Sandy Game

Blueinblood

Went to the game and noticed a few of your boys running around the park. Absolute scorcher today and they ended up delaying the second half and shortened the quarters to 15 minutes. I just thought id tell you how your boys went. BTW you lost by about 15.

Cameron Bruce- Played average. Up forward. Booted 2 goals including a set shot 50 out on the boundary and the other from a set shot 20 meters out. Good solid hands when the ball was kicked within the vicinity of him. Some terrible decisions when hand-balling but also did some clever things and one of his passes was brilliant. The sandy team was trying to kick to this one bloke for about 10 mins and none of the players got within 10 meters and then bruce got it and kicked a high ball to the lead where the bloke did not have to break stride.

Cale Morton Bit Quiet but did a few nice things. Kicked a great goal 50 out on the boundary of one step in play. Similar to where Bruce kicked it from. Played predominately half back/wing and probably ended up with 10 disposals.

Matthew Whelan Didn't see him touch it until the last quarter although i was based in a forward pocket for the whole game. Not sure who he played on but didn't set the world on fire and his opponent couldn't have kicked many as not many goals were scored by either team.

Jarrod Rivers Didn't see to much of him but i heard someone say " is Jarrod Rivers injured" and i heard the reply of "yes he limped off" and that was about 5 mins before the end of the game but i didnt notce anything.

Other things i noticed.
One sandy player went up in a contest and was CRUNCHED he was on the ground for a good minute and was seriously winded. Couldn't tell who it was but didn't look like one of your blokes.

I saw a few of your blokes at the match including:
Brock Mclean
Nathan Carroll
Josh Mahoney
Sean Wellman ( is he assistant with you or the dogs)

Thanks for the report:thumbsu:

I Hope Rivers didn't get injured:eek: Hopefully it was just a corky or something....

And was Lynden Dunn playing?

And Wellman is our assistant:thumbsu:

This is a report by MFC4LIFE from Demonland:

Sorry to hijack your thread Blueinblood but i didn't know where else to post it:thumbsu:

Hi boys and girls, just returned from the game.

Made a hasty departure as soon as the siren went and can't remember the exact score but we lost by 16 points. I think the final score was Williamstown 56 Sandringham 40.

Weather was shocking. 36 degrees for the whole game, which would explain the low score. The games was nearly called off had half-time because apparently there is some form of VFL ruling that states that as soon as it hits 36.5 degrees the game needs to be called off. Was an extremely hard slog by both teams who ran and tackled hard and I think they blew the final siren a bit early, as soon as it hit 2pm.

This is the following synopsis of the Melbourne players performance:

Cale Morton: Did some exquisite things and some god awful things. Awful things include dropping sitters, lack of awareness and accountabilty. At one point during a boundary throw in he was walking run, head to the ground and Lamby had to shout at him 'Cale!', stick your arm in his gut mate!' in reference to his opponent who had wandered off him. Exquisite things include kicking a goal from the boundary line of one step from 50m out. He is still very green and adapting to playing with men. Could be anything in time.

Cameron Bruce: Solid performance. Got a lot of the pill, ran hard, wanted to be there and was a class above. Showed no signs of injury.

Chris Johnson: Got a few touches. Goes missing for large chunks of the game. Played in defense most of the game but he will never be a defender as he is far to unaccountable.

Paul Wheatley: Ditto Bruce. Got heaps of the footy. Only criticism was disposal at times.

Trent Zomer: Very tall and very raw. Didn't do much at FF.

Lynden Dunn: Looks fearsome with a shaved head. Is acclimatising to a midfield role and honestly if he works really hard could be anything. Bulked out and reminded me a bit of Chad Cornes.

James Frawley: Did a few nice things but doesn't seem to get in there enough.

Clint Bartram: Ready to go. Played on the ball for the bulk of the game and found lots of it. Showed no signs of injury. Will play round 1.

Jared Rivers: Should be fine to play round 1 or 2. Played more as a sweeper and didn't over exhurt himself. Conserving energy and going with the motions. Played in bursts.

Matthew Whelan: Somethings not right. He could hardly run and was not going in hard at all. Looked really tentative. Might be conserving energy but why do it 7 days before round 1? looked almost uninterested at times.