West End Redbacks, Cleveland Browns
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,26012872-19742,00.html

Aaron Sandilands is the only Fremantle player selected in the 40 man All-Australian Squad. He will be competing against Clark and McIntosh for the ruck position, so I think it's a fairly safe bet to say he will be the #1 ruck this year.

It's a shame they couldn't find a position for Tarrant. He was in AA form in the first half of the season, but did admittedly concede a few more goals in the second half. Although surely he had a better year than Dustin Fletcher...

It's a bit weird seeing no Pavlich in the squad, but with his injuries and the move out of the forward line, it was to be expected.

I'm shocked that Tarrant isn't in the squad. If he was in a team winning games of football he would have been a walk up start I would expect.

about right for a disappointing season from the club.

just look how many players Port Adelaide, Richmond, West Coast, North and Melbourne have in the team.

3 players from the bottom 6 sides!

wtf ?? No Campbell Brown?? The team needs someone who can bung on the histrionics on the boundary line and make hollow threats down the phone (after safely locking himself in the dunny) and still be the only one at the end of the day who hasn't left a fingerprint on the footy. It's a conspiracy I tell you
This comment gave me a pretty good laugh :)
But congratulations Sandi, a very deserving member and shoo-in to be the All-Australian Ruckman

I wouldn't really have expected anyone else to get a shot at the squad. Pav has the talent obviously but not the consistent form this year. Tarrant is definitely good enough for FB, but that sort o position is a funny one and its rare that a player without a good rep built over a couple of seasons gets it. Another season or two like the one he's just had (if he hangs around of course) and some overall team improvement and he would be a shoe-in for the squad and push hard for AA selection IMHO.

Cases in point, Presti has been very good but is overrated quite a bit - being long term dependable and Collingwood helps him heaps and the same sort of goes for Fletcher. Good season some classic Fletcheresque games, but a number of very average-poor games too. Taz would be easily as good as those but he just does have the rep and he's in a poor + non vic team.

Frigging hell, how proud would it be to be a member of the "Four and Twenty" AA Team for 2009? The AA team sponsored by a frigging pie for Christ sake. What is it with the AFL, the most prestigious selection of the year and best they can come up with is a pie sponsor. I just shake my head.:eek:

Whoever pays the bills.

If it ain't Mrs. Mac's....;)

I dont find it a problem at all. Its named after me...not the pie.

Great work from Sandi:thumbsu::). Dissapointed obviously WC only got one in too. :(

Pretty hard to ignore Sandi's efforts this year. Been a lot more damaging around the ground. Ive been impressed with his tackling. With a better team around him he will be better next year IMO.

Bright future for both.

As long as they have the selectors that they have for AA selection, we will never be given a fair go. I mean, Glen Jakovich is the only WA selector and he hates us. No one represents our interest. It's as biased as Jakovich's commentary.

Tarrant should have been a squad of 40. Apart from Anthony kicking 4 goals on Tarrant, who kicked goals against him?

I wonder if Taz hadnt had hurt his foot, things might have changed, I think the nite he hurt himself he was dominating. Did he miss any games because of his 'miss-kick'?

If he missed a game that may have been the tipping point.

So according to the AA selectors Bernie Vince is a better midfielder than Matthew Pavlich. Hmmm ...

Given only 7 of 40 players are from teams outside Victoria you'd have to suggest a certain bias with the players at the margin all going to Vics. Especially given 5 of those are just bleeding obvious. With really only Jakovich and Healy regularly watching non-Vic games and the buffoons like Demetriou and Anderson on the panel its to be expected.

So according to the AA selectors Bernie Vince is a better midfielder than Matthew Pavlich. Hmmm ...

Given only 7 of 40 players are from teams outside Victoria you'd have to suggest a certain bias with the players at the margin all going to Vics. Especially given 5 of those are just bleeding obvious. With really only Jakovich and Healy regularly watching non-Vic games and the buffoons like Demetriou and Anderson on the panel its to be expected.

No, Vince was overall a better midfielder than Pav this season (though even then you might have a case). It's not, who would you pick if your were going to build a 'AFL best team' but who has been the best performers this season. Pav has been very up and down this season and also missed a couple through injury. Bernie's played every game and has been a ball magnet and quality player in most of them. Not many would pick Pav over Vince if building a team from scratch, but on this years form, Vince has been high quality and probably deserves the squad spot.