News "Scott's Bold Flag Call"

• Thread starter Thread starter James1970

I can't see the link in the Hun but this is from the Advertiser:

GEELONG star James Kelly, who plays his 200th game against Collingwood Cats on Friday night, has today staunchly defended coach Chris Scott.

Kelly today said anyone suggesting there was a rift between senior players and coach Chris Scott is arrogant in a staunch defence of the Cats coach.

Kelly said those suggestions were clearly from people not at the club and labelled them “ridiculous”, a report on heraldsun.com.au says.

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2012/05/16/326561_local_sports.html

Where did these rumours come from?

Allowing Harvey to run riot and letting Reilly sit across half back and amass 25 mainly uncontested possessions were the two most obvious examples.

As I said, not calling for his head, not even saying he's a bad coach, but this is a thread about Scott so if "fair"criticism is warrented this is the place for it surely.

Can't help it if some people see this as being akin to Brutus turning on Caesar.

Yep agree with that-why do you think we let Reilly go-is it we focussed on playing our game and the rest can please themselves? There must be a reason for that being allowed. What is it? There always seems to be method in his madness, so what is he up to?

This is what we've been doing the last 5 and a bit years.

I'm happy to take this philosophy too, because to start shuffling deck chairs on the Titanic, which is what we would have been doing had we sent someone to shut down Reilly, is an open admission of weakness as far as i'm concerned.

I'd rather the players are taught to get better at executing what we want to do, than wasting time locking that kind of player down in a game that was already long gone.

David King

I was wondering where that rumor came from myself - not surprised in the slightest to find out it was from the mouth of this flog!!

And the way HS came out and wrote a whole article about Kellys response to it when it was just a quick comeback to a question asked in a much larger interview is pretty tabloid-esque too.

Let them go their hardest anyway I say.
We have endured years - since our loss in 08 - of constant talk of the fall of a dynasty and some such bs and have managed then to put on another 2 flags in those 3 seasons since.

I have faith the internal playing department dont buy in to this crap, they never have and never will!!

Typical media strategy - ask a leading question, get desired answer, frame answer as sensational headline that makes interviewee look bad, feed to punters.

I mean, Scott has been asked if he thinks GEE can win from outside the four. His only response can be in the affirmative. What else can he say - 'nah, we would be ****ed because we would be bucking a historical trend'? I don't think so....

This article and the question it asks was no doubt concieved and framed in a way to try and make Scott look arrogant and out of touch with where GEE currently stand in the 2012 peking order.

I was wondering where that rumor came from myself - not surprised in the slightest to find out it was from the mouth of this flog!!

And the way HS came out and wrote a whole article about Kellys response to it when it was just a quick comeback to a question asked in a much larger interview is pretty tabloid-esque too.

Let them go their hardest anyway I say.
We have endured years - since our loss in 08 - of constant talk of the fall of a dynasty and some such bs and have managed then to put on another 2 flags in those 3 seasons since.

I have faith the internal playing department dont buy in to this crap, they never have and never will!!
I'm sure they won't.

However, according to Billy B on TripleM tonight, the admin is less than pleased with this entirely unfounded story and is likely to speak in the strongest terms to the person they believe instigated it. One Tim Watson.

Tim Watson.

god I dislike this flog! :mad::mad::mad:

2010 preliminary final.
"CLEARLY ITS THE END OF AN ERA"

This is the same prick that went about his business in unsettling the club in order to get Bomber Thompson back to the Essendon football club.

He's definitely of those media personalities I always turn the channel on whenever he open's his pathetic mouth.

Hope the club make sure he eats his words because we don't need ex-players like him doing their best to unsettle this great club especially after all their achievements in stabilizing on and off field success.

Watson-what its not enough that he took our coach, assistant coach, fitness guy-were there others? Maybe it is a good sign-he must still think we can be a force. And after all we are better off. Perhaps the players could fight back and have a question ready for him to deny if he wants to be a muckraker 'oh Tim, there is a rumour going around that .....' it could be quite fun.

god I dislike this flog! :mad::mad::mad:

2010 preliminary final.
"CLEARLY ITS THE END OF AN ERA"

This is the same prick that went about his business in unsettling the club in order to get Bomber Thompson back to the Essendon football club.

He's definitely of those media personalities I always turn the channel on whenever he open's his pathetic mouth.

Hope the club make sure he eats his words because we don't need ex-players like him doing their best to unsettle this great club especially after all their achievements in stabilizing on and off field success.

I thought the end of the era comment was Tim Lane when the Dogs kicked the 1st few goals in a 2010 game... and then we won by 100 points :D

Did Watson declare our era over as well in 2010? I hadn't heard that comment before...

Bobby you may have your wires crossed

you guys know how bitter I get at certain losses the club has had over the years but yes it was the end of the preliminary final 2010 and the aftermath as Watson finished the player interviews in the magpie rooms and then he began speaking about Geelong and where to from here...he definitely said "clearly, it's the end of an era".
I distinctly remember those words and the smugness manor in which he said it.

