GoldenboyHird_5

Apr 9, 2007
Man United, Bushies
Hungry for Sport, KB interviewed Gary about all his new coaching commitments and also his stuff with Gary Ablett...

Then he asked Gary about Essendon's future.

Ayres said that we had a very strong leadership group that had Matty Lloyd, Dustin Fletcher, Scott Lucas, Mal Michael and Mark McVeigh.

He also said that next year depended on how much more our kids would improve.

After that, he then singled out four kids as potential stars of Essendon.

Paddy Ryder: Athleticism will probably not be matched and his footy skills and intelligence is first class.

Leroy Jetta: Potential gamebreaker and really dynamic but depends on how his pre-season shapes up.

Jay Neagle: Big, bustling foward who has been extremely unlucky with injury. Ayres said that if he gets fit then he will be a one to watch.

and finally...

Courtenay Dempsey: Gary seemed at his most excited when talking about Dempsey. Mentioned that, along with Paddy, they both have great skills and intelligence but like Jay has been unlucky with injury. Ayres said that if Courtenay is right then he will probably be the best of the bunch.

Interesting stuff...;)

Jump aboard mate, always room for more...

I jumped on when i saw him play in a pre season game this year against the Hawks at Casey fields......

I was tipping the 07 season to be a big breakthrough season for him but it was ruined by injury.

Hopefully he can stay fit for 08'

I reckon Jetta is one to watch also and i almost cream myself when i think about Davey, Jetta and Dempsey running amok in our forward line in 2008. :D

My 5 year old son saw the goal that Dempsey kicked against Richmond
last year and said now that Hirdys gone can I put his number on my jumper. I think he has a good eye for talent.

Hungry for Sport, KB interviewed Gary about all his new coaching commitments and also his stuff with Gary Ablett...

Then he asked Gary about Essendon's future.

Ayres said that we had a very strong leadership group that had Matty Lloyd, Dustin Fletcher, Scott Lucas, Mal Michael and Mark McVeigh.

He also said that next year depended on how much more our kids would improve.

After that, he then singled out four kids as potential stars of Essendon.

Paddy Ryder: Athleticism will probably not be matched and his footy skills and intelligence is first class.

Leroy Jetta: Potential gamebreaker and really dynamic but depends on how his pre-season shapes up.

Jay Neagle: Big, bustling foward who has been extremely unlucky with injury. Ayres said that if he gets fit then he will be a one to watch.

and finally...

Courtenay Dempsey: Gary seemed at his most excited when talking about Dempsey. Mentioned that, along with Paddy, they both have great skills and intelligence but like Jay has been unlucky with injury. Ayres said that if Courtenay is right then he will probably be the best of the bunch.

Interesting stuff...;)

Sounds bullish to me. :p

Interesting to read this thread as I watched the Bombers train after Carlton yesterday and I watched 1 drill very closely.

That drill had 4 pairs of players
Jetta v Rheimers
Lloyd v Hille
Fletcher v Dempsey
Michael v Houli.

Each team had 4 players and the drill was about running to space and maintaining possesion by short foot passes.

Jetta is a jet, had great footy smarts and Rheimers couldnt stay close to him. Reminds me very much of Lovet
Houli looks like has bulked and was way too slick for Michael. I think Michael looked really slow and immobile. I think he might get horribly exposed if he gets isolated. IMO he might really struggle next year.
Dempsey had pace but just didnt have the footy smarts of Jetta or Houli, didnt time his leads or run to the right places.
Lloyd looked in great nick as did Hille.

Had a good look at Frog who is fully recovered. Hid groundwork is great and weights his passes really well

Interesting to read this thread as I watched the Bombers train after Carlton yesterday and I watched 1 drill very closely.

Jetta v Rheimers
Lloyd v Hille
Fletcher v Dempsey
Michael v Houli.

Each team had 4 players and the drill was about running to space and maintaining possesion by short foot passes.

Jetta is a jet, had great footy smarts and Rheimers couldnt stay close to him. Reminds me very much of Lovet
Houli looks like has bulked and was way too slick for Michael. I think Michael looked really slow and immobile. I think he might get horribly exposed if he gets isolated. IMO he might really struggle next year.
Dempsey had pace but just didnt have the footy smarts of Jetta or Houli, didnt time his leads or run to the right places.

Had a good look at Frog who is fully recovered. Hid groundwork is great and weights his passes really well

Thanks Champ, that makes for a good read.:thumbsu:

Jetta v Rheimers
Lloyd v Hille
Fletcher v Dempsey
Michael v Houli.

You have made that judgment by watching Mal play on one of our fittest midfielders. Seriously Mal would not have kept up with Houli when he was 22 let alone now. He has never been hugly mobile or had any sort of outstanding endurance.
Here's a little tip for you from someone who has seen most of our training over the last 4 years .Mal is easily 50% fitter at this stage compared to what he was at last pre season ;)

You have made that judgment by watching Mal play on one of our fittest midfielders. Seriously Mal would not have kept up with Houli when he was 22 let alone now. He has never been hugly mobile or had any sort of outstanding endurance.
Here's a little tip for you from someone who has seen most of our training over the last 4 years .Mal is easily 50% fitter at this stage compared to what he was at last pre season ;)

I am well aware that Houli is fit and in a different leaugue to Michael with his mobility.

I dont doubt that he is fitter than last year, but boy did he look slow and lacking agililty. Even Hille was moving considerabely better than Mal.

If I was an opposition Key forward I would be licking lips at having Michael alone with plenty of space.
I hope the 50% fitter Michael still gets to play on Fev again this year, it was so good to watch their duel last year ;).....I hope this extra fitness makes a difference

I am well aware that Houli is fit and in a different leaugue to Michael with his mobility.

I dont doubt that he is fitter than last year, but boy did he look slow and lacking agililty. Even Hille was moving considerabely better than Mal.

If I was an opposition Key forward I would be licking lips at having Michael alone with plenty of space.
I hope the 50% fitter Michael still gets to play on Fev again this year, it was so good to watch their duel last year ;).....I hope this extra fitness makes a difference

Yet in the contested defensive drill that they did later on when Andrew Lee was against Laycock and Mal was against Hille , Mal looked very good doing a role that he is best at.
My point is if you think Mal looks slow and lacking agility (which he never really had a lot of anyway) now then you should have seen him last pre season. Last pre season he looked less mobile than Lance on his worst day.
Just on Fev didnt he spit the dummy the last time Mal played on him ? Arguing with the umpire while the footy was being run out of defence and ending up on the bench ;)

SEN, Gary Ayres on Essendon's future