News "Scott's Bold Flag Call"

• Thread starter Thread starter James1970

''Our preference is to finish top four, but if we finish outside the top four and we make the finals, we'd be pretty confident we could win it,'' Scott said yesterday.
Geez, how great is our coach? Days out from a crucial game, with everyone ready to dig kitty graves, and he's on the front foot telling it like it is with quiet condfidence, subtle mind-games, while also giving a sly, rev-up to his team in the process. Me thinks we may well see something special this week.

....:o our supporters who have predicted the end of an era are going to quickly disapprove of this thread James :rolleyes:

Bring it on!
Cats back to back and cemented greatness starts this week against the Pies.
From there we will show the competition just how great this club is!
ALL THE WAY!

.....God I hope so....

i know i sound like a scratched record, but this is pretty much what i have been saying. No clear favourite and avoiding a trip interstate, means that finishing 5 - 8 isnt the death sentence you might think.

By round 15, we'll have Wojo, Scarlett (back consistently) Varcoe, Menzel. Dawson Simpson and Stokes back in the side.

Will win the flag. Get all your spare cash on it. If you dont, more fool you. If you dont think for one minute the likes of Scarlo, SJ etc are driven by wanting to go back to back, well more fool you. Thats the last thing to stand between them and "all time great" status. Its one of the reasons I laugh at the media frothing over our "not being hungry". Sometimes there is more to a situation than the Monday morning byline.

....:o our supporters who have predicted the end of an era are going to quickly disapprove of this thread James :rolleyes:

Yep,James should be banned for being positive.Only doom and gloom drama queens are allowed here :p

I wonder if Lifeline get a lot more calls after a Geelong loss.You'd think they would reading some of the posts in the last few days.

"Scott said the competition was so even this year that you could no longer look at the fixture and ''pencil in'' wins, which meant outright top-four contenders might not emerge until later in the season."

Bloody oath, I had a crack at the ladder predictor earlier and damn its hard to pencil in a favorite!!

The top 4 theory I dont think applies this year as it has in recent times either - there isnt a clear 4 teams that are that far above the rest of the comp as there has been in recent times!!

''Our preference is to finish top four, but if we finish outside the top four and we make the finals, we'd be pretty confident we could win it,'' Scott said yesterday.
Geez, how great is our coach? Days out from a crucial game, with everyone ready to dig kitty graves, and he's on the front foot telling it like it is with quiet condfidence, subtle mind-games, while also giving a sly, rev-up to his team in the process. Me thinks we may well see something special this week.

Not to sound overly pessimistic as I still believe we're a chance to make top four, but history would suggest that winning the premiership from outside the top four is a very difficult and unlikely thing to happen.

I don't understand why he felt the need to say anything.I haven't written u lot off but him saying this reminds me of bomber Thompson the week leading up to the 2010 prelim when we beat u.don't tell anyone words just show it with actions.and I like him

get a space bar.

I dont think his comments are directly in relation to friday nights game and the Pies mate, moreso in relation to the belting we copped from the crows and the resulting media articles & experts writing us off at this early stage.

Bomber was making direct remarks about collingwood before that game, Scotty has been making comments about the remainder of our season.

Cant wait till the game friday night, may the best team win :thumbsu::D

By round 15, we'll have Wojo, Scarlett (back consistently) Varcoe, Menzel. Dawson Simpson and Stokes back in the side.

That's the key right there. Win enough games to contend for top 6 before those players are up and running and anything is possible, in fact the rest of the 8 will be.........S****** bricks.

The players seem bored. Scott needs to make it fun for them again. Scarlo in the middle, chappy forward for a start :cool:

Go Scotty-he's a tiger-no backward steps from him. Regardless of the outcomes this year- If we do okay-good on him for backing us and if we go down he is going down swinging. All power to him. Love it.

The players seem bored. Scott needs to make it fun for them again. Scarlo in the middle, chappy forward for a start :cool:

In the middle of the backline, marshaling the troops.

We definitely loose a lot of backline clout without scarlo at the helm.
Hopefully he can keep going in for a few seasons yet!! :)

Haha-had to laugh reading comments today on Carlton eg 'loss they needed, and wake up call' etc. What, they have been up for all of 3 weeks or something? I think -wow-how long has our team maintained it's intensity-so many years of fronting up with that resolve. Incredible era from an amazing team. How lucky are we.

We need to improve dramatically to make the 8.

Scott has coached very poorly this year, he is a promising coach who did a fantastic job last year, but he has some big challenges ahead.

First thing he needs to get right this week is starting Selwood, Kelly and Bartel in the centre square and put it on them to turn around our contested ball.

Scotts obviously a big footy fan and read my post from yesteday, below.

"Just on finishing top 4 or 6/7th this year,if the choices are flog the team/play injured players just to make top 4 I'd say no, they then only become cannon fodder in the finals.

If there is a realistic chance of managing the list and being in the position to have a near full list to pick from come finals then I'm for a bit of rope a dope and have a crack from 6/7th.
You may get lucky and get a very easy first final then cop a couple that have had tough encounters and have players out,from there it a two horse race and our boys know how to win the big ones these days.There may be just one more card up this teams sleeve,wouldn't that be something back to back from out side the top 4."

Any time Scotty.

I liked this part of his response in the HS article on the contested possession issue:

"We know why (it is happening) but I'm not going to talk about it publicly," he said. "We are on the record saying it is an issue, we don't shy away from it and we're confident we can fix it and we know we need to."

He responds to questions in such a calm, sensible manner, it really does fill a supporter with confidence.

I liked this part of his response in the HS article on the contested possession issue:

He responds to questions in such a calm, sensible manner, it really does fill a supporter with confidence.

It would fill a supporter with more confidence if they rectified the situation IMMEDIATELY and won the next 4 games.