Saints in trouble again!

First time I have ever written to the club was over this and expressing my disappointment that once again players poor choices and lack of responsibility, had reflected badly on the club, sponsors, members and supporters.

The club emailed me yesterday thanking me for the email and that the most appropriate person would reply to me as soon as possible. This morning I received an email from the club with an apology and advice that they will be releasing within the next fortnight a long term strategic document on how they want the club to be. All very encouraging.

A few minutes after the email one of the Saints senior players phoned me to personally apologise on behalf of the players for the stupid Mad Monday incident. He said they realise, that not only can they, not do the wrong thing, but they can't put themselves in situations, where it could be seen that they are doing the wrong thing even when they are not. The 150 emails from members, the media and online reaction, plus other concerns have had a huge impact at the club.

He said that the club has taken this very very seriously and had a number of meetings on this already. There are already big changes being made and will have more made over the coming months.

The player said he was personally embarrassed by it and was still being asked about it, as he went about his day to day life, ie yesterday in a cafe. He said that it was a real pity, as the last round was such a high, with it being the best match he had ever been involved in (fair call after grand finals) and this disappeared so quickly with the Mad Monday incident. He was happy to chat and was in no rush, spending 12 minutes chatting on the incident, the club, his happiness with the year and the enthusiasm and positive benefits of the youth etc.

A very pro-active thing by the club and the players to take the time to do this. Looking back this may be the incident that sets institutional change at St Kilda and a very positive time ahead.

Wow. intense.
I like your last line the most.

There is a saying that "a disaster that nearly kills but ultimately doesn't will ultimately be the making of you". We hopefully survive this one and implement some changes that are well overdue.

Hopefully this will appease all the supporters having a dig at the club. They are on to it. They cannot stand watch over every player 24/7. It's now on the players and if they muck up, the club should punish them.

Let's move on.

Or let's not.

The "24 hour cycle"mentality needs to stop.

Some nice initial actions taken by the club, but this (acknowledging and respecting the view of members) is so massively overdue it's not funny.

We've heard words before. The merchandise sale is another example - late communication and not backed up with actions.

We are competing for members and sponsors against some big machines. With our finances it is critical that we do the basics well. Communicating with your members is a basic.

Or let's not.

Some nice initial actions taken by the club, but this (acknowledging and respecting the view of members) is so massively overdue it's not funny.

We've heard words before. The merchandise sale is another example - late communication and not backed up with actions.

We are competing for members and sponsors against some big machines. With our finances it is critical that we do the basics well. Communicating with your members is a basic.

meh, I have bigger thing to worry about in my life.

you shouldve reported them to security for unsociable behaviour and they wouldve been removed from the venue
I did. I got told as they didn't hear it, they couldn't do anything. Then, they basically told me just to harden up. It was an absolute joke, to be honest.

I would like to say right now that we all wait to hear what really happened before jumping to conclusions. For all we know - the guy in the wheelchair rammed him and abused him and Rich was trying to avoid it all. who knows - perhaps Rich was a tool and picked on a disabled guy or pinched his disabled taxi. either way - lets wait - and then cast judgement :)

First time I have ever written to the club was over this and expressing my disappointment that once again players poor choices and lack of responsibility, had reflected badly on the club, sponsors, members and supporters.

The club emailed me yesterday thanking me for the email and that the most appropriate person would reply to me as soon as possible. This morning I received an email from the club with an apology and advice that they will be releasing within the next fortnight a long term strategic document on how they want the club to be. All very encouraging.

A few minutes after the email one of the Saints senior players phoned me to personally apologise on behalf of the players for the stupid Mad Monday incident. He said they realise, that not only can they, not do the wrong thing, but they can't put themselves in situations, where it could be seen that they are doing the wrong thing even when they are not. The 150 emails from members, the media and online reaction, plus other concerns have had a huge impact at the club.

He said that the club has taken this very very seriously and had a number of meetings on this already. There are already big changes being made and will have more made over the coming months.

The player said he was personally embarrassed by it and was still being asked about it, as he went about his day to day life, ie yesterday in a cafe. He said that it was a real pity, as the last round was such a high, with it being the best match he had ever been involved in (fair call after grand finals) and this disappeared so quickly with the Mad Monday incident. He was happy to chat and was in no rush, spending 12 minutes chatting on the incident, the club, his happiness with the year and the enthusiasm and positive benefits of the youth etc.

A very pro-active thing by the club and the players to take the time to do this. Looking back this may be the incident that sets institutional change at St Kilda and a very positive time ahead.

great post and great work SS

very glad to hear they called you back!!!!

Bottom line is whats a big deal for the media is a big deal for our sponsors or potential sponsors.

Will be a big test of the management to change the club culture issue. Looking forward to seeing how they handle to fallout.

This truly should be a "line in the sand" moment for the Saints.

Overall, i'm pretty happy with the club's response and well done to the people who emailed the club. Although the initial response was very late and a bit unprofessional, getting the players to call up members is a great way to make them understand that they are not just accountable to themselves but the club, the coach and the members. Hopefully, this has finally sunk in.

Is it time for a change in leadership? I'm worried about the claims that the leadership at our club is backward.

Or let's not.

1 good initiative doesnt undo the countless f'ups that they've done. This is a simple thing that should have been implemented after first off field saga.

Hopefully this is stepping stone for them to fix all their glaring issues.

I find it odd that criticism if often directed to the club in general about these matters.

The club does not tell players to go out and act like tools. You cannot legislate against stupidity. In this case, any criticism should be directed at Jones. At 29 he has been around long enough to appreciate how much hard work goes into winning a flag and what acceptable standards are. If he gets the chop then I will support the club 100%.

Just what exactly is it that that supporters feel the club should do? A zero tolerance no dickheads policy? If so, are you ready to stand by the club if it sacked a high profile player like Joey or Dal for example? Let's be honest here.

