Seeking new 'whipping boy'!

WilPhil in the mix for sure
Why would WilPhil be in the mix? Unlike Powell he competes and is better defensively and unlike Daniel he can kick further and doesnt panic and unlike Logue he is definately more of a team player. If it wasn't for players like LDU, Wardlaw, Parker, who are currently better in the postion he is best suited to he would most likely be playing in more games..

I love WilPhil, but he is in the whipping boy category around here, just have a read of his thread if you're not sure

l do read his thread but there should be alot more before him...he give 100% of his best every time where as others dont. Whipping boys should be on what they bring to the table and effort and he brings the best he can every game he plays..

Classic whipping boy, high pick, in and out of team, seen strutting in a shopping centre. One of the biggest shit fight threads in here…

I find the whole concept of 'Whipping Boys' offensive! North boys are our boys! In the 70s I well remember Gary Cowton copping heaps. Obviously not online in those days but in general conversation at matches and elsewhere. Probably also in media. Barassi used to single him out. I wonder if Hojuman or others from that era recall or can offer up others? My point is that Gary Cowton is a two time premiership player for us. Ungainly, yes. Erratic at times, yes. But he played his role in 75 off the bench and in 77 off the half bank flank. In the latter case, he was a kick in option for Dench or Sutton using the other side of the ground, away from the competing ruckmen. As I recall, he was quite reliable in that role. Tough as nails too. In my feeble mind, if you pull on the jumper you deserve respect. Not everyone can be a star, some struggle at times, but we need everyone to play their part in the squad. It was good to see Gary do a jumper presentation towards the end of the season. It was worth listening to him!

Can't remember too many if ANY whipping boys from those days Bertie. Maybe only the blokes who got a few games via injury to the stars and then got dropped on the stars return. Thinking M.Dawson would be one of those.

On Gary Cowton l had a mate very involved in politics and indigenous affairs who said Gary was one of the most intelligent and articulate people he had ever had the privilege to meet and work with. Believe he actually ran for parliament round Canberra way a few years ago.

Was so glad to see him at that jumper presentation, he spoke beautifully.

would be the pinnacle of luxury to have a 2 time premiership player as a whipping boy, mine cant even string out a few games a year in a bottom 3 team !

Can't remember too many if ANY whipping boys from those days Bertie. Maybe only the blokes who got a few games via injury to the stars and then got dropped on the stars return. Thinking M.Dawson would be one of those.

On Gary Cowton l had a mate very involved in politics and indigenous affairs who said Gary was one of the most intelligent and articulate people he had ever had the privilege to meet and work with. Believe he actually ran for parliament round Canberra way a few years ago.

Was so glad to see him at that jumper presentation, he spoke beautifully.
Totally agree. I had heard the same things about Gary C. I reckon you are right about M Dawson. Another who was often a 19th/20th in the early 70s. In 76 he had a great year in the role Barry Davis had played prior. Must have gone close to the Syd that year. Unfortunately did his knee early in 77 so might have been a Premiership player had all gone to plan. However Johnny Byrne took over and was a great player in the 77 Finals.

Seeking new 'whipping boy'!