For what it's worth, I never listened to or heard that Tim Lane quote, obviously know about it as I've read about him in here but definitely was Watson who said it as well.

Mate if I knew the answer to that I'd put my hand up for a senior coaching gig. :)

Seriously though, just appears one of those inexplicable things that happen on occasion, where it seems apparent to everyone watching yet the coach for whatever reason won't rectify it [ think 08 GF and Stokes on Hodge ]

Just touching on the "rift" at catland, thought Robinsons comments on AFL 360 tonight were scathing, virtually said that Watson was making the whole thing up.

Allowing Harvey to run riot and letting Reilly sit across half back and amass 25 mainly uncontested possessions were the two most obvious examples.

As I said, not calling for his head, not even saying he's a bad coach, but this is a thread about Scott so if "fair"criticism is warrented this is the place for it surely.

Can't help it if some people see this as being akin to Brutus turning on Caesar.

Yet he was a genius for Lonners to Cloke in the GF last year....

I agree with both the calls on Harvey and Rielly I might add - pissed me off too - but perhaps it was about challenging the player / players to see how they respond. CS can not be accused of not thinking long term and im quite sure he is testing to see how players / strategies etc play out while trying to deal with the transition of era's and be competitive at the same time. Getting games into our new guys is critical and having guys at 100, 50 and 5 game levels developing at the same time is critical. You want to see the down side of not doing this - head over to Punt rd or Arden street for a few years and ask how well their policies have gone.

We all want the instant gratification of success or continued success but there is a cost and we are seeing it....

We as a supporting fraternity of Geelong Football Club have been blessed and perhaps even spoilt with the amazing last 5 years. Relish the memory and keep the desire to see success ever present but allow CS to get his vision and plan in place. It is happening before our eyes and will be to our benefit as a supporting group for years to come. And I for one am happy to allow the time and bumps to pass by as we turn into the club with the greatest 15 year football history of all time.

Go Catters..

( but we really need a win against the Pies.. and a top 6 finish would be fine for me)...

Just touching on the "rift" at catland, thought Robinsons comments on AFL 360 tonight were scathing, virtually said that Watson was making the whole thing up.

Agreed, what could he possibly get from starting such a stupid rumor? It seems to me that there are some in the media who are praying for the Cats to be the new Melbourne, so they can all say "I told you so, first!"

Even those that are saying I want to write them off, but I can't because I have too much respect for them as really just hedging their bets as they don't want to be the next David King.

Have to say I love 360 and think the Monday night show with Bomber and Rocket are insightful as is fight night on a Thursday with Moondog and Barry Hall. Less David King would be great though....he really is a total tool with nothing useful to comment at all.....

Is it jealousy? Tall Poppy Syndrome? I have no idea, but just leave us alone and keep pumping up Hawthorn!

I'm sure they won't.

However, according to Billy B on TripleM tonight, the admin is less than pleased with this entirely unfounded story and is likely to speak in the strongest terms to the person they believe instigated it. One Tim Watson.

Ahh it was from Tim Watson..... ookay.....

Doesnt he just read out the sports reports for 7...... :D

Nuff said

I think there is a real lack of understanding about how modern football operates

Adelaide played defensive forwards on both Enright and Mackie. They deliberately engineered a system where Guthrie was our loose back, and theirs was Reilly. Milburn and Sando knew that Guthrie wouldn't be up to it

You can rest assured that the Cats would have been trying to get Enright or Mackie free but it just didn't work.

Before we start criticising Chris Scott, we need to see if this is a ploy that is repeated with success.

And also be aware that this probably could not work with Bartel and Scarlett in the side, because we could have stacked the backline with enough quality players so that the Crows couldn't have targeted Guthrie

Yep, thats the big thing if any teams tried this tactic again - Bartel would have just been rotated back and Scarlo is more than capable of stepping up to a running HB role.

They could try negate 3 but then more emphasis is placed on forwards defending instead of being forwards and that puts the favor back in our camp with Taylor, Lonergan and Scarlett taking out the remaining attacking key position forwards.

More power to them taking advantage of us when we were down, but I cant see it happening again when we are at full strength.

Mark Robinson on AFL 360 said last night that Geelong was furious with the so-called story of a rift in the club. Apparently a "high profile official" spent yesterday calling major media outlets to try to find the source of the rumour. Robinson also called out Tim Watson, saying it's very poor to basically invent a story and pass it off as "journalistic circles are saying that..."

Robbo called out Watson? Awesome

I reckon that's a totally engineered story from Essendon and this indicates they must rate their chances this season. They see Cats as a threat so they want to destabilize the camp to the extent that we lose enough games early in the piece to put us out of serious contention

I reckon this is a real hit for Watson. Anything this guy says now could be a lie or some kind of misinformation designed to aid the Bombers

I have been searching for the video but cant find it :(
Robbo can be a dick sometimes, but generally he isnt too far from the truth. At least he is prepared to come out and have a crack at other journos, unlike Sheehan.