Player Watch Sam Swadling

View attachment 2612297
Should have played senior footy this week. If he’s overlooked next week our selection integrity is truly cooked.
Literally came to this thread to tag you and post that it would have been nice to see a version of this at senior level…

Admittedly I haven’t seen the game because I expected it to be ugly and couldn’t be arsed. The takeaway from me when people are screaming “play the kids” this guy and West are the only two that look genuine AFL talents. The rest I’ll listen to those who support them I’m just not seeing it.

We have 5 best 23 players missing. Danger signs are upon us.

Literally came to this thread to tag you and post that it would have been nice to see a version of this at senior level…

Admittedly I haven’t seen the game because I expected it to be ugly and couldn’t be arsed. The takeaway from me when people are screaming “play the kids” this guy and West are the only two that look genuine AFL talents. The rest I’ll listen to those who support them I’m just not seeing it.

Our Good Kids been drafted in last 2 Drafts so some are not AFL Ready yet

He played well but he's really quite slow. His inside work is good though. With his lack of pace he'll have to become a really good extractor
He's got a touch of class I think, but yeah pace is going to be an issue unless there's more physical development with that.

He's really promising.

What did you think of Prindable?
Clearly his best game for club.

Leg speed a worry with modern game. But also quite slow getting a disposal in. If he could improve this it might cover some of the leg speed issues

Our Good Kids been drafted in last 2 Drafts so some are not AFL Ready yet
I agree West and Swadling. The rest for me are just U22 on an AFL list for now. The comparison I’d make is Hayes and HH. Hayes currently isn’t doing anything HH wasn’t doing 2-3 years ago. For me it reflects how precarious it is for those maybe talents one injury can derail it all.

He has got a tremendous tank for his size, especially as a first year player.

Is constantly hungry for the ball.

For the people who have seen him up close, does he look big up close as he does in the highlights?

He looks like he is one big boy. Pretty much dwarfs most of the vfl level players except the key position players.
Yeah is a big lad for an outside mid / small Flanker type. Is a genuine 6’ 2” player with big quads/ legs. Is still v young, so will build even more strength…. As said before, big kids still don’t have the strength of seasoned afl types, so don’t expect him to monster anyone at this stage, but the kid has all the tools to be a Heater / Lachie Ash / Jack Crisp / McCluggage / Jack Sinclair or Rozee type. So much hunger to constantly be involved. Run and carry / metres gained / good positioning for handball receives… rinse repeat

Reckon outside mid is his eventual position, as he runs all day, great transition work and smarts… and obv finds plenty of uncontested ball. the kid can take a mark too. Not afraid to take contact in contested aerial stuff

I agree West and Swadling. The rest for me are just U22 on an AFL list for now. The comparison I’d make is Hayes and HH. Hayes currently isn’t doing anything HH wasn’t doing 2-3 years ago. For me it reflects how precarious it is for those maybe talents one injury can derail it all.
HH really not helped by the additional setbacks last year. Missing so much time at this stage set him back a fair way.

Swadling being this good this early is super promising. Thrilled!

HH really not helped by the additional setbacks last year. Missing so much time at this stage set him back a fair way.

Swadling being this good this early is super promising. Thrilled!
Absolutely and I haven’t given up on him or most of them really, but it’s taken him from a 60/40 in my head to make it to a 40/60. Hayes is a little over 50/50 I equally wouldn’t be shocked if he took his chance or we invested 30 matches into him only to learn he ain’t it (ala Long, Allan and Macrae in recent times).

Swinging back to Swadling. He’s doing stuff at 18 that Beamer and Steele were doing back in 09. Ditto West at 19 he’s a dominant undersized KP state league forward which is rare.

This is an encouraging sign, particularly seeing one of our VFL players put up those types of numbers. Charlie West had a strong first season at VFL level, and it would be great to see both West and Swadling earn regular AFL opportunities if they continue to take them when they come.

the phantom menace GIF by Star Wars

Don’t you try to claim him Apex.

He’s mine. I’m very possessive.

Kid has all the tools to be a gun. Pair him with Nick and an inside extractor and that’s the nucleus of a strong starting midfield in the future.
No I remember you claiming him on draft night, you definitely have rights to him.

Kid has all the tools to be a gun. Pair him with Nick and an inside extractor and that’s the nucleus of a strong starting midfield in the future.
I am very keen to see how he goes in the midfield.

Having said that, till date he has been primarily been used as a half backer. Think that is where he will start off before he eventually shifts to the midfield.

Edit : I claimed him on draft night. Said it right then that he was my favourite pick of the lot.

I am very keen to see how he goes in the midfield.

Having said that, till date he has been primarily been used as a half backer. Think that is where he will start off before he eventually shifts to the midfield.

Edit : I claimed him on draft night. Said it right then that he was my favourite pick of the lot.

I’d rather start him wing so he can push into the fringes of stoppages and link up.

NB. He was my man a long way out from the draft. Although I’ll give it to RobJD for his Simon Black comparison. That was a ripper and much better than I was using.

I can’t remember any draftee putting up those kinds of numbers (excluding Nick ofc) for well over a decade, dare say since 09 after Sidey and Beams were drafted. If we can somehow pick up 1 more good mid in this draft and get a good FA like Neale or Bailey then our list is looking a hell of a lot better all of a sudden.

He’s actually mine. Claimed him 2 months before draft and some poster had a go at me saying his disposal is no good.

He plays like a mix of Jack Crisp & Lachie Ash.

I can’t remember any draftee putting up those kinds of numbers (excluding Nick ofc) for well over a decade, dare say since 09 after Sidey and Beams were drafted. If we can somehow pick up 1 more good mid in this draft and get a good FA like Neale or Bailey then our list is looking a hell of a lot better all of a sudden.

Still need that higher level inside player IMO. That’s why I’m disappointed Sam Berry has activated his extension. Would have been perfect.