen play. Sure his quick - quick at running away from a contest! How Cats supporters must shudder everytime they think about letting Maloney go to the Dees instead of axing Tenace. Anyway this content is probably best off being posted on the Cats forum.

I hope Dunn gets fit and allows us to see what he can do.

Good luck to Freo in 07 - could be the year for the men in purple!

Agree wholeheartedly.

Cheers friend!! Hope you're right.

Played on Farmer in the intra-club game. Farmer was quiet. Dunn was barely noticeable. That all could add up to being a good day for Dunn, but I can't say; doubt if Farmer would be fired up. But what was surprising is that many people comment that Dunn is slow, and when I saw the match-up i thought he was about to be taught a lesson. And he never looked slow. The match up totally surpriesed me, and makes me wonder what Dunn's potential is, because it would be great to have him as more than a "depth" player, and become someone who forces himself onto the team sheet.

I actually didn't think he looked slow in terms of his running speed, and he did get his hands on it a few times. I thought he looked a little slow in his decision making and getting rid of the ball in contested situations. He has looked sharp and strong and quick at the training sessions I've watched - I hope he can make a real go of it.

We can probably put that down to him missing so much footy , I hope .

The fact that He has only played 3 games spread so far apart would not be conducive to getting up to the speed of decision making that the AFL requires.

The strong & sharp bit is very encouraging , though.

Having me as his buddy must give him a big lift also. ;)

i agree with what IP says. i have seen him for EF and he either takes an eternity to dispose of the ball and puts himself under pressure, or he takes 2 steps and thumps it down field. he just doesnt seem to have the awareness to play AFL. happy to be proven wrong of course

And i must admit Tenace would have to be one of the most overrated top ten picks I've seen play. Sure his quick - quick at running away from a contest! How Cats supporters must shudder everytime they think about letting Maloney go to the Dees instead of axing Tenace. Anyway this content is probably best off being posted on the Cats forum.

Always easy to criticise trades and picks in retrospect. And we can't all recruit couragous players of the calibre of McDougal like the Bulldogs have.

does he fit into freo's side?

I keep repeating this view - he isn't a midfielder. He is more a Glenn Archer style backman/Utility.

He could develop a niche in the side as a hardman, but with rise of Dodd, the recruitment of Solomon and to a lesser extent O'Brien, it could be really really tough for him.

He has a contract till 2008 so he has two years up his sleeve. That suggests the Club rates him very highly. And we do seem to have success with players we back in. However, at the end of this year, he might prefer a trade to a younger team where he gets regular game time to develop his game.

The two games I've seen him play he looked more lost than anyone I can remember. But Ripper is probably right in saying he just hasn't played any football.

Dunn needs to get 10-20 solid games under his belt at East Freo to be considered an AFL starter in our current team. You'd think he would get plenty of action in the East Freo half-back line to show what he can do.

Should be given some NAB cup game time after the preseason derby.

Was impressed at how much of a footy player he looked like during the intraclub match. He's certainly developed in his years injured.

Bottom line for him is that he needs to perform in the WAFL. ?If he can do that then he will be a good chance. I think him and Walker will be fighting hard for the same spot by the end of the year.