Toast Sam Gilbert 200

I still think his experience is worth something to the team. It'll be a sad day when he retires given he's the only Saints player left that is older than me.
... And I've just realised I'm now older than our oldest player.
Thanks mate.

Great guy, great player. Got the most out of himself and forged a more than handy career.

Easy to talk about his kicking, but what I enjoyed has always been his hardness and attack.

Played a role in helping us to get to the big dance for two years in a row.

Congrats and let's hope he enjoys the occasion with a win.

Congratulations on reaching 200 games, a true warrior for the Saints, 09/10 finals he gave us hope. Not to be to big a detractor, but that was 8years ago. Has the pace of the game caught up with him? Anyway a truly great career so far & we all should be rapt it was played in the R,W &B.

Congratulations on 200 AFL games Gilbo! An amazingly versatile player who was always a strong tackler and still is. I'm sure he's passing some of that onto the current batch of kids.

loyal servant, congrats on 200 but time is done. needs to be in the VFL for the remainder of the year unless injuries strike. Time for the young kids to get a crack.

Dean Bailey (August 2010): We don't need James McDonald. He is too old and slow. We are rebuilding and I would rather give the opportunity to all these much more talented young guys we just drafted. "James ... time to retire"

I've always like Gilbert. For me, he is a classic "his good outweighs his bad" type of player.

The thing about him is, his "good" is pretty unique not only in our team but across the competition. His tackling is elite and comes from his rugby background. And his other major quality is his ability to evade the first tackler and break the lines (yes, he often shanks the kick but when it does come off, it will usually lead to a score).

The fact that he is a bigger body added to the aforementioned strengths means he has a unique skill-set on our list. I reckon he has been a great player for us and think he is very deserving of reaching this milestone. Seems like a quality bloke off the field too which is always a nice bonus.

Congrats to Sammy for reaching 200 games - a better bloke you won't meet off the field. Very under rated player who is very versatile and has a great side step. Well done Sam!

Love the way this guy goes about it. For all the ragging he gets on here I bet his team mates love playing with him. Can never question the heart in this man.

Go you good thing Sammy and get on the end of a couple.

Congrats to Sammy for reaching 200 games - a better bloke you won't meet off the field. Very under rated player who is very versatile and has a great side step. Well done Sam!

Yeah, he's one of the really nice guys in footy. He's always doing community stuff with out fan fare. He's always up for a chat with randoms on the street and seems like the kind of guy you'd love to play footy along side.

There’s a great video on the Saints twitter of various people paying tribute. Some of the club greats including; Lenny, Roo, Dal, Montagna and Tommy Walsh.

Just like this moment. Manages to sell some candy, then just stuffs up the kick to only have a miracle bounce into GOATs hands for a shot on goal.

Don't forget the literal match saving spoil with 5 seconds left. Bartel would have nailed that shot after the siren IMO.

That was fun to re-watch.

There’s a great video on the Saints twitter of various people paying tribute. Some of the club greats including; Lenny, Roo, Dal, Montagna and Tommy Walsh.
Someone hopefully posts it. He is universally loved at the club obviously. It's worth watching.