Sbagman

• Thread starter Thread starter Asgardian

Thanks Chris,

As I said in the orinial thread, I've been a bit preoccupied with other stuff. Discussing with other students the problems here and what we could do to try and fix them. Haven't done much today, I need to get started on some new compounds... hopefully I'll do that this afternoon. Been a struggle lately.

Cheers,
Rob.

I always felt it was worthwhile to have a goal-setting session.

Have long term goals, ie. pass the Phd, get into appropriate employment, career path goals, through to retirement targets.

Medium term goals, ie. what stage will I be upto by xmas, plan a holiday, and actually take it

Short term goals, ie. work on "xyz" compound for 2 hours, work on "abc" compound for 3 hours, where I will be upto by the end of the week

etc.

You probably do all of this, and I'm only telling you how to suck eggs, but refocussing on target-setting is a worthwhile exercise every so often.

Hope this is of assistance

G'day Rob,

Well mate, it's the end of the week, do you reckon you could sit back, reflect, and say that you have made measurable progress on the PhD over the past couple of weeks?

Hope so Rob:)

Gidday Chris,

Sorry I didn't see this until today.

Progress in the last week... well yeah, did a couple of little things which have pushed things along. Not as much as I would have liked, but still better than nothing.

Found an NMR structure of our compound, did a pretty encouraging looking alignment of the homology model, but on the down side the synthesis of a couple of compounds stalled thanks to what I suspect is a dodgy reagent, and the NMR side of things, which I don't really understand, doesn't seem to be leading anywhere.

The pressure is starting to build... I'm supposed to have all the figures and diagrams ready for a publication we're writing by Friday, and on Friday week I have to make a 30 minute presentation on what I've done for my thesis in front of a committee. I get the impression I just need a giant kick up the bum, and maybe the next couple of weeks will provide that.

Progress yes, but still not progressing as quickly as I would like.

Thanks Chris,
Sbagman.

Cheers mate. Sorry about Port losing Saturday night. I had a good night... watched the Lions win, sang some songs, and told some guy who threatened to "knock my block off" if I stood up again to fukk off home and watch the game on TV if he wanted to sit... :)

Hope everything's good with you.

Sbaggers.

G'day Rob,

It's okay about Saturday night, the result is just an aberration:D

anyway, hope you can make some quality progress this week