Secondly if we applaud coaches who teat players like their own son, and denounce flogs like Hird... which direction should the club take? If the former, then how do you deal with it? To all parents out there, do you just write off your kids if the muck up? Or do we give them an opportunity at redemption? If the latter, do you see this as a sign of weakness in yourself? Is it a sign of weakness in a club?

Perhaps people can define what they mean by professional and what code of conduct the club should put in place. It's no point running around the paddock like a headless chook hurling criticism at the club. Anyone can do that.

How about we provide some solutions instead? Let's be consistent without double standards.

All I am saying is that before we criticize or demand things from the club, think carefully about what you think is appropriate responses from them. As stated on many times, I didn't see too much angst at Milne not being stood down this year. Did the club handle this correctly? Was there any reservations about what sponsors would say that we had an accused rapist playing?

FWIW, Jones should be made an example of and delisted. Send a message, do it now... if that's what we and the club want.

Good for you.
Some of us want a professional club, and expect it.

What makes you think that I don't?

Mate, it's a sport. That's it... entertainment. I am happy to banter about it, but yeah... who really cares? They will do what they do. I cannot and don't worry about things that are outside my control. It's all about perspective in life.

Just what exactly is it that that supporters feel the club should do?

When there is an incident, the club needs to be on the front foot with communications.

Mad Monday should have already been consigned to the scrapheap, or as a minimum closely monitored by the club (so that as soon as a "bright spark" decides it's a good idea to pull out a BBQ lighter the taps are turned off).

A good example was raised with the Riewoldt/Gilbert situation. Should never have happened.

Players should be ringing members. Not just to try and get people to re-sign. Where is the thanks for some of the long-term members? I've never heard of it despite these being people who have supported the club through thick & thin.

I noticed the filth players getting sore arms signing autographs at the VFL. Even players walking off the field were signing them!!! Whilst this says alot about their supporters, it was symbolic about the players giving back.

When someone writes to the club and puts some effort into the correspondence, get the _uck onto it. We had an example of where a forum member wanted something like a personalised signature (for $). Became a hassle. Why? Players living in a bubble. Find out what player he wants, get the thing signed, and get the bloody player on the phone to thank him/her for their support!

Last year at the B&F, there were heaps of players sulking together as far away from the supporters as possible. Ledge was very good, but it was overall quite disappointing. You could walk up to many of them and have a chat - but they should have willingly been doing the rounds.

The players need to understand the concept of sponsors and members. Obviously Lyon didn't have a great grasp, and this attitude still seems to have permeated the group.

I could go on.

Mate, it's a sport. That's it... entertainment. I am happy to banter about it, but yeah... who really cares? They will do what they do. I cannot and don't worry about things that are outside my control. It's all about perspective in life.

So you don't want the club to look to elevate itself above a meathead culture?

It's your perspective. There are some that have a different perspective.

Who cares?

Some care that St Kilda's membership base is relatively low.

Some care that the club has found difficulty in attracting the big sponsors.

Some care that the media has formed a view of the club, which gets reinforced enough by the players to keep it running.

Some care that this all results in not having the finances to do what the club would like to do.

Some care that some players don't care enough.

Some care when people say that (despite being a member) there is nothing that they can do.

When there is an incident, the club needs to be on the front foot with communications.

Mad Monday should have already been consigned to the scrapheap, or as a minimum closely monitored by the club (so that as soon as a "bright spark" decides it's a good idea to pull out a BBQ lighter the taps are turned off).

A good example was raised with the Riewoldt/Gilbert situation. Should never have happened.

Players should be ringing members. Not just to try and get people to re-sign. Where is the thanks for some of the long-term members? I've never heard of it despite these being people who have supported the club through thick & thin.

I noticed the filth players getting sore arms signing autographs at the VFL. Even players walking off the field were signing them!!! Whilst this says alot about their supporters, it was symbolic about the players giving back.

When someone writes to the club and puts some effort into the correspondence, get the _uck onto it. We had an example of where a forum member wanted something like a personalised signature (for $). Became a hassle. Why? Players living in a bubble. Find out what player he wants, get the thing signed, and get the bloody player on the phone to thank him/her for their support!

Last year at the B&F, there were heaps of players sulking together as far away from the supporters as possible. Ledge was very good, but it was overall quite disappointing. You could walk up to many of them and have a chat - but they should have willingly been doing the rounds.

The players need to understand the concept of sponsors and members. Obviously Lyon didn't have a great grasp, and this attitude still seems to have permeated the group.

I could go on.

So you don't want the club to look to elevate itself above a meathead culture?

It's your perspective. There are some that have a different perspective.

Who cares?

Some care that St Kilda's membership base is relatively low.

Some care that the club has found difficulty in attracting the big sponsors.

Some care that the media has formed a view of the club, which gets reinforced enough by the players to keep it running.

Some care that this all results in not having the finances to do what the club would like to do.

Some care that some players don't care enough.

Some care when people say that (despite being a member) there is nothing that they can do.

nailed it squizz

the sooner our club gets its head out of its ass and realise they are a minow club that needs its supporters, members and sponsors then maybe it might go down the path to becoming a big club

the eagles put us to shame over here. always actively involved in the community, always available to members and supporters. have a strong board, strong administration that flows through into the football dept

i suspect the boys think they are mega stars. sadly the ladder position and the position of our club as a whole suggests otherwise

they really are small and backwards

What makes you think that I don't?

You said you have bigger things to worry about.
as squizzy said, some of us are genuinely concerned with some sort of trend, and can see the ramifications loud and clear from these issues...

"they will do what they do" doesn't cut it anymore, ...So far - the penny seems to have dropped at the club.

Saints in trouble